Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018

Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018 News

ZPM's Lalduhoma vacates Aizawl West-I seat in Mizoram

The bypoll to the seat is likely to be held with the parliamentary election next year, official sources said.

Zoramthanga takes oath as Chief Minister of Mizoram, PM Modi congratulates him

"Congratulations to Mr. Zoramthanga on taking oath as Mizoram's Chief Minister. Wishing him the very best for his tenure. May the Government fulfil people's aspirations and work towards the state's growth," PM Modi tweeted.


Mizoram Polls: Lowest winning margin three votes, highest 2,720

Elections to the 40-member Mizoram Assembly was held on November 28 and counting of votes took place on December 11.

Mizoram MLAs: All men, 90 per cent crorepatis, three graduates in every four

The only 4 MLAs who are not crorepatis, too, all belong to the MNF.

Explained: How a new Opposition emerged in Mizoram

The Zoram People’s Movement is a new alliance of seven regional parties that has emerged as the principal opposition with eight of 40 seats, pushing the Congress to third with only five.

Assembly Elections 2018 Results highlights: Rahul Gandhi to decide on CM name in Rajasthan, MP and Chhattisgarh

Assembly Elections 2018 Results highlights: The reverses for the BJP in the Hindi heartland threw wide open the 2019 Lok Sabha elections which until a few months ago appeared to be in its grip.


Congress loses its last North-East outpost, trounced by MNF in Mizoram

MNF chief Zoramthanga, the 74-year-old former insurgent who was Chief Minister from 1998 to 2008, is set to form the government. He has met the Governor and staked claim.

Mizoram Assembly Elections: Will try to push policies to benefit common people, says ZPM president Lalduhoma

Lalduhoma defeated seven-time MLA and five-time Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla in Serchhip constituency of central Mizoram by 410 votes.

Mizoram Assembly Elections Results: MNF banked on development promise

The Congress won only five seats. The outgoing CM told reporters in Aizawl on Tuesday that he did not know “what exactly went wrong”.

How Congress lost Mizoram

Its neglect of infrastructure, cronyism cost the party dear.

Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018 Photos

Celebrations, disappointments at party offices as results pour in

Bringing an end to its prolonged electoral losses since 2014, the Congress ousted the BJP to capture Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh.

Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018 Videos

Congress' Lal Thanhawla loses both his seats in Mizoram, MNF wins the state | DECISION 2018

Congress lost its only northeast bastion as the MNF regain the power after 10 years. Congress' Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla lost both the seats he contested in.