Kodanad estate break-in case: Two accused held in Delhi brought to Chennai

On Monday, two of the accused persons, V K Sayan, and Valayar Manoj, were brought from Delhi by police in a private flight and whisked away for further interrogation.

2019 Lok Sabha elections: BJP, AIADMK likely to split seats in Tamil Nadu

The alliance talks, however, have seemingly left two prominent leaders in the lurch — Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam, and AIADMK rebel and AMMK founder T T V Dhinakaran.


Tamil Nadu: Left, Vaiko on board, DMK looks set for strong alliance

According to sources in the DMK, VCK, CPI and CPI(M) may be demanding two seats each but the DMK leadership is unlikely to share more than one seat each with them.

AIADMK MP V Sathyabama on Parliament protests: 'Our duty to raise state issues'

V Sathyabama, AIADMK MP from Tiruppur, speaks to The Indian Express about the protest by her party inside and outside Parliament.

Why ex-AIADMK minister who tonsured his head and carried fire-pots for Jayalalithaa joined DMK?

It remains unclear on who made that first move. However, top sources in DMK leadership and strategists working close to Dhinakaran sounded the same - Balaji’s decision to join DMK was beneficial for both.

3 AIADMK men convicted in Dharmapuri bus burning case released

The bus was attacked during a protest by AIADMK men against the conviction of former CM Jayalalalithaa in Kodaikanal Pleasant Stay Hotel case.


EC bribery case: Delhi court orders framing of charges against rebel AIADMK leader Dhinakaran

In 2017, Delhi Police's crime branch had filed the chargesheet alleging middleman Sukesh Chandansekar had conspired with TTV Dhinakaran and others to bribe the election commission official to get the two leaves symbol for Sasikala led AIADMK faction. 

AIADMK launches TV channel 'News J' to take on rivals

AIADMK was prompted to launch a TV channel of its own to take on propaganda against it by rivals since Jaya TV began backing Jayalalithaa's aide V K Sasikala and her nephew T T V Dhinakaran after her demise.

AIADMK unveils new statue of Jayalalithaa to replace the one that didn't resemble her

Jayalalithaa, a five-time Chief Minister of the state, died in December 2016.

EC bribery case: CAT junks order to dismiss ASI who escorted ‘middleman’

The decision came after a prima facie inquiry found that the concerned personnel misused their official position and “subverted the procedure” established by law.


Jayalalithaa takes charge as Tamil Nadu CM for the sixth time

Jayalalithaa's swearing-in ceremony was held at the Centenary Auditorium at the Madras University on Monday afternoon.

AIADMK supporters celebrate Jayalalithaa's acquittal in DA case

AIADMK workers broke into celebrations, bursting crackers and distributing sweets following the acquittal of Jayalalithaa by the Karnataka High Court.


J Jayalalithaa convicted; AIADMK workers stage protests

As soon Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa was convicted in an 18-year-old disproportionate assets case by a special court, AIADMK workers began their protests.

Didi, Amma wave: TMC, AIADMK win big

Supporters of TMC and AIADMK celebrated their victory in the Lok Sabha Polls.

Stage set for 6th phase of polling

Stakes will be high for Congress and BJP and a number of other parties like AIADMK, DMK, NCP and Shiv Sena when 117 constituencies will go to polls on Thursday in yet another substantial round of polling in the Lok Sabha elections.

Tamizh Talkies

From Jayalalithaa speakers blaring out Stalin’s ‘leonine gait’ to BJP bikers waving ‘Vaiko’ flags, EP UNNY captures a slice of Tamil Nadu’s political terrain.


Politicians from various parties pay tribute to Bhimrao Ambedkar

President, Prime Minister and other leaders pay tribute to Bhimrao Ambedkar on the occasion of his birth anniversary celebrations.


Express Eye for Detail: CBI vs CBI, AIADMK MLAs to stay disqualified, and Kohli reaches another milestone

In this episode of Express Eye for Detail, a look at the battle within the CBI, the AIADMK gets a breather and Virat Kohli becomes the fastest batsman to reach the 10,000-run mark.