Follow Us:
Friday, September 24, 2021

Tibetan Parliament


Preliminary round results of Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile elections declared, Penpa Tsering emerges clear leader, Kaydor a distant second

February 08, 2021 7:51 pm

While Penpa Tsering has got 24,488 votes, Kaydor got 14,544, Gyari Dolma got 13,363, Dongchung Ngodup got 10,200, Lobsang Nyandak got 999 and Acharya Yeshi Phuntsok got 226 votes.

Tibetans in exile vote today in first round to elect their next President

January 02, 2021 11:16 pm

The preliminary election, polling for which will be held on Sunday, is an “open election” in which there is no official list of contesting candidates, and any eligible person can contest and self-campaign his or her candidacy, election officials said.

Tibetan Parliament transfers Dalai Lama’s powers to elected members

May 30, 2011 12:17 am

With the Tibetan Parliament-in-exile completing its exercise pertaining to the finalisation of the draft charter on the last day of its term.

Tibetan parliament deliberates future role of Dalai Lama

May 27, 2011 2:21 am

The Tibetan Parliament,on Thursday,began its crucial deliberation on the draft amendments to the Charter for the devolution of the Dalai Lama's political responsibilities to the newly elected Tibetan leadership,including its newly elected Prime Minister,Lobsang Sangay,a 42-year-old Harvard Law School senior fellow.

Sangay is new PM of Tibetan govt-in-exile

April 28, 2011 12:33 am

Lobsang Sangay,a 42-year-old Harvard scholar,has been elected by Tibetans across the world as the new Prime Minister of Tibet’s government-in-exile.

Tibetan Parliament forms 3 groups to decide on future course of action

March 18, 2011 3:36 am

The Tibetan Parliament formed three groups in the House to discuss the issue of Tibetan leader Dalai Lama’s retirement from the position of political head of the state.

Time of one-person rule over: Dalai

March 15, 2011 2:14 am

The Dalai Lama’s message was read out by Speaker Penpa Tsering on the opening day of the parliament session.


Dalai Lama visits Dharmsala

March 11, 2014 3:59 pm

The Tibetan legislative body which has 44 members is democratically elected.