Municipal polls

Municipal polls News

Jammu & Kashmir municipal polls: State government declares holiday on voting days

The polls are scheduled to begin on October 8, followed by the second phase on October 10, third phase on October 13 and last phase on October 16. The counting of votes will be done on October 20.

J-K local body poll dates announced, to be held in four phases from October 8

Municipal polls in Jammu and Kashmir will be held in four phases from October 8, the state Chief Election Officer (CEO) Shaleen Kabra announced on Saturday. 


West Bengal: Trinamool Congress leading in municipal polls

In 18-member strong Panskura municipality, the Trinamool Congress was leading in 7 wards, BJP leading in 1 ward and Left Front in two wards. The TMC was also leading in 10 wards of the Durgapur Municipal Corporation, which has 43 wards under it.

BMC, PMC elections 2017: Congress decimated in Maharashtra civic polls

The Shiv Sena are runaway leaders in Bombay and Thane while the BJP is leading comfortably in Pune, Nagpur and Nashik while giving a tough fight to the NCP in Pimpri Chinchwad.

Ahead of municipal polls, Sena accuses BJP of ‘stealing’ poll ad

The Sena took exception to what it described as “plagiarism” and Sena MP from Kalyan Shrikant Shinde threatened to approach the Election Commission.

Supreme Court stays municipal polls in seven Bengal towns

A bench of Justices A K Sikri and Uday U Lalit issued a notice to the state election commission on an appeal by the state government against a Calcutta High Court order.


West Bengal municipal polls disrupted after earthquake hit the state

Polls for 90 municipalities were disrupted after panic broke because of the massive earthquake.

April polls: Didi claims TMC-led KMC improved amenities for Kolkatans

She said that places like had developed in unplanned manner, there are number of deterrents to rescue operations.

Congress suffers another blow after debacle in municipal polls

Jodhpur that has traditionally been a Congress stronghold too was invaded by the BJP while in Udaipur the party swept 49 out of the total 55 seats.

TDP leads in Seemandhra, Cong-TRS tie in Telangana

Polls were held on April 6.