Follow Us:
Thursday, December 02, 2021

assembly speaker


BJP's Girish Goutam unanimously elected Speaker of MP Assembly

February 22, 2021 2:14 pm

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan moved a proposal in the House to elect Gautam as the Assembly's Speaker, which was later seconded by other ministers, members from the treasury benches and Leader of the Opposition Kamal Nath.

BJP fields S Suresh Kumar as its candidate for Karnataka Assembly speaker's post

May 24, 2018 3:36 pm

The three-day-old B S Yeddyurappa-led BJP government in Karnataka had collapsed on May 19, with the chief minister announcing his decision to resign without facing a trust vote, with the numbers not in his favour.

Who is a pro tem speaker

May 18, 2018 5:42 pm

A pro-tem speaker is chosen with the agreement of the members of the Lok Sabha and legislative assembly, so that he can carry on the activities till the permanent speaker is not chosen. Once the new Speaker is elected, the office of the pro tem speaker ceases to exist.

BJP MLAs go to Jung against Speaker ‘bias’

March 04, 2015 2:29 am

There were instances where the Speaker of the House, Ram Niwas Goel, allegedly acted in a biased manner.

Delhi HC declares expelled AAP MLA Binny independent legislator, stays Speaker's letter

February 19, 2014 10:22 pm

Delhi HC listed the matter for further hearing on March 4.

CM Kiran Reddy seeks rejection of Telangana Bill in Assembly, leaders furious

January 27, 2014 12:54 am

AP Minister had earlier appealed to the Assembly Speaker and Council Chairman to reject the proposed resolution.

In bid to rein in legislators,SP suspends three MLAs

August 30, 2013 4:34 am

Samajwadi Party suspended three MLAs — Mahendra Kumar Singh alias Jheen Babu,Ramlal Akela and Radhey Shyam Jaiswal — from the party’s membership Wednesday

State BJP office-bearers,MLAs told to declare assets by June 15

May 26, 2013 1:02 am

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) office-bearers and MLAs in Uttar Pradesh will have to declare details of their movable and immovable assets and liabilities by June 15.

In new Lokayukta Bill,CM will call the shots

March 26, 2013 2:23 am

The new Gujarat Lokayukta Aayog Bill 2013,which seeks to replace the existing Gujarat Lokayukta Act 1986,proposes the appointment of a Lokayukta and a maximum of four Up Lokayuktas by Governor on the recommendation of a selection committee chaired by the Chief Minister,thereby curbing the powers of Governor and High Court Chief Justice in the selection process.