Jyoti,Baljeet star in Punjab’s rout of Goa

Punjab were right on top from the beginning.

Written by Express News Service | Chandigarh | Published: April 23, 2013 12:30:48 am

Jyoti Tarlok Chand and Baljeet Kaur slammed three goals each as Punjab hammered Goa,9-0,in a lop-sided encounter and open their account on a winning note in a Pool F match in the third Hockey India junior women national championship being held at the Astroturf Hockey Stadium in Ranchi on Monday. Such were their onslaught that the Punjab team could easily scored half a dozen goals more but Goa were lucky to escape with defeat with a less margin of goals.

Punjab were right on top from the beginning. And they took the lead in as early as the fourth minute of the game though Jyoti. Two minutes later,Ruchi Batta sounded the board to make it 2-0. In the 14th minute,Jyoti scored her second goal to give the team a comfortable 3-0 lead. The Goa defenders,who were already under pressure due to constant threats from the opposition forwards,made errors and conceded goals. Baljeet scored her first goal when she scored in the 27th minute.

It rained goal after that as Punjab scored five goals between the 30th and 45th minutes. Kuljeet Kaur scored her first goal of the match and the team’s fourth in the 32nd minute. Baljeet added another goal to her name by scoring in the 34th minute. Three minutes later,Jyoti hammered her third goal to increase the lead to 7-0. Baljeet also completed her third goal in the 40th minute. Ruchi slammed her second goal of the match to make it 9-0.

The hapless Goa players tried hard to salvage some pride but the Punjab players were ruthless and completely bamboozled their defenders.

Meanwhile,hosts Jharkhand defeated Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd 5-0 to register their second consecutive win. Punam Madhuri Tete scored two goals,while Birsi Mundu,Anima Minz and Rajni Soreng struck once for Jharkhand in the pool C match.

In pool E,Chhattisgarh thrashed Jammu and Kashmir 7-0. It was Chhattisgarh’s first win in three matches as Tejeshwan Temarkar,Jaya Dhruw,Kanchan Mandvi,Ruchi Bundel and Lalita Jandgde contributed in their success,while Jammu and Kashmir suffered its third straight defeat in the league stages.

In pool G,Karnataka humiliated Tripura 24-0. PP Rashmi scored maximum seven goals for Karnataka.


Pool C: Jharkhand 5 (Punam Madhuri Tete 2,26,Birsi Mundu 4,Anima Minz 8,Rajni Soreng 69) beat Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd 0.

Pool E: Chhattisgarh 7 (Tejeshwan Temarkar 2,Jaya Dhruw 27,56,Kanchan Mandvi 41,66,Ruchi Bundel 49,Lalita Jandgde 65) beat Jammu and Kashmir 0.

Pool F: Punjab 9 (Jyoti Tarlok Chand 4,14,37,Ruchi Batta 6,42,Baljeet Kaur 27,34,40,Kuljeet Kaur 32) beat Goa 0.

Pool G: Karnataka 24 (PP Rashmi 2,14,18,22,26,67,69,N Ranjitha 3,35,55,AK Ranjitha 4,10,S Huddar Suman 9,50,HP Sandhya 19,24,40,47,48,53,CG Sushma 39,42,45,KJ Chaithra 41 ) beat Tripura 0.

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App