BMC polls 2017

The Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) elections are scheduled to be held on February 21 and the results will be declared on February 23. In the 227-member general body of BMC, the Sena currently has 75 corporators. The BJP has 32, the Congress has 52, MNS 28, NCP 13 and SP 9 with others. Unlike the last BMC polls in 2012, BJP is contesting this election sans any tie-up with old ally Shiv Sena. The BJP will contest 195 seats this


BMC polls 2017 News

BMC polls 2017: Logjam cleared after back-channel talks over three days

Sources in both parties said discussions were held between three leaders each from the Sena and the BJP through informal telephone conversations.

BMC polls 2017: Shiv Sena, BJP to control major civic bodies in Maharashtra, Congress wiped out

Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena won 84 seats, though falling short of an absolute majority.


BMC elections 2017: Why India should be looking at elections for Asia’s richest civic body

BMC elections 2017: Sena has been the prime political force in India’s economic capital and this will put a severe dent on the party’s existence in the state’s political landscape if it loses hold on BMC.

Counting underway for Maharashtra civic polls, all eyes on BMC result

Nearly 56 per cent voters had exercised their right to franchise during the elections to the 10 municipal corporations held on Tuesday.

BMC elections 2017: Turn out doubles by noon, but many don't figure in voter list

BMC elections 2017: There are 91.8 lakh registered voters in Mumbai who will vote across 7,297 booths. And 2,275 candidates who are contesting across all 227 municipal wards in Mumbai.

BMC elections 2017: Senior Sainiks on duty, Maharashtrian belts lead surge in voter turnout

BMC elections 2017: Senior citizen Shiv Sainiks were similarly seen at Shivaji Park in Dadar too. “The Marathi manoos has come out in large numbers in support of Sena and not any other party.


BMC elections 2017: Several poll officers juggle HSC exam work with election duties

BMC elections 2017: At centres which saw a relatively even turnout throughout the day, polling staff said work was smooth thanks to adequate number of staff.

BMC elections 2017: Usual suspect for worst turnout, Malabar Hill sees heavy voting too; 47.25% polling recorded

While polling started at a slower pace in the morning, more people came post noon. By late afternoon, long queues had formed outside the polling booths, with some voters having to wait for as long as an hour.

BMC elections 2017: We should get one more chance to vote, says Irked locals

BMC elections 2017: In another instance, 43-year-old Bharat Shah said that names of many residents of his building, Mahavir Darshan, were missing from the voter list and they were sent back from the polling booths.

BMC elections 2017: Chaos, anger as many names missing from voter lists

BMC elections 2017: There was chaos at the Andheri Sports Complex in the morning as several voters living in the Veera Desai Road area were unable to find their names on the rolls.

BMC polls 2017 Photos

Maharashtra queues up to vote in hotly contested civic polls

From politicians to celebrities, the camera captures all the excitement around BMC and PMC polls.

BMC polls 2017 Videos

BMC Elections 2017: Shiv Sena Wins 84 Seats, BJP Closes Gap With 81 Seats

The Shiv Sena and the BJP cemented their grip on major civic corporations in Maharashtra with both registering significant gains in Birhanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), Thane, Pune, Nashik and Nagpur. In Mumbai, Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena won 84 seats, though falling short of an absolute majority. Shiv Sena’s former ally, the BJP, improved its previous […]

BMC Elections 2017: Shiv Sena Leads In Mumbai, Thane; BJP Ahead In Pune, Nashik & Nagpur

The Shiv Sena seems to have registered a massive victory over its former ally, the BJP, as the party was set to get a majority in the Birhanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) and Thane civic body. As per the trends at 1.45 pm, Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena had won 59 seats and was leading in 35 […]