Monday, Jan 30, 2023

Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2022


Meet the woman who found name missing from voter list in UP — and took the fight to court

January 27, 2023 7:03 am

She moved court last year with a complaint that she faced discrimination based on caste, and received a ruling in her favour. Following the order of the SC/ST court, Gautam Buddha Nagar police Tuesday registered an FIR against three government officials.

Still headless, UP Cong hibernates as SP, BSP, BJP rev up for coming polls

July 08, 2022 7:04 am

Recently, the Congress did not field its candidates for the Azamgarh and Rampur Lok Sabha bypolls, which may lead to, party insiders say, the shifting of its remaining loyal voters to other parties there.

Eye on local body & LS polls, BJP begins training sessions for cadre

April 24, 2022 4:42 am

In the next seven days, the party will hold training sessions across all 98 organisational districts, and a three-day training programme in 15 sessions in each district. According to sources, the party has shortlisted senior party leaders with RSS backgrounds to address the cadres on 13 topics.

Shifting of BSP votes helped, allies failed to transfer support: BJP's report to PM Modi on UP polls

April 23, 2022 8:04 am

While the BJP had re-captured the state comfortably, its tally had come down from 2017, with the Samajwadi Party-RLD alliance making gains.

The message behind BSP’s loss in UP polls

April 17, 2022 9:21 am

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BSP had tied up with the SP and RLD, and since the Dalit vote is often based on ideology, therefore in all probability, the BSP votes have shifted to the SP and RLD to defeat the BJP.

Reached out to Mayawati, offered CM post, she didn't respond: Rahul Gandhi

April 10, 2022 4:22 am

Accusing the government of not allowing “implementation of the Constitution”, he said Pegasus was used to control politicians.

Akhilesh Yadav's uncle Shivpal starts following Modi, Adityanath on Twitter

April 02, 2022 4:17 pm

Yadav had contested the recent Assembly polls on the Samajwadi Party symbol. But he skipped the Opposition alliance's meeting earlier this week and took oath on March 31.

The Newsmakers: Backwards, SCs & minorities have still not understood their rights, says Om Prakash Rajbhar

April 01, 2022 5:45 am

The SBSP fought the polls as part of an alliance led by the Akhilesh Yadav-headed Samajwadi Party (SP). The SBSP won 6 seats out of 17 that it contested. 

UP: Eight-term MLA Satish Mahana likely to be BJP’s choice for Speaker

March 28, 2022 4:16 am

Sources in the BJP said the party dropped him because it was considering Mahana's name for Speaker's election because of his long legislative experience.

Welfare-Hindutva combination won the vote in UP

March 28, 2022 9:15 am

Shifts in political choice are not the outcome of election campaigns alone, but a result of the long-term developmental strategies adopted and delivered by the BJP


Yogi Adityanath takes charge of UP again; PM Modi, Amit Shah among attendees

March 25, 2022 7:20 pm

Adityanath was unanimously elected the BJP legislature party leader in UP on Thursday, after which he staked claim to form the government.

With Assembly polls battle over, celebrations, stock-taking in political parties

March 13, 2022 9:05 pm

Punjab CM-designate Bhagwant Mann, along with AAP national convener Arvind Kejriwal, held a victory roadshow in Amritsar on Sunday to mark their spectacular win in Punjab elections.

Election results: BJP, AAP celebrate wins with sweets, slogans, colours

March 10, 2022 10:10 pm

Early trends show the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will come back to power in Uttar Pradesh with an overwhelming majority and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is set to sweep Punjab. Workers in UP and Punjab gathered to celebrate the possible wins.

In Pictures: PM Modi holds roadshow in Varanasi as UP polls enter last lap

March 04, 2022 9:13 pm

Modi arrived in his Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency after addressing a rally in Mirzapur and began the roadshow after garlanding a statue of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel at Maldahiya crossing.

Modi, Priyanka, Akhilesh rally across UP as state votes in fifth phase of polls

February 27, 2022 9:02 pm

Uttar Pradesh went for fifth phase of voting on Sunday.

Assembly polls: Voting in UP, Goa, Uttarakhand; wooing in Punjab

February 15, 2022 10:32 am

Narendra Modi and Amit Shah campaigned in Punjab, which is scheduled to vote on February 20.

Battleground UP: First phase polls see over 60% voter turnout

February 14, 2022 2:17 pm

Over 60 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the first phase of polling held on Thursday across 58 assembly constituencies in UP

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2022: I hereby declare

March 07, 2022 10:38 am

Assembly elections in five states — Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur– will be completed in seven phases with UP being the first to go to polls on February 10. Results of all the assembly polls will be declared on March 10.