Follow Us:
Sunday, July 22, 2018

Centurion Ravi Inder stars in PCC’s march into semi-finals

A fine century by Ravi Inder Singh (113) guided PCC to an emphatic 163-run win over State Bank of Mysore.

Written by Express News Service | Mohali | Published: October 5, 2013 1:27:45 am

A fine century by Ravi Inder Singh (113) guided PCC to an emphatic 163-run win over State Bank of Mysore and into the semi-finals of the 20th All India JP Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament being played at PCA Stadium on Friday.

State bank of Mysore won the toss and elected to filed first. Playing in overcast conditions,PCC openers Jeevanjot Singh and Manan Vohra stitched together a partnership of 66 runs for the first wicket in 14.2 overs. Manan Vohra departed at an individual score of 24 runs off 45 balls when he was caught at mid-off by Arvind off the bowling of Anand Katti. Ravi Inder Singh then joined Jeewanjot and the duo added 95 runs for the second wicket and took the PCC score to 161 runs. Jeewanjot missed his century by five runs as he was stumped by Avinash off the bowling of Nurudeen. During his 90-ball stay at the crease,Jeewanjot smashed nine boundaries. Three more wickets fell before Ravi Inder Singh was joined by Gitansh Khera and the duo added 71 runs off 53 balls for the sixth wicket.

Ravi Inder Singh played a fine knock of 113 runs off 102 balls before he departed. PCC posted a total of 309 for 7 in the allotted 50 overs.

Chasing a stiff target,State Bank of Mysore openers Mayank Aggarwal and KC Avinash added 58 runs for the first wicket before Aggarwal gave a simple catch to Rahul Sharma off the bowling of Sidharth Kaul at an individual score of 31 runs. At one stage,State Bank of Mysore were 135 for 4 but lost five wickets for 11 runs.

Anand Katti could not bat due to injury and PCC won the match by 163 runs. For the winning team,Rahul Sharma claimed four wicket for 26 runs while Rajwinder Singh claimed three wickets for 20 runs.

Brief scores : PCC : 309 for 7 in 50 overs (Ravi Inder Singh 113,Jeevanjot 95,Gitansh Khera 34,S Arvind 4 for 94),State Bank of Mysore : 146 for 9 in 31 overs (K Abbas 37,Mayank Aggarwal 31,Rahul Sharma 4 for 26,Rajwinder Singh 3 for 20).

Reliance-I,CAG storm into semi-finals

In the second quarter-final curtailed to 43 overs per side played at Barwala,Reliance-I scored a narrow two-wicket win over Air India to entered the semi-finals. Batting first, Air India posted a total of 210 for 6 in 43 overs. Deepak Joon was the highest score for the team playing a knock of 58 runs. For Reliance-I,Y Chahal claimed two wickets for 35 runs while Pawan Suyal grabbed two wickets for 43 runs. In reply,Reliance-I chased the target for the loss of eight wickets in 41.1 overs. Smit Patel played a knock of 94 runs while Akashdeep Nath contributed 36 runs.. The third quarter-final match between CAG,Delhi and Canara Bank,Bengaluru could not be played due to overnight rain. CAG,Delhi advanced to the semi-finals due to better run rate.

Brief scores : Air India : 210 for 6 in 43 overs (Deepak Joon 58 no,Jagrit Anand 45, Y Chahal 2 for 35,Pawan Suyal 2 for 43),Reliance-I : 214 for 8 in 41.1 overs (Smit Patel 94 no,Akashdeep Nath 36,Sandeep Kaushik 2 for 28).

Punjab in driver’s seat

A double century by Anmolpreet Singh (216) and a century by Navneet Singh (129) guided hosts Punjab into a strong position against Kerela in the Third All India U-19 Dhruve Pandove Trophy at Dhruve Pandove Stadium,Patiala on Friday. Patiala posted a massive total of 450 for 6 in their first innings and declared their innings. Punjab lost two quick wickets in their innings but Anmolpreet Singh and Navneet Singh stitched together a 308-run partnership for the third wicket. Anmolpreet Singh played a scintillating knock of 216 runs off 249 balls. Singh smashed 29 boundaries and two towering sixes during his stay at the crease. Navneet Singh played a knock of 129 runs off 198 balls. Singh smashed 13 boundaries and two sixes during his knock. For Kerela,Nikhil Babu claimed two wickets for 107 runs. Replying,Kerela were 10 for 3 in seven overs at the end of the day’s play. Sunny claimed two wickets for seven runs while Siddharth Sharma claimed one wicket for two runs.

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App