Civic elections in 26 wards, as per 2011 Census: UT state poll panel

Civic elections in 26 wards, as per 2011 Census: UT state poll panel

State Election Commissioner says impossible to increase number of wards now; Cong & BJP trade barbs.

PUTTING AN end to all speculation, the UT State Election Commissioner has written to the UT Administration that forthcoming Municipal corporation elections would be held on 26 wards only but on the basis of 2011 Census. The elections are scheduled to be held in December.

There was speculation that the number of wards would be increased to 31. With the decision of the state election commission to hold elections on the basis of 2011 Census, the BJP can heave a sigh of relief as it will impact the Congress. Out of five wards that will be reserved, three belong to Congress councillors — Subhash Chawla from ward number 5, Poonam Sharma from ward number 7, Darshan Garg of ward number 11 likely to be reserved for scheduled caste. The remaining two wards that are going to be reserved are ward 23 of BSP councillor Jannat Jahan and ward 6 of BJP councillor Sat Prakash Aggarwal.

“We have begun with the election process. I had written to the UT Administration that let the elections be contested on 26 wards only but as per the 2011 Census. They may start working on it. At this point of time, it was impossible to increase the wards,” said State Election Commissioner Rakesh Mehta.

The Congress alleged that BJP acted tactfully.

“They played tactfully. The word of election commissioner was also kept that the wards did not increase but changed the criteria in which our wards may become reserved. The BJP is insecure, that is why they are trying these ploys.”


BJP city chief Sanjay Tandon said, “The Congress has been getting into the habit of making such statements. They speak such kinds of things which are not even in known in the public domain. The Congress is aware that they are on a weak footing. Last time the delimitation of wards took place in 2006 on the basis of 2001 Census.