Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

Jayshree Mehta elected 1st woman president of MCI

Dr Mehta is the first woman president of MCI in 80 years of its existence.

Written by Express News Service | Ahmedabad | Published: December 11, 2013 2:48:40 am

Dr Jayshree Mehta,former vice-chancellor of Vadodara’s Sumandeep Vidyapeeth,was elected unopposed president of the Medical Council of India (MCI) at the general body meeting of the apex body in New Delhi on Tuesday. Dr C V Bhirmanandham was elected vice-president,according to the election result posted on the MCI’s official website on Tuesday.

Dr Mehta is the first woman president of MCI in 80 years of its existence. While in government service,she was professor and head of the department of surgery at SSG Hospital. Considered a loyal associate of former MCI president Dr Ketan Desai,Dr Mehta is known for her image as a strict disciplinarian,according to sources close to her.

The general body election of the MCI for the posts of president,vice-president,members of the executive committee and post-graduate medical education committee was conducted on Tuesday. The elected government nominees are Dr Baldev Singh Aulakh,Dt G B Gupta and Dr V N Jindal.

The members of the university constituency are Dr Anil Mahajan,Dr Venkatesh Kakollu,Dr Vijay Prakash Singh and Dr Radhamadhab Tripathy.

The Registered Medical Graduate Constituency members include Dr Ravindra H N and Dr K K Gupta. The Post-graduate Medical Education Committee has Dr Dhruba Jyoti Borah,Dr Deelip Govindrao Mhaisekar and Dr Rani Bhaskaran as its members,according to the MCI sources.

For all the latest Ahmedabad News, download Indian Express App