Follow Us:
Monday, October 26, 2020

Election for 25 MLC seats in Karnataka on Sunday

The voting will begin at 8 am and close at 4 pm on Sunday and the result will be out by 31 December.

Written by Santosh Kumar R B | Bengaluru | Updated: December 27, 2015 1:09:25 am

Fate of 125 candidates, including eight women, who are contesting state Legislative Council elections in Karnataka will be sealed on Sunday and the result will be out by December 31.

Voting will begin at 8 am and close at 4 pm on Sunday. Members of Grama Panchayats, Taluk Panchayats, Zilla Panchayats and other local bodies will cast their vote. While the ruling Congress and opposition party BJP seem to have neck-and-neck fight, the JDS is also hoping to perform well in the polls.

The ruling Congress party is hoping to win at least 15 to 18 seats which will help it hold an upper hand in the house. Presently, Congress has only 28 seats in the 75-member council. The opposition party BJP stands at 30 seats, JDS has 12 seats.

Last time the Congress party won 13 seats in the council. If it succeeds to gain three more seats from the BJP’s hand, the Congress can hold the position of chairperson in the council.

The senior minister S R Patil, who holds many portfolios including Information and Technology, is the only minister contesting in this election. Patil is contesting from Vijayapura- Bagalakota constituency.

Meanwhile, the BJP is also hoping to win at least 15 seats. HD Devegowda led JDS looks to reach the double digit number and has fielded 18 candidates.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Bangalore News, download Indian Express App.