Friday, Dec 02, 2022

Dudhsagar Dairy: Setback for BJP as panel led by Vipul Chaudhary wins 13 out of 16 seats

Chaudhary himself won the Mansa seat uncontested, along with three of supporting members.

Vipul Chaudhary, the ousted chairman of Mehsana District Cooperative Milk Producers’ Union or Dudhsagar Dairy, got a major shot in the arm after the panel led by him won thirteen out of sixteen seats of the dairy, with four seats going to his panel uncontested. Chaudhary was first forced out of the Gujarat Cooperative Milk Marketing Federation, which markets Amul brand of milk and milk products, as its chairman after the board moved a no-confidence motion against him.

He was later also removed as the chairman of the Dudhsagar Dairy, located in Mehsana district, through a notification issued by the registrar of cooperatives, who also debarred him from contesting election for another three years – a clause that was later turned down by the Supreme Court, paving the way for his contesting the Dairy election.

Chaudhary himself won the Mansa seat uncontested, along with three of supporting members. The panel backed by the ruling BJP suffered a setback in the election with only three seats falling in its kitty. The BJP panel was headed by Ashok Chaudhary, the general secretary of Mehsana district BJP, who also held the post of the Mehsana municipality president in the past. The election was crucial for Vipul Chaudhary, who was unceremoniously ousted from two posts after it was found that he was acting against the ruling BJP which had earlier supported him for the post of chairman of the Gujarat Cooperative Milk Marketing Federation Ltd (GCMMF). Chaudhary was seen as acting against the BJP after it was revealed that he had met Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi during his visit to Ahmedabad while allegedly pitching himself for the post of the chairman of the National Dairy Development Board (NDDB). Following his ouster, the Dudhsagar Dairy was under the control of a custodian committee headed by the registrar of cooperatives.

Chaudhary could not be contacted for comment. Mehsana deputy collector and returning officer D R Jani said that nine seats went to the panel led by Vipul Chaudhary while three went to the panel led by Ashok Chaudhary. The election for 12 seats was held on Saturday and the results were announced in the evening. A total of 700 members representing as many milk societies had cast their votes. A total 1,203 milk societies are affiliated to the Dairy.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key- December 2, 2022: Why you should read ‘UN Security Council’ or ...Premium
Poet, playwright and linguist…how Savarkar impacted MarathiPremium
Wanted: New York City rat czar. Will offer salary as high as $170,000Premium
‘AAP a one-man party… cannot become BJP alternative,’ says Baijayan...Premium

“Out of 16 seats, four had gone uncontested, including that of Vipul Chaudhary and three other members affiliated to his panel. Elections were held for 12 seats out of which nine went to those contesting on election symbol ice cream that belongs to Vipul Chaudhary while three went to members contesting on telephone symbol. Around 700 members voted during the day,” Jani said. BJP-led panel won Mehsana, Kadi and Sidhpur seats.

The president of Dudh Utpadak Hit Rakshak Samiti, Baldev Chaudhary, who had challenged Vipul Chaudhary in the High Court that led to his ouster, had announced two weeks ago that his panel will contest election under the leadership of BJP heavyweight in the region, Ashok Chaudhary.

Through a notice issued to Vipul Chaudhary in January this year, the state government had alleged financial irregularities in the Dairy to the tune of Rs 1,200 crore which formed the ground of his removal. Vipul Chaudhary’s decision to supply cattle feed to Maharashtra was termed by the Gujarat government as an unfair decision that caused losses worth crores of rupees. Among other charges of corruption levied against him were making illegal recruitment and purchasing sugar at higher price.

First published on: 29-11-2015 at 02:13:10 am
Next Story

Onus of administration of dissent on govt: former RS member

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments