BJP sweeps civic bypolls

BJP sweeps civic bypolls

Of the 11 seats,the party conceded one seat to the Congress and one to an Independent candidate

The BJP swept the bypolls to 10 nagarpalikas and one municipal corporation seat by winning nine out of 11 seats.

Of these,it won two seats unopposed.

Of the 11 seats,the party conceded one to the Congress and one to an Independent candidate.

The Congress candidate lost deposit in the contest for ward number six in Junagadh municipal corporation.

BJP spokesperson I K Jadeja said that the people have once again rejected the Congress party.


Elections were held on September 22 for 10 seats across nine nagarpalikas,and one municipal corporation ward seat of Junagadh.

With the BJP winning uncontested Unjha nagarpalika seat,elections were held for nine seats across eight nagarpalikas and for one seat of Junagadh municipal corporation.

The BJP had fielded 10 candidates. The Congress fielded nine and eight candidates contested as Independent. Out of nine nagarpalika ward seats,the BJP bagged seven. Overall,there were 27 candidates in the fray.

The Congress won Kadi nagarpalika and an Independent candidate won Lathi nagarpalika. The Congress did not field candidates in Umreth while in Patdi,Siddhpur,Vadali and Kadi (ward no 5) there was straight contest between the BJP and Congress.