Digvijay lords over top seed Raghavhttps://indianexpress.com/article/cities/chandigarh/digvijay-lords-over-top-seed-raghav/

Digvijay lords over top seed Raghav

Digvijay overpowered Raghav Jaisinghania in straight sets 6-2,6-3

Taking on top seed Raghav Jaisinghania in the boys under-16 singles’ pre-quarter-final round match would have not been an easy task for CLTA trainee Digvijay Pratap Singh. Being the top seed,Raghav Jaisinghania had a psychological edge over the local player Digvijay. But then,on Tuesday morning,Digvijay was charged up for the contest with full force. Digvijay came up with a sparkling performance to overpower Raghav Jaisinghania in straight sets 6-2,6-3 during the AITA Super Series tennis tournament at the CLTA courts in Chandigarh,in front of the sparse audience who cheered him from the stands. Digvijay dominated throughout the contest by using his ground strokes to keep his opposite at defense. In the second set, Digvijay showed off his mettle when he raced to a 5-0 lead when Raghav regrouped and managed to take three games after saving three match points in seventh game. Digvijay kept his cool to finish off the match when serving at ninth game of the second set.

Another CLTA trainee Eklavya Singh also came up with a stellar performance to beat Sumit Pal Singh. Sumit took the first set with full domination at 6-1. In the second set he pulled his thigh muscle. Eklavya kept his cool and managed to win next two sets without taking chances 6-1,6-2 to win the match and surge ahead.

In the girls section,both the CLTA trainees Prinkle Singh and Sarah Dev won their respective matches in U-12 and U-16 with straight set wins. A. Dharna Mudaliar won a marathon three-setter against Neelanchal Gupta of Delhi. Dharna was down 1-5 in the final set. She leveled the set 5-5 and then won the final set in a tie breaker.

In U-12 boys section,top seed Mahesh Mohapatra was fully extended by CHART trainee Shashikant Rajput before he managed to beat the local lad. Mahesh won in three sets. That match lasted three hours 10 minutes. In another match,Asav Kumar of CLTA made it to quarter-finals with a straight set win over another CLTA trainee Chiraz Dandona.



Boys U-12 singles (Pre-quarter-finals): Mahesh Mohapatra bt. Shashikant Rajput 6-3,3-6,6-3, S. Bhupati bt. Vansh Kapoor Aakash Anne 6-1,6-2, S. Saran bt. Naresh Badgujar 6-4,6-2, Naman Sharma bt. K.S. Vishist Raam 6-1,4-6,6-1, Ishan Sethi bt. Akshit Chhabra 6-1,6-1, Gaurav Kurva bt. Dhruv Tangri 6-1,6-2, Nishant Dabas bt. Divesh Gahlot 1-6,6-4,6-2, Asav Kumar bt. Chiraz Dandona 6-1,6-0.

Girls U-12 Singles (PQFs): Prinkle Singh bt. Dhriti Kapoor 6-2,6-3, Muskan bt. Priyanka Jakhar 6-0,6-2, Harleen Kaur bt. Satakshi Singh 7-6 (3),6-3, Sanya Singh bt. Gauri Snahay Bhagia 6-3,6-4, Shreya Gulia bt. Smriti Singh 6-0,6-1, A. Dharna Mudaliar bt. Maansi Singh 6-0,6-1, Kiran Kalkal bt. Mubashira Shaik Anjum 6-3,6-2, Sarah Dev bt. Ishita 6-0,6-1.

Boys U-16 Singles (PQFs): Digvijay Pratap Singh bt. Raghav Jaisinghania 6-2,6-3, Aditya Vashist bt Talom Mingki 6-3,6-4, Shrey Gupta bt. Ankit Rao 6-1,6-2, Vikrant Dahiya bt. Param Pun 4-6,3-1,40-0,Concd., Avilash Mishra bt. Amarnath Arora 6-3,7-5, Eklavya Singh bt. Sumit Pal Singh 1-6,6-1,6-2, Yugal Bansal bt. Dhruv Sunsish 6-0,6-3, Dhruv Pal bt. Rohit Kumar 6-0,6-2

Girls U-16 Singles (PQFs): Aarushi Kakkar bt. Tanya Batra 6-2,6-4, Shreya Gulia bt. Shivangi Sharma 6-1,6-0, S. Soha bt. Pooja Mourya 6-2,6-2, Rubani Ahluwali bt. Harleen Kaur 6-1,6-1, Baani Singh bt. Harsimran Kaur 6-2,6-2,Sarah Dev bt. Seerat Sidhu 6-0,6-3, Prinkle Singh bt. Pious Mudgil 6-2,6-1,A. Dharna Mudaliar bt. Neelanchal Gupta 6-3,6-7(4),7-6 (2).

Boys U-12 Doubles: Mahesh Mohapatra/Gaurav Kurva bt. Bhupender Dahiya/Naresh Badgujjar 7-5,6-2,Pranav Chopra/Udayvir Singh bt. Chaitanya Choudhary/Kanishk Pal 6-0,6-0, Ritvik Rana/Divesh Gehlot bt. K.S. Vashist Raam/Nishant Dabas 6-3,7-5, Vaibhav Bisht/Vansh Kapoor bt. Pritam Vallabhneni/ Varun Mudipalli 6-4,6-2, Naman Sharma/Ishan Sethi bt. Vansh Bhagtani/ Anish Lal 6-1,6-0, Sidharth Goel/Dhruv Tangri bt. Mahismat Kumar/Sarabjot Singh 6-0,6-4.