Follow Us:
Saturday, July 21, 2018

Court rejects petition seeking stay on mayoral elections

A local court today refused to grant stay on holding of Mayoral elections slated to take place on January 1.

Written by Express News Service | Chandigarh | Published: January 1, 2012 12:41:44 am

A local court today refused to grant stay on holding of Mayoral elections slated to take place on January 1.

The rejected petition demanded a stay on voting rights of the nine councillors nominated by Chandigarh Administration.

While the administration had filed its reply on Friday,terming it a “politically motivated” and “non-maintainable” petition challenging rights of nominated councillors in the mayoral elections,the Municipal Corporation (MC) filed its reply in the court today.

Senior standing counsel for UT Administration,Sanjay Kaushal contended for over an hour.

He went on to argue that the petition is not maintainable.

“Although the Public Interest Litigation (PIL) would not be maintainable in this petition,if at all Public Interest Litigation has been filed,the same does not fall in the jurisdiction of this court,” stated the Municipal Corporation.

However,the nine councillors,who were also to submit their replies in the court,sought some more time to file their reply.

The court has set the next date for hearing on January 3.

In their petition filed three days ago,Janta Dal United (JDU) president Surinder Bhardwaj and Sector 17 Traders Association president Subhash Kataria had demanded that the Chandigarh Administration and civic body restrain nine nominated councillors from working as councillors and exercising rights.

The petition had levelled a strong allegation that “the nominations have been made due to political reasons and under the pressure of the ruling party (Congress)”.

Citing a Supreme Court judgement,the reply filed by UT Joint Secretary Abhishek Dev,on behalf of Chandigarh Administrator and Union of India,states,“The court cannot take upon itself a theoretical exercise merely for the purpose of deciding academic issues,howsoever important they may be.”

Aruna Goel,Dr Amrit Tiwari,retd IAS officer Babu Lal,Maj (retd) D S Sandhu,MP Kohli ,Sat Paul Bansal,Shagufta Parveen,Surinder Bahga and Anoop Sunny Gill were nominated as councillors by the administration recently.

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App