Follow Us:
Saturday, July 21, 2018

Meghalaya Guv inaugurates ICS golden jubilee celebrations

Dr K K Paul,inaugurated the four-day Golden Jubilee Annual Convention of Chemists being organised by the Indian Chemical Society (ICS) at Panjab University.

Written by Express News Service | Chandigarh | Published: December 5, 2013 1:55:48 am

Former PU student and Governor of Meghalaya,Dr K K Paul,inaugurated the four-day Golden Jubilee Annual Convention of Chemists being organised by the Indian Chemical Society (ICS) at Panjab University on Wednesday.

Congratulating vice-chancellor Professor Arun Kumar Grover and his predecessor Professor R C Sobti for PU emerging as the top university in the country according to the recent Times Higher Education rankings,Dr Paul reminisced about his days in the varsity.

“I not only studied in the varsity,but I also grew up here. I am very attached to this place,” said Dr Kaul,who did his post graduation and PhD from Department of Chemistry. Kaul,who is also a former Commissioner of Delhi Police,was among the first police personnel with a PhD.

Speaking on the occasion,he encouraged young scientists to develop innovative ideas for the overall growth of the country and highlighted the need for a research atmosphere in universities.

“Institutions should generate more innovative ideas and convert them into patents,which is the trend in other countries. This will also generate funds for research,” he said.

The convention,being co-sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology,Council of Scientific and Industrial Research,University Grants Commission and Institution of Chemists (India),Kolkata,is being held in PU for the first time.

Among the 500 delegates expected to participate in the convention are prominent scientists including former chairman of Atomic Energy Commission,Government of India,Professor S Banerjee. Speaking on the occasion,Professor Banerjee highlighted the contribution of Professor Ruchi Ram Sahni.

The talk was followed by award lectures by eminent chemists like Professor A K Mishra from IIT-Chennai,Professor Sabyasachi Sarkar from IIT-Kanpur,Professor Tapas Chakraborty from IACS,Kolkata,and Professor M K Mohanty from NISER,Bhubaneshwar.

Also,a special session was dedicated to Alfred Werner commemorating the 100th year of the Nobel Prize being awarded for Co-ordination Chemistry.

Two get Lifetime Achievement Award

chandigarh: Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to two prominent scientists,Professor Kabir-ud-Din and Professor S P Moulik for their contribution to research areas dealing with different aspects of Chemistry. The awards were presented by President of the Indian Chemical Society Professor M C Chattopadhyaya. ENS

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App