Decision 2019

Decision 2019 News

Maharashtra, Haryana Election Results: PM Modi praises Fadnavis, Khattar; says will work harder for people's welfare

Maharashtra, Haryana Assembly Election Results 2019: The BJP and Shiv Sena retain power in Maharashtra; Haryana delivers a hung verdict.

Madhya Pradesh: In bettering 2014 showing, BJP kept out ‘dynasts’, leveraged central schemes

For the Congress, an immediate challenge is to ensure the stability of its government in the state. Its huge Lok Sabha majority and clear hegemonic aspirations could lead the BJP to try to get the support of additional MLAs to pull down Kamal Nath’s government.


Congress Party says it won't participate in television news debates for a month

"Congress has decided to not send spokespersons on television debates for a month. All media channels/editors are requested to not place Congress representatives on their shows," Surjewala said.

Rahul Gandhi best man to lead Congress, premature to write party's obituary: Shashi Tharoor

The Congress has no time to sit and lick its wounds as it must immediately pick itself up for the upcoming state elections, Shashi Tharoor said.

Rahul Gandhi's offer to resign as Congress chief suicidal: Lalu Prasad

Soon after someone else beyond the Gandhi-Nehru family takes over as Congress chief, the BJP "will paint the new leader as a 'puppet' remote-controlled by Rahul and Sonia Gandhi," Lalu Prasad added.

Narendra Modi meets Pranab Mukhjerjee, calls it 'enriching' experience

Pranab Mukherjee served as President from 2012 to 2017. In January this year, the NDA government conferred on him the highest civilian award Bharat Ratna.


Mukul Roy’s son, 2 other TMC MLAs leave for Delhi, set to join BJP

The three are learnt to have left Kolkata with senior BJP leader Mukul Roy, who had himself jumped ship from the TMC in 2017.

Explained: Congress' spectacular victory in Kerala

The irony remained on the ground that even as the Congress celebrated it's sweep across Kerala, it had no answers to the tsunami-like effect the BJP had on the national electorate.

CWC strike rate 4/18, many last fought elections decades ago

Many of the CWC members have either never contested a Lok Sabha or Assembly election or did so decades ago when the politics, discourse and tools were very different.

BJP gets more than half of ‘minority-concentration’ seats

The majority of these 15 seats gained by the BJP are in West Bengal, with the party winning six such seats in the state.

Decision 2019 Photos

Big fight: Rahul Gandhi, Nitin Gadkari, Kanhaiya Kumar among key candidates

Spread across seven phases, the bitterly contested Lok Sabha election spanned from April 11 to May 19. As the results start pouring in, let's take a look at some of the prominent candidates.

Lok Sabha elections: Final phase of polling ends; 61% voter turnout till 5 pm

Voting for the final phase of the Lok Sabha elections began on Sunday amid tight security across eight states, including Varanasi where PM Modi is seeking re-election.


How to Vote: Google doodle marks final phase of Lok Sabha polls

The doodle has an inked finger, which when clicked, redirects to a page explaining the voting process for the 2019 general elections. The page also provides information on how to vote at polling booths, election schedule, how to use Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), candidate names and more.

Tribal women see little hope in general elections

The biggest worry for many tribals is losing their land, which has grown increasingly valuable in recent years as India's economy has boomed. Many Warlis, for instance, are resisting a government plan to relocate them to housing projects outside the park. More fear being forced to move.

BJP leaders protest against violence at Amit Shah's roadshow in Kolkata

BJP national president Amit Shah’s massive roadshow in Kolkata turned violent on Tuesday with the BJP workers clashing with Calcutta University students who were showing black flags to the saffron party leader.

Polling ends for sixth phase; Sheila Dikshit, Gambhir, Rahul Gandhi among early voters

Compared to the election results of these 59 seats in the last Lok Sabha elections in 2014, BJP had won 45 of these seats, the Trinamool Congress 8, the Congress two and the Samajwadi Party and the LJP one seat each among others.


Priyanka Gandhi and the many shades of her campaign

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra's election campaigning caught our attention with her signature style - crisp saris paired with long-sleeved blouses.

2019 Lok Sabha elections affidavit: I hereby declare

The Election Commission announced the dates for the 17th Lok Sabha elections on March 10. Elections will be held in seven phases beginning April 11 and the results will be announced on May 23. Here is a list of the key candidates and their affidavits.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Bollywood stars cast their vote

Several Bollywood and television stars cast their vote on Monday in Mumbai. Here are all those who came out and voted.

A day after Modi's show of strength in mega roadshow, PM files nomination from Varanasi

Senior leaders of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and the BJP by his side, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday filed his nomination from Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi’s Lok Sabha constituency.