Follow Us:
Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Dronacharya award


Behind Drona award, unwanted piece of land that became hockey hotspot

November 16, 2021 8:03 am

On Saturday, 17 years later, Siwach, who had earlier won an Arjuna Award, received the prestigious Dronacharya Award, making her one of the few recipients of the National Sports Award as both a player and now a coach.

Coach Nambiar brought home the difference a coach could make to an athlete's career

August 21, 2021 10:54 am

To P T Usha, Nambiar was a father figure. In several interviews, she reflected that she wouldn’t have become half the athlete she was if not for Nambiar’s guidance and perseverance.

One year of lockdown: Missing the good-old habit

March 25, 2021 7:48 am

Coaching didn’t just fill up a few hours of their days, teaching sport filled up a lifetime. So when the pandemic hemmed these super seniors inside their homes for the first time in their lives, these outdoor doyens of maidaan coaching were left rudderless. One used a heart ailment prescription to dodge past cops for his daily walks, another dug out five-year-old newspapers to make sense of the passage of time.

Shiv Singh, former Indian women’s boxing chief coach, wins Dronacharya award, recounts his journey spanning 25 years

August 30, 2020 2:34 pm

Decades ago, Singh had started boxing seeing one of the students from Fiji studying in the college and the three-star AIBA coach remembered his early days as he bowed to the building gate.

President Kovind honours record 74 Indians with National Sports Awards

August 29, 2020 3:45 pm

The Khel Ratna and Arjuna awardees, with the exception of a few, logged in from multiple cities to be honoured by President Ram Nath Kovind.

National Sports Awards: Deepa Malik conferred Khel Ratna award

August 29, 2019 5:56 pm

Deepa Malik became the first Indian woman para-athlete and the oldest to be conferred the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Dronacharya Award has come earlier than expected, says hockey coach Merzban Patel

August 22, 2019 7:10 pm

Patel has, in his three-decade career as a coach, mentored Olympians Adrian D'souza, halfback Viren Rasquinha and other internationals like the Walmiki brothers, Devendra and Yuvraj.

Jaspal Rana was ignored for Dronacharya after none of his proteges declared him as coach

August 18, 2019 10:32 pm

While Saurabh Chaudhary has mentioned Amit Sheroen as his coach in the official records, Manu Bhaker and Anish Bhanwala have named Suresh Kumar and Harpreet Singh respectively as their mentors.

Dronacharya CA Kuttappa: An eye for talent, an ear for doubts

September 26, 2018 10:29 am

Dronacharya winner CA Kuttappa has been an agony aunt and father figure for Vijender Singh & other top boxers

List of Khel Ratna, Arjuna Awards, Dronacharya Awards recommendations by national sports federations

May 03, 2018 7:10 pm

A number of athletes have been recommended for Khel Ratna, Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awards after India's successful stint at Commonwealth Games 2018.


National Sports Day: Big smiles as athletes get rewarded with Khel Ratna, Arjuna

August 30, 2020 9:28 am

In what was the first virtual National Sports Awards ceremony forced due to the coronavirus pandemic, a record 74 sporting heroes of India were bestowed with the honours on the birth anniversary of hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand, annually celebrated as India’s sports day.