Chandigarh Municipal Corporation polls to be held in 26 wards

Chandigarh Municipal Corporation polls to be held in 26 wards

UT issues a notification; 2011 Census to be the basis; five wards will be reserved

Chandigarh Municipal Corporation (File Photo)

IT IS official now. The forthcoming Municipal Corporation elections will be held in 26 wards only on the basis of 2011 Census. A notification in this regard was issued by the UT Administration here on Monday. The elections will be held in December.

With the decision of holding elections on the basis of 2011 Census, the move will benefit the BJP and impact the Congress since the majority of Congress wards will be reserved. The State Election Commissioner will be coming on September 23 when the date of elections will be decided.

Out of the five wards that will be reserved, three belong to Congress councillors — Subhash Chawla’ ward number 5, Poonam Sharma’s ward number 7 and Darshan Garg’s ward number 11. The remaining two wards that are going to be reserved are ward 23 of BSP councillor Jannat Jahan and ward 6 of BJP councillor Sat Prakash Aggarwal. These wards were reserved during the last elections as well. A communication from State Election Commissioner Rakesh Mehta was sent to the UT Administration 10 days ago wherein he had mentioned that the wards will not be increased and elections will be held in 26 wards only. But it will be done on the basis of the 2011 Census.

After getting to know the notification, the Congress has convened an emergency meeting on Tuesday. City Congress chief Pardeep Chhabra said, “An emergency meeting will be held tomorrow on this move. These same wards were reserved in the last elections as well. BJP has got it done in its favour since they fear losing. They want to save their present candidates from defeating.”

There are a total of 4,99,948 voters. The maximum number of voters are in the wards which presently belong to BJP Mayor Arun Sood, BSP councillor Jannat Jahan, Congress councillors Darshan Garg, H C Kalyan, Sheela Phool Singh and BJP councillor Rajinder Rattu. Last time, the corporation elections were held in 2006 on the basis of the 2001 Census.