Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018

The Karnataka Assembly Elections will be held on May 12, beginning the countdown to the crucial battle that will decide whether BJP's juggernaut will breach one of the last major Congress fortresses. While the Congress has nominated incumbent CM Siddaramaiah as its CM candidate, the BJP has picked former CM B S Yeddyurappa. Counting of votes will be held on May 15.
Result: 1- 8 out of 410 Article found
Congress' Sowmya Reddy wrests Jayanagar Assembly seat from BJP; takes party tally in Bengaluru to 15

Congress’ Sowmya Reddy wrests Jayanagar seat from BJP, takes tally in Assembly to 79

Jayanagar Assembly election results: Congress candidate Sowmya Reddy defeated BJP’s B N Prahlad.

Karnataka Cabinet expands, 10 Vokkaligas among 27 ministers

The Congress, which has got 22 of the 34 cabinet berths, has attempted to balance caste equations keeping in mind its support base in the backward castes, Dalits and minorities.

Karnataka leftovers

The political drama has stoked important questions about parties, alliances, and the role of governor

Siddarmaiah clears air, says JD(S)-Congress govt in Karnataka will last full term

Karnataka Cabinet expansion: Congress, JD(S) and lone BSP minister take oath

Karnataka Cabinet formation: The Congress has picked ministers keeping in mind caste equations and regional considerations. The JDS, meanwhile, has chosen ministers on the basis of seniority.

Citing 'unsatisfactory performance' in Karnataka elections, S R Patil resigns as KPCC working president

Citing ‘unsatisfactory performance’ in Karnataka elections, S R Patil resigns as KPCC working president

Karnataka North Congress Working President S R Patil has tendered his resignation over the party’s “unsatisfactory performance” in the recent assembly elections in North Karnataka.

Karnataka portfolio distribution: Congress and JDS to fight 2019 Lok Sabha elections together

Karnataka govt formation: JDS, Congress share portfolios; to contest 2019 polls together

The alliance partners also announced a plan to contest the 2019 Lok Sabha elections as a Congress-JDS coalition, with decisions on seat-sharing and other issues to be taken at poll time.

H D Kumaraswamy, karnataka government, karnataka congress, karnataka congress dissent, indian express

Details on cabinet expansion, portfolios likely to be made public tomorrow: H D Kumaraswamy

Kumaraswamy said a decision has been arrived at with the consensus of everyone after several rounds of deliberations.

Karnataka Congress MLA Siddu Bhimappa Nyamgouda passes away

The 69-year-old Congress MLA Siddu Bhimappa Nyamgouda had won the Jamkhandi seat in the recently concluded Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018.

Karnataka verdict: JD(S) — Back with a Bangalore

A hung House and a series of dramatic events have seen the JD(S) take over the reins of the government in Karnataka in alliance with the Congress. JOHNSON T A looks at how the Gowdas, till recently on the precipice of irrelevance, now see a chance to resurrect the party

Decoding the political arithmetic of Opposition unity in run-up to 2019 general elections

In Karnataka swearing-in, Dalits read Maya message for polls

In Gorakhpur and Phulpur, BSP had openly announced support to SP candidates and BSP leaders had appealed for votes. But in the Kairana bypoll, BSP has not issued any appeal yet.

jayanagar assembly election results

Lingayat community minority tag: Centre says need a fresh request from new govt in Karnataka

Karnataka: The proposals for a separate flag and minority tag for Lingayats were made by the Congress government under Siddaramaiah just weeks before the Karnataka assembly election was announced.

Delhi’s residents have been remarkably stoic, even when they have disapproved of the way the city’s authorities manage the environment.

After the vote

New government in Karnataka must address skewed development while ensuring social faultlines are not stoked.

Decoding the political arithmetic of Opposition unity in run-up to 2019 general elections

Perhaps the Twain Shall Meet

Opposition alliance, or the lack of it, is potent fuel for television, and why attempts to end the Cold War have gone cold

Karnataka floor test LIVE UPDATES: CM Kumaraswamy faces trust vote, BJP fields nominee for Speaker's post

Karnataka floor test Highlights: CM H D Kumaraswamy wins floor test, BJP stages walk out over farm loan waiver

Karnataka CM Kumaraswamy Floor Test LIVE UPDATES: The JDS-Congress combine has 118 MLAs (JDS 37, Congress 78 and three others) in the 222-member House, while the BJP has 104 seats following the Karnataka assembly elections.

Karnataka Elections 2018: From hotel to pool to police, how Congress toiled

Karnataka trust vote tomorrow, Congress-JD(S) MLAs yet to checkout from hotel rooms

The two parties exercised great caution during Wednesday’s swearing-in ceremony. All the MLAs were brought to Vidhana Soudha in busses and taken back to the hotel and resort after the event despite the BJP having boycotted the event.