Follow Us:
Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Karnataka government releases public holidays list for 2020

Karnataka holiday list for 2020: The list, which was released on Friday, has 18 public holidays for staff working in government offices and banks.

By: Express Web Desk | Bengaluru | Published: November 23, 2019 11:24:35 am
Karnataka government releases public holidays list for 2020 Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa.

The Karnataka government has announced a list of public holidays for the year 2020 under the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881. The list, which was released on Friday, has 18 public holidays for staff working in government offices and banks. A long weekend is expected in the year 2020 since the list has 10 holidays that fall either on a Monday or a Friday.

According to the notification by government, the list does not include holidays such as Republic Day (January 26), Basava Jayanti (April 26), Moharram (August 8), Mahanavami (October 26), Ayudha Pooja (October 26) and Kannada Rajyotsava (November 1) which falls on Sundays and Naraka Chaturdashi (November 14) which falls on second Saturday and Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vratha (August 22) which falls on the fourth Saturday.

The Karnataka government has also declared a local holiday for the Kodagu district for Kail Muhurtha (September 3), Tula Sankramana(October 17) and Huthri (December 1).

The separate list of government holidays for schools and colleges will be released by the commissioner of public instruction, the government said in the notification.

Here is the list of holidays for Karnataka:

January 15 (Wednesday) – Makara Sankranti

February 21 (Friday) – Shivaratri

March 21 (Wednesday) – Ugadi

April 6 (Monday) – Mahaveer Jayanti

April 10 (Friday) – Good Friday

April 14 (Tuesday) – Ambedkar Jayanti

May 1 (Friday) – May Day

May 25 (Monday) – Khutba-e-Ramzan

August 1 (Saturday) – Bakrid

Aug 15 (Saturday) – Independence Day

September 15 (Thursday) – Mahalaya Amavasya

October 2 (Friday) – Gandhi Jayanti

October 26 (Monday) – Vijayadashami

October 30 (Friday) – Eid Milad

October 31 (Saturday) – Valmiki Jayanti

November 16 (Monday) – Deepavali

December 3 (Thursday) – Kanakadasa Jayanti

December 25 (Friday) – Christmas

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Bangalore News, download Indian Express App.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement