Gurinder helps pcc open their account

Left-arm spinner Gurinder Singh bowled impressively to scalp four wickets to enable Punjab Cricket Club (PCC) to record their first win (by 52 runs) against Maruti Suzuki XI in the on going 19th All India JP Atray cricket tournament being played for Pearls Trophy in a match at the PCA Stadium in Mohali on Wednesday.

Written by Express News Service | Mohali | Published: September 20, 2012 1:55:24 am

Left-arm spinner Gurinder Singh bowled impressively to scalp four wickets to enable Punjab Cricket Club (PCC) to record their first win (by 52 runs) against Maruti Suzuki XI in the on going 19th All India JP Atray cricket tournament being played for Pearls Trophy in a match at the PCA Stadium in Mohali on Wednesday. The match got off to a bright start for PCC as Maruti Suzuki XI captain opted to field first. For PCC,Manish Bhatia and Karan Goel opened the innings and added 50 runs for the opening-wicket stand before Karan was sent packing for 16 runs. Then,Tarawar Kohli and Manish Bhatia combined well to put on 81 runs for the second wicket partnership. Just when Bhatia was looking dangerous,left-arm spinner Abhishek Sukuja bowled a beautiful delivery to get him out. Bhatia made 78 runs off 66 balls and his knock included eight boundaries and four big sixes. Kohli’s neat innings ended on 48 runs as he was removed by off-spinner Digvijay Singh.

In reply,Maruti Suzuki team could not stand up to PCC bowling and were bowled out for 190 runs in 38.2 overs. Although Mukul Dagar played a stunning knock of 80 runs off 73 balls and captain Yashpal Singh contributed 59 runs,the Maruti team still fell short off the target. Dagar and Yashpal put on 77 runs for the fourth-wicket stand.

At one stage,Maruti team was firmly placed at 145 for 4 in 25 overs. But PCC then staged a comeback into the match through Gurinder Singh who bowled intelligently. He struck in succession and put Maruti team on the backfoot.

The visitors lost four wickets in the space of nine runs. Gurinder bagged four wickets for 17 runs. Taruwar Kohli,Sandeep Sharma and Barinder Singh also bowled well and grabbed two wickets each. PCC collected five points with this win.

Brief Scores:

PCC: 242 all out in 43.3 overs (Munish Bhatia 78,Taruwar Kohli 48,Ishan Malhotra 29,Abhishek Sukuja 4 for 38 and Dhruv Singh 2 for 38) beat Maruti Suzuki:190 all out in 38.2 overs (Mukul Dagar 80,Yashpal Singh 59 no,Gurinder Singh 4 for 17,Taruwar Kohli 2 for 20,Sandeep Sharma 2 for 23,Barinder Singh 2 for 38)

Air India triumphs

Maintaining their good form,Air India registered a three-wicket win over State Bank of Patiala in a match played at the GMSSS,Sector 26 ground,in Chandigarh on Wednesday. Air India rode on skipper Deepak Joon’s unbeaten gritty knock of 85 runs that helped his team chased down the target of 185 runs. Batting first,SBOP batsmen failed to get going and were all out for 185 runs in 45.1 overs.

Opener Ravi Inder Singh top scored with 53 runs for SBOP. For Air India,Hiten Dalal (3 for 21) and Shakti Sherawat (2 for 33) were the main wicket takers. In reply,Air India achieved the target in 44.3 overs for the loss of seven wickets. Deepak Joon anchored Air India’s run chase with a superb unbeaten innings of 85 runs. Apart from him,Nakul Sharma (29),Hiten Dalal (24) and Reetinder Sodhi (22) were the other useful contributors with the bat. For SBOP,Siddharth Kaul (2 for 31) and Sarabjit Ladda (2 for 39) were the principal wicket-takers. For his scintillating knock,Deepak Joon was named man of the match.

Brief Scores:

SBOP: 185 all out in 45.1 overs (Ravi Inder Singh 53,Siddharth Kaul 33,Hiten Dalal 3 for 21,Shakti Sherawat 2 for 33) lost to Air India:188 for 7 in 44.3 overs (Deepak Joon 85 no,Nakul Sharma 29,Hiten Dalal 24,Reetinder Sodhi 22,Siddharth Kaul 2 for 31,Sarabjit Ladda 2 for 39)

Reliance-I saunters to win

The third match played at DAV School,Sector 8,was reduced to 20 overs each side,due to wet conditions. State Bank of Hyderabad won the toss and elected to bat,as they scored 92 runs for the loss of six wickets in 20 overs. SBOH’s innings revolved around Jilla (21) and Ahmed Kadri (12),who were the highest scorers for their team. Pawan Negi (2 for 13) was the main wicket taker for Reliance-I. Batting second,Reliance-I scored 95 for 4 in 17.1 overs to record a six-wicket win. Yogesh Nagar ( 41) was the highest scorer for the winning team. Former Indian stalwart Parthiv Patel made 10 runs,while Rakesh Solanki scored 12 runs. Yogesh Nagar was named man of the match. Reliance-I logged four points.

Brief Scores :

State Bank of Hyderabad: 92 for 6 in 20 overs (Jilla 21,Ahmed Kadri 12,Pawan Negi 2 for 13) lost to Reliance-I: 95 for 4 in 17.1 overs (Yogesh Nagar 41,Parthiv Patel 10,Rakesh Solanki 12,Alfred Ablom 1 for 17,Inder Reddy 1 for 13)

PCA Colts victorious

In the fourth match played at Dhruv Pandove Stadium Patiala,PCA Colts registered a seven-wicket win over Indian Oil Corporation to garner four points. After winning the toss,PCA Colts opted to field and restricted Indian Oil to 163 for 7 in 31 overs. The match was reduced to 31 overs a side due to rains. The in-from batsman Ravi Kant Shukla scored 28 runs for Indian Oil while Abbas Ali made 24 runs. Wasim Jaffer sat out as he was unfit. Kamal Passi (2 for 31) and Yogesh Kumar (2 for 31) were the main wicket takers for PCA Colts. PCA Colts made a successful chase by scoring 174 runs after losing three wickets in 29.4 overs. Sunny Sohal and Jeevanjot put on 87 runs for the first wicket in 15.4 overs to set up the chase. Jeewanjot perished after scoring 45 runs. Thereafter Sunny Sohal,in company of Gurkirat Walia,added 49 runs for the third-wicket. Sunny Sohal made 62 runs off 78 balls and he was adjudged man of the match .

Brief Scores:

Indian Oil: 163 for 7 in 31 overs (Kant Shukla 28,Abbas Ali 24,Kamal Passi 2 for 31,Yogesh Kumar 2 for 31) lost to PCA Colts: 174 for 3 in 29.4 overs (Sunny Sohal 62,Jiwanjot 45,Gurkirat Walia 36 no,Gitansh Khera 11 no,Paresh Patel 2 for 31,Anand Singh1 for 30

Today’s fixtures:

BPCL Vs State Bank of Hyderabad at Sector 16 Stadium in Chandigarh

CAG vs SBOP at St. John’s School,Sector- 26 in Chandigarh

PCC Vs DDCA President-XI at PCA Stadium in Mohali

ONGC Vs PCA Colts at D.P Stadium in Patiala.

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App