Follow Us:
Tuesday, January 25, 2022

Karnataka Assembly


Amid protests by Congress, Karnataka Assembly passes anti-conversion Bill

December 24, 2021 8:35 am

🔴 The debate saw several twists and turns after BJP claimed that a draft of the current Bill was actually framed by Congress when it was in power between 2013 and 2018 – a charge denied by the opposition party.

Media barred from entering Karnataka Assembly ahead of debate on anti-conversion Bill

December 22, 2021 4:55 pm

Later the Speaker met the protesting media personnel and told them he was not aware of the restriction and allowed the media persons to enter. However, the debate on the Bill was postponed to Thursday.

Will not allow BJP govt to pass anti-conversion bill in Karnataka Assembly: Cong leader Siddaramaiah

December 17, 2021 7:19 pm

Siddaramaiah alleged that the government was making attempts such as bringing in anti-conversion law to divert the attention of the people from real issues.

Karnataka Congress MLA K R Ramesh Kumar apologises after furore over 'rape' comment

December 18, 2021 1:20 am

🔴 On Thursday, MLA K R Ramesh Kumar had reportedly said, "When rape is inevitable, lie down and enjoy it" to describe a situation that had arisen in the state assembly, leading to severe criticism all around.

Law to protect religious structures comes into effect in Karnataka

October 25, 2021 11:04 am

The bill was passed in September with no opposition from Congress or Janata Dal (S) but was criticised by their leaders as a hasty attempt by the BJP government to make up for the demolition of a Mysuru temple.

Bengaluru civic body briefly shuts mall over property tax dues of Rs 39 crore

October 01, 2021 7:16 pm

The mall was sealed for a few hours on Thursday and was allowed to open after its administration handed over demand drafts of Rs 5 crore and a requisition letter

Govt likely to hold winter session in Belagavi: Karnataka CM

September 27, 2021 9:40 am

Leader of Opposition Siddaramaiah and Legislative Council Chairman Basavaraj Horatti had urged the government to hold the monsoon session of the legislature in Belagavi, but it was held in state capital Bengaluru from September 13 to 24.

Congress to boycott Om Birla's address to joint sitting of Karnataka Legislature

September 25, 2021 8:48 am

Congress leader D K Shivakumar said that his party will not attend the address as there is no provision for anyone other than the President or the Governor to address the state’s legislators.

Karnataka passes bill to ban online gambling

September 23, 2021 6:44 am

The amended law prescribes a three-year jail term for gambling instead of one year and a fine of up to Rs one lakh. The law exempts only bets on horse races from the purview of gambling.

Bill against unauthorised religious structures in public places tabled in Karnataka Assembly

September 21, 2021 10:17 am

The government made it clear that no suit, prosecution or other legal proceedings will lie against it or any of its officer or employee for anything, "which is in good faith done or intended to be done under this Act or rules made there under."