JD(S) News

Karnataka political crisis: One missing Congress MLA returns, 2 ‘on their way’

Mallikarjun Kharge accused the BJP of “trying to create fear among MLAs." The BJP said the crisis was a creation of the Congress itself.

Shadow games

The bickering in Karnataka is poor advertisement for coalition governments ahead of the general election


Caught ordering shootout, Karnataka CM rushes to rewrite

Told officials to ‘smoke out’ killers of JD(S) worker, says Kumaraswamy

Lessons from Karnataka

Local factors, including leadership, help the Congress-JDS combine to dominate bypolls.

BJP bastion Ballari falls, as Congress-JD(S) takes Karnataka 4-1

With Tuesday's victory, the Congress-JD(S) alliance's tally will go up to 120 seats in the 224 member assembly where the BJP has 104 MLAs. An estimated 67 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls.

Swallowing pain like Lord Shiva who drank poison, says Kumaraswamy; BJP calls him 'best actor'

The Indian Express had reported strains between the coalition partners which were trying to govern while establishing distinct identities in the state.


Karnataka budget: Kumaraswamy keeps promise of Brahmin development board

“A total grant of Rs 25 crore will be earmarked to religious mutts and institutions dedicated to provide dasoha, education, social services and development on secular basis,’’ Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy said.

Karnataka budget: CM announces Rs 34,000-crore farm loan waiver, tax hike on fuel and liquor

Karnataka budget: A slew of programmes is proposed for southern Karnataka districts, like Hassan, Ramanagara and Mandya, the strongholds of the JD(S).

H D Kumaraswamy to present Karnataka Budget today: Here is what to expect

Congress president Rahul Gandhi said, "On the eve of the Karnataka Budget, I'm confident our Congress-JDS coalition Government will act on our commitment to waive farmer loans and to make farming more profitable."

Governor addresses first joint session of new Karnataka legislature

In his address to the joint legislature on Monday Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala said that the new government will implement new programs and continue with effective programs of the previous Congress government.

JD(S) Photos

Karnataka Election Results 2018: Congress offers support to JD(S) to form government

Even though most exit polls predicted a hung assembly, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to form the government in Karnataka with a simple majority, handing out a severe drubbing to the ruling Congress and relegating the Janata Dal (Secular) to the third spot.