Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Amul Dairy to vote today for a new board

Amul Dairy is the only milk cooperative union in the state that has a Congress-affiliated chairman.

By: Express News Service | Vadodara | Published: May 12, 2015 5:06:07 am

The last bastion of Congress among Gujarat’s dairy cooperative unions — the Kaira District Cooperative Milk Producers’ Union — popularly known as Amul Dairy, will go for the election of the new board of directors on Tuesday for a tenure of five years.

The chairman of Amul Dairy, Ramsinh Parmar, who is also a Congress MLA from Thasra, is looking for another stint even as he faces contest from Vipul Patel, a BJP-affiliated chairman of a Nadiad agricultural produce market committee. While Parmar is contesting under “Amul Vikas Panel” banner, Patel is contesting under “Amul Parivartan Panel”. The results will be declared on May 13.

Share This Article
Related Article

Amul Dairy is the only milk cooperative union in the state that has a Congress-affiliated chairman. Parmar has been serving as its chairman since 2006. He was re-elected in 2009. This is the third time that he is contesting as no election was held in 2012 because of litigation in the High Court against changes in the newly-amended Gujarat Cooperative Societies Act.

As per changes in the Act, the election will be held for a tenure of five years, with one representative of each milk society voting to elect representatives from 13 blocks, each block having around a hundred milk societies. Out of a total 13 blocks, only 10 will go for polls as Parmar has already been elected uncontested from Thasra block and Patel from Matar block. One block is reserved for the promoter family of the milk union.

“A total of 964 voters are registered to vote in the election that will be held at the Amul Dairy campus in Anand. They will represent milk societies, with one person representing one milk society as per the amendments in the Act. They will elect representatives from 10 blocks, while representatives of two blocks have already been elected unanimously. Remaining one block is reserved for the promoter,” said returning officer and deputy collector, B S Patel. The blocks have been framed out of milk societies located in Kheda, Anand and two talukas — Birpur and Balasinor of Mahisagar district.

“The election will be held between 9 am and 3 pm at 11 polling booths. Special police protection has been placed, with around 100 police personnel and private security of Amul to guard the premises,” Patel said.

For all the latest Ahmedabad News, download Indian Express App