Follow Us:
Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Raghubar Das

Raghubar Das is the 6th and current chief minister of Jharkhand. He was sworn in to the role on December 28, 2014. Das was involved in politics since his college days and joined the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1980 as a founding member. Previously he also worked with Tata Steel for a while. During the chief ministerial tenure of Shibu Soren, he was deputy chief minister of the state.


Saryu Roy interview: ‘Will be independent... as of now govt has my moral support’

December 26, 2019 7:20 am

Saryu Roy defeated Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das in a bitterly fought contest from Jamshedpur West constituency in the Assembly elections.

Funds pooled, aides pulled in from saffron ranks, Saryu Roy downs Jharkhand CM

December 24, 2019 7:01 am

What came as a surprise for even Roy’s supporters was the margin of victory — 15,833 votes — in an election that many considered would be a neck and neck contest.

Congratulations to Soren and JMM-led alliance for victory: PM Modi after loss in Jharkhand polls

December 23, 2019 9:26 pm

Jharkhand Election Results 2019: Thanking the people of Jharkhand for having given the BJP an opportunity to serve the state for many years, Modi applauded party workers for their efforts and said they would raising people-centric issues.

It's my defeat, not of BJP: Raghubar Das on Jharkhand results

December 23, 2019 9:31 pm

Jharkhand Election Results 2019: As per the latest trends available on the Election Commission website, Das was trailing BJP rebel candidate and former minister Saryu Roy by over 10,000 votes in Jamshedpur (East) constituency.

Jharkhand results: Hemant Soren, Saryu Roy shine as BJP loses another state

December 24, 2019 3:17 am

Jharkhand Election Results 2019: For the BJP, the loss in Jharkhand joins a string of poor performances by the saffron party in state elections in the past one year. Besides being outwitted in Maharashtra, BJP has lost in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.

Hemant Soren after victory: This result will usher a new era in Jharkhand

December 23, 2019 7:02 pm

"I thank the electorate to give us a clear mandate. Definitely, this day is a day of joy for all my party members but it is also a day when we can take a vow to meet the state's expectations," he said.

'Giant killer' Saryu Roy set to send Raghubar Das packing from Jamshedpur East

December 23, 2019 9:09 pm

Being hailed as a 'giant killer', Saryu Roy, who was the MLA from Jamshedpur West, decided to contest against Raghubar Das as an Independent candidate after BJP did not give him a ticket in the elections.

Jharkhand election results: Pathalgadi movement fails to dent BJP's fortunes

December 23, 2019 10:38 pm

Jharkhand election results 2019: The Pathalgadi movement has its roots in 2017-18 and began as a people’s reaction to lack of development. Giant stone plaques had come up outside villages in districts around Khunti, declaring the gram sabha as the only sovereign authority.

JMM set to retain its bastion Santhal Pargana region from BJP

December 23, 2019 10:38 pm

Jharkhand election results 2019: During the election campaign, the grouse of the tribal community had been that “BJP wants to grab our land”. Moreover, the Opposition's call for the protection of “jal, jungle, zameen” seems to have resonated more with the indigenous population.

Jharkhand Assembly election results 2019 in 10 points

December 24, 2019 1:06 am

Jharkhand polls results: At present, the BJP has won 22 seats and was leading on three while the JMM-Congress-RJD combine has won 45 seats, comfortably above the majority mark of 41 in the 81 member House.