Friday, Dec 09, 2022

Election Result LIVE

Bihar Assembly


The RJD ‘money men’ under CBI scanner: From party treasurer to medical college owners

August 25, 2022 9:05 pm

While Ahmad Ashfaque Karim and Faiyaz Ahmad are Rajya Sabha MPs, MLC Sunil Kumar Singh controls the party’s purse strings, and Subodh Rai is a former MLC.

All eyes on Bihar as Nitish Kumar signals switching sides again, parties meet today

August 09, 2022 11:34 am

Bihar friction widens, day after JD(U) alleged plots against Nitish

August 1, 1982, Forty Years Ago: Bill To Curb Press

July 31, 2022 10:50 pm

History was made in the Bihar Assembly when, heedless of the fact that nobody heard a word of what he said, Chief Minister Jagannath Mishra, went through all the motions to secure passage of the controversial bill to deal with newspapers publishing “grossly indecent or scurrilous matter.”

'Mission 200': Eyeing Bihar expansion, BJP lines up mega central wings, statewide events

July 27, 2022 5:28 pm

The BJP has deftly chosen to focus on these 200 Assembly seats to push its social engineering move, leaving 43 seats won by its junior ally JD (U) in the 2020 Assembly polls.

After PM tip, Tejashwi pulls jeep, plays cricket to shape up, gain political weight

July 26, 2022 9:15 am

PM Modi reportedly asked Tejashwi to “lose some weight” during their off-stage conversation on 12 July at the closing function of the Bihar Assembly's centenary celebrations.

July 7, 1982, Forty Years Ago: Chaos In Bihar House

July 06, 2022 10:44 pm

Twenty-one more members of the opposition were suspended by the Bihar Assembly for four days and later carried out of the House one by one. This was in pursuance of the order of the Speaker, Radhanandan Jha, to the marshal following a second day of the uproar over the Monghyr killings.

Bihar: As VIP chief says joining NDA was ‘mistake’, all his three MLAs seek to merge with BJP

March 24, 2022 2:29 am

The BJP would become the single-largest party with 77 MLAs after the merger. At present, the largest party in the Bihar Assembly is the RJD, which has 75 seats.

Making his mark as LoP, Tejashwi takes centre stage in Bihar politics

March 19, 2022 10:09 pm

In recent months, Tejashwi has sought to play a role in larger Opposition politics at the national level. He has reached out to top leaders in the Opposition camp, including Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin and West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee, among others.

Tarapur bypoll: With Lalu boost and a caste bet, RJD hopes to upset JD(U)

October 28, 2021 10:57 am

Principal opposition party RJD, sniffing an opportunity, has also intensified its campaigning with Leader of Opposition Tejashwi Prasad Yadav making sure senior party leaders pitch in.

Explained: Why Bihar's two bypolls could end up having a wider impact in state

October 30, 2021 10:13 am

Bihar bypolls: The results will not have an immediate impact on the numbers in the House; however, they will likely have a bearing on the wider political situation in the state.