Follow Us:
Thursday, December 02, 2021

west Bengal Bypolls


After Bengal bypolls, speculation grows about 4 more BJP MLAs joining TMC

October 05, 2021 4:51 am

Sources in the BJP said these four legislators had been absent from several party programmes in the last few days. They were reportedly maintaining a distance from the party before making the switch to the ruling party in Bengal.

Ahead of deadline for Mamata election, EC says bypolls on Sept 30

September 05, 2021 1:59 am

A few days ago, the CM had urged the EC to immediately announce dates for the pending bypolls as the Covid-19 situation was under control, adding that "the democratic rights of people should not be curtailed".

TMC raps EC over "delay" in holding Bengal by-polls, delegation to meet poll panel on Thursday

July 14, 2021 5:51 pm

The by-elections are of critical importance to Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who lost the assembly poll to BJP's Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram.

West Bengal bypolls: Verdict against NRC, says Mamata, even BJP rivals agree

November 29, 2019 6:50 am

Two of the BJP candidates blamed a “scare” over NRC, and said the party had failed to explain the issue to the people.

West Bengal Assembly Bypolls: Left, Congress seal 2:1 alliance deal to take on BJP & TMC

October 31, 2019 6:32 am

At a joint press conference after attending a meeting at the RSP office in Kolkata, Left Front chairman Biman Bose and West Bengal Pradesh Congress Committee (WBPCC) president Somen Mitra said that they will “jointly fight” against the contentious “National Register of Citizens (NRC), communal polarisation and lack of jobs across the state”.

Bengal Assembly bypolls: BJP shortlists candidates for 2 seats, brainstorms for third

October 29, 2019 11:47 am

Last week, an internal meeting was held to finalise the names of its candidates for Kharagpur Sadar, Karimpur and Kaliaganj Assembly seats, which go to bypoll on November 25.

West Bengal: After bypolls, state BJP holds review meeting

February 05, 2018 8:52 am

Sources said the central leadership was satisfied with the party’s performance in the bypolls with its limited organisational strength. However, they also expressed concern over the margin of votes between the Trinamool Congress and BJP.

Congress leads in Alwar and Ajmer, moves ahead in Mandalgarh

February 01, 2018 1:17 pm

In Alwar, Congress candidate Karan Singh Yadav was leading by 39,826 votes over his nearest rival, Jaswant Yadav from the BJP, after 15 rounds of counting. Yadav had garnered 1,63,489 votes.

Bye-election results: Setback for BJP as Congress scores in Rajasthan; TMC sweeps West Bengal

February 01, 2018 8:39 pm

Rajasthan, West Bengal bye-election results LIVE UPDATES: Litmus test for the BJP and Trinamool Congress as they hope to retain seats. The Congress, meanwhile, is hoping to capitalise on the Rajput disaffection with the BJP in Rajasthan.

West Bengal bypolls: 'We were able to vote without fear'

January 30, 2018 8:10 am

In Udaynarayanur’s Saradha Charan Institution, a polling officer told The Indian Express, “The polling has been smooth since morning and polling agents of four major political parties are present here. There has been no violence here.”