Thursday, Dec 01, 2022

biju janata dal


Why some teachers campaigning in rural polls has come to haunt BJD govt

February 14, 2022 8:09 am

The images and videos of teachers allegedly campaigning have emerged from Asanpur Panchayat in Jajpur district, Krushnaparsad block of Puri and Maithili block of Malkangiri district. Officials in the State Election Commission said most of such complaints are dealt with at the district level.

22 BJD MLAs do not attract disqualification for office of profit says EC

November 09, 2021 1:01 am

The poll panel in an opinion issued to the Odisha governor last month said offices held by 20 were exempted from disqualification under statutory law.

BJP for removing logos from Odisha PMAY-G houses

April 01, 2021 8:14 am

The BJP has demanded immediate removal of logos of the Biju Pucca Ghar Yojna (BPGY) from the houses of beneficiaries granted houses under the Centre’s Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana-Gramin (PMAY-G).

BJD announces four names for Rajya Sabha

March 07, 2020 2:28 pm

Four seats are open with the terms of BJD leaders Sarojini Hembram, Narendra Swain, Anubhav Mohanty, and Congress leader Ranjib Biswal are set to end.

Good optics, but Panda gains more than the BJP

March 05, 2019 1:15 am

In 2014, he won the Kendrapara seat by a margin of over 2 lakh votes — however, that victory was on a BJD ticket, at a seat that sent Biju Patnaik to Lok Sabha thrice, and has voted Janata and its successor parties continuously since 1977.

CBI grills BJD MP for 3 hrs

January 13, 2015 5:30 am

CBI sources said Jena headed the Supratik Group, which took term loan of Rs 18 crore from the Seashore Group in 2010.

Chit fund: CBI arrests BJD MP Ramchandra Hansda, 2 former MLAs

November 05, 2014 12:11 pm

Orissa chit fund scam: BJD suspends 2 from party, BJP distances self from ex-MLA

Web Edit: Is it love lost between Naveen and media in Orissa?

September 30, 2014 1:37 pm

Tripathy accused the local media persons of hounding him out at the behest of his political adversaries.

Ex-MP joins BJP ahead of Kandhamal byelection

September 22, 2014 1:24 am

The Congress is yet to declare anyone’s name.

Revolt brews in BJD, dissidents target Naveen’s close aide

August 16, 2014 1:05 am

The group of dissident leaders including a BJD MP recently met trying to create a pressure group within the party.