Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Amidst nostalgia,varsity’s history department marks first alumni meet

The first ever alumni meet of the department of History,Panjab University,was held in a nostalgic homecoming event on Thursday.

Written by Express News Service | Chandigarh | Published: February 3, 2012 2:03:01 am

The first ever alumni meet of the department of History,Panjab University,was held in a nostalgic homecoming event on Thursday. Several old students of the department,some of whom were seeing each other after a gap of decades,participated in the glittering ceremony.

The alumni association christened,Aitihaski,is headed by Gagandeep Singh,a 1994 batch student. Speaking on the occasion Gagandeep highlighted the contribution made by the department of History in molding the minds and intellectual characters of the students. “We realise how much we learnt,not just by attending classes,but also being around our teachers only after we left the department. Each one of those teachings is helping us in leading our lives successfully today,” he said.

The oldest student of the department who made it to the event was Captain S Chaudhry,former principal DAV College,who passed out from the department in 1964.

Hardeep Dhillon,ADGP Administration and crime Punjab,who spent a year in the department in 1978,recalled his student days fondly remembering Prof R C Paul,Prof Sikka,Prof Jauhri and Prof Malhotra. Talking about the importance of the subject,Dhillon said,“History is repeated by those who are not students of history. History gives us an opportunity to learn from the mistakes of others and be wiser.”

Shruti,who passed out in 1998 from the department,also went down memory lane and related interesting incidents of their times. Old student and a former faculty member of the department Prof J K Sharma was honoured by Aitihaski on the occasion and was chosen as the association’s patron.

As a token of thanks,Aitihaski honored the department of History,its alma mater,for its contribution in the lives of its former students. The honour was received by the department head Dr M Rajivlochan and faculty members Dr Devi Sirohi,Dr Veena Sachdeva and Dr Anju Suri.

Speaking on the occasion,Dr Rajivlochan congratulated the Aitihaski team for having taken the initiative and formed the history department’s alumni association. He hoped that the association would work in close association with the department in the future as well.

Dr Devi Sirohi related fond memories of her students many of who were present at the function. “Our students are like our children and when they o well and come back to us we feel as proud as parents,” she said.

As a humble beginning,Aitiasaki instituted four annual awards which would be given to deserving students of the department. These awards were given to Kashish,Jatinder,Satwinder and Shalini for their various achievements.

Thursday’s function was organised in collaboration with the department of history and the stage was conducted by the current students of the department. Student of the department also presented a colourful cultural progamme on the occasion.

Some of the prominent old students who attended the meet included Sukhdev Sharma (1974),Amrit Pal Kaur (1974),Radha Dewan (1975),Anita Berry (1977),GC Chauhan (1987),and Rupy (1992).

For all the latest Chandigarh News, download Indian Express App