Monday, Dec 05, 2022

Karnataka politics


Karnataka bypolls: BJP sweeps Bengaluru, Shivajinagar lone bright spot for Congress

December 09, 2019 10:03 pm

Congress lost two of their seats — Yeshwantpur and KR Puram — and JD(S) one — Mahalakshmi Layout — to the saffron party.

Karnataka bypolls: 66.25% polling, poor show in Bengaluru city constituencies

December 06, 2019 2:24 am

Karnataka bypolls: While the highest turnout was recorded in Hoskote (86.77 per cent), situated 30 kilometres off Bengaluru city, all four constituencies in the capital city witnessed poor turnout.

Kumaraswamy, Siddaramaiah booked for sedition, defamation over protest against I-T raids

November 29, 2019 2:00 pm

Speaking to, a police officer said, "The complainant has accused the leaders of violating the model code of conduct during the 2019 Lok Sabha elections by holding protests outside the I-T office in Queen's Road, Bengaluru, on March 27."

Bengaluru police arrest criminal gang for honey trapping Karnataka politicians

November 28, 2019 7:48 pm

The gang was arrested by the police after a video of a North Karnataka politician began doing the rounds.

Karnataka bypolls: EC 'mute spectator' to BJP's poll code violation, says Congress

November 28, 2019 4:26 pm

"Administration has come to a complete standstill. This is causing great inconvenience to the public at large," the letter written by the Congress to Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala reads

Bengaluru to go dry on account of bypolls

November 28, 2019 3:55 pm

According to the orders of the Bengaluru city police commissioner, Bhaskar Rao, the liquor shops will be closed on account of counting of votes on December 8 at midnight to December 9 at midnight.

Karnataka bypolls: Campaigning begins, highlights of Nov 22

November 22, 2019 8:32 pm

From Independent candidate Sharath Bache Gowda making the most of his election symbol 'cooker' to the war of words between two former Karnataka Chief Ministers D V Sadananda Gowda and Siddaramaiah, here are the highlights of Day-1 of full-fledge campaigning in Karnataka ahead of bypolls to 15 constituencies

Karnataka, Bengaluru news highlights: 16 disqualified MLAs join BJP, 13 get BJP tickets for Dec 5 bypolls

November 16, 2019 12:23 am

Karnataka, Bengaluru news LIVE updates: 16 rebel Cong, JD(S) MLAs who were disqualified from the Karnataka legislative Assembly joined BJP on Thursday.

Karnataka BJP welcomes 17 disqualified MLAs, says they are 'joining in good faith'

November 13, 2019 7:18 pm

Few disqualified MLAs along with Ashwath Narayan met B L Santosh, BJP National General Secretary (Organisation), in New Delhi after the verdict.

Karnataka MLAs' disqualification case: Yediyurappa welcomes SC verdict, says BJP to decide poll nominees

November 13, 2019 2:17 pm

"We will begin campaigning for all 15 constituencies from tomorrow. 101 per cent, we are going to win all seats," Karnataka CM B S Yediyurappa said in Bengaluru.