Bihar bypolls

Bihar bypolls News

Jokihat bypoll: JD(U) up against RJD stalwart Taslimuddin’s legacy

The RJD has fielded Mohammed Shahnawaz Alam, youngest of three sons of Taslimuddin, for the bypoll to Jokihat Assembly seat that fell vacant after Taslimuddin’s second son Sarfaraz was elected MP from Araria in the by-election after his death.

Youth charged with raising pro-pak slogans are not RJD men: Sarfaraz Alam

“Those are not RJD men, not of the alliance. I don't believe (in what they have said), I believe in secularism,” Alam told reporters.


Buoyed by Bihar bypoll results, RJD seeks Nitish Kumar's resignation

"The voters have rejected 'double engine' governments of NDA at the Centre as well in Bihar. Hence, Nitish Kumar should tender resignation," leader of Opposition Tejaswi Yadav said.

UP, Bihar bypoll results: Decoding the verdict that could be a 2019 gamechanger

In a big setback to BJP ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the saffron party was trounced in bypolls to three Lok Sabha seats, including the citadel of Yogi Adityanath's Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh.

Bihar Bye-Election Results 2018 highlights: RJD wins Jehanabad, Araria; BJP retains Bhabua

Bihar Bye-Election Results 2018: Read the highlights of counting of votes and results of Araria Lok Sabha seat, Jehanabad and Bhabua here.

Expect a faster ED, CBI action in UP and Bihar now: Tejashwi Yadav after BJP's dismal show in bypolls

Taking a jibe at the saffron party, he said he suspects that after this victory, Prime Minister Modi and Amit Shah will speed up ED and CBI action in Uttar Pradesh and BJP, reports ANI.


Bihar bypolls: Over 55% turnout recorded in Araria

While RJD fielded Sarfaraz Alam, BJP gave ticket to Pradeep Kumar Singh, who was local MP from 2009 to 2014, but lost to Alam’s father late Mohammed Taslimuddin of RJD in 2014.

Bihar bypolls: More than 50% voter turnout recorded for 3 Lok Sabha seats

Bihar bypolls: Bypolls to Araria LS bypoll recorded a voter turnout of 57%, Bhabua recorded 54.03 per cent while Jehanabad witnessed 50.06 per cent voter turnout till 5 pm, said Ajay V Nayak Chief Electoral Officer of Bihar.

Bihar bye-polls a test for BJP-JD(U) alliance

The bye-polls to a Lok Sabha and two assembly seats in Bihar will be the first electoral test of the BJP-JD(U) alliance with incarcerated RJD chief Lalu Prasad making it a prestige battle.

Bihar bypolls: Rashtriya Lok Samta Party appoints leaders to support NDA campaign

The appointments indicated that Kushwaha's differences with the BJP after the Jehanabad Assembly seat was allocated to the JD(U), instead of his party, were over, at least for now.