Follow Us:
Sunday, August 07, 2022

Karnataka to unlock in phases from June 14; restrictions will remain in 11 districts

Karnataka unlock: Here is what will be allowed and not allowed from June 14.

Written by Darshan Devaiah BP | Bengaluru |
Updated: June 11, 2021 7:48:41 am
karnataka unlock, bangalore unlock June 14, bangalore news, bangalore latest news, bangalore covid news, bangalore coronavirus, bangalore covid cases news, bangalore today news, bangalore local news, new bangalore news, bangalore covid 19 cases, covid, bangalore today news, latest bangalore newsA health worker administers the Covid-19 vaccine to a sportsperson at Kanteerava Stadium in Bengaluru on Thursday. (Photo: PTI)

Karnataka will relax its Covid-19 lockdown from June 14 in all except 11 districts. Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa on Thursday night announced a phased unlocking process for the state.

The existing lockdown rules will continue for districts with high test positivity rate (TPR) — Chikkamagaluru, Davangere, Mysuru, Hassan, Chamarajanagara, Mandya, Dakshina Kannada, Bengaluru Rural, Shivamogga, Belagavi and Kodagu. The government has given powers to district commissioners to implement stringent measures in consultation with the in-charge ministers for the 11 districts.

Meanwhile, night curfew will be in effect from 7 pm to 5 am in all other districts, including Bengaluru City. The weekend curfew will also be in effect from 7 pm on Friday till 5 am Monday starting from June 14.

The curbs have been in effect since April 27. On May 10, the Chief Minister announced a shutdown till May 24 morning. This was extended till June 7, and then, as per experts’ suggestion, further till June 14.

Subscriber Only Stories
No victim-blaming, no fetishising of abuse: Darlings shows why we need mo...Premium
How the Indian action spectacular RRR became a smash in AmericaPremium
5 ways in which Samsung could improve the Galaxy Z Flip 4 and Fold 4Premium
Explained: First flight of India’s newest rocket, what it means for...Premium

Why phased unlock

The panel of experts in the state’s Covid-19 Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) had earlier recommended allowing shops, hotels, and malls to operate for a few hours daily, to begin with. The TAC had also suggested restrictions on the movement of people from districts with more caseload to low-risk areas.

“It was decided to relax restrictions as per the Technical Advisory Committee’s recommendations in the meeting held today,” Yediyurappa said.

The TAC had recommended that restrictions can be lifted only if the test positivity rate (TPR) dips below 5 per cent and new cases fall under 5,000. Accordingly, on Thursday, Yediyurappa announced the unlock in a phased manner, while the 11 districts with high TPR continue to be locked down.

Here’s what will be allowed and not allowed from June 14

Essential shops open from 6 am to 2 pm, parks open from 5 am to 10 am, street vendors can operate from 6 am to 2 pm, autos and taxis with only 2 people can travel at a time, garment industry can function with 30 per cent capacity and factories will be allowed to open with 50 per cent capacity.

All construction activities are allowed to start. All shops pertaining to construction activities, like those selling cement and steel, are allowed to open.

Meanwhile, malls, cinema halls, gyms and swimming pools will remain shut and existing restrictions on marriage, funerals and public gatherings will continue.

Metro Rail and bus services are not allowed in this unlock. Inter-state and intra-state movement of passenger vehicles has been permitted by the government.

Detailed guidelines will be published by the Karnataka chief secretary later in the day, said Yediyurappa.

TWO IS ALWAYS BETTER | Our two-year subscription package offers you more at less

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Bangalore News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 10-06-2021 at 10:31:16 pm

Featured Stories