Aadhaar Act

Aadhaar Act News

A more opaque Aadhaar

Its technical design requires serious reconsideration, following amendments to the law.

Parliament Monsoon session: Bill to amend Aadhaar Act moved in Lok Sabha

Rolling out stiff penalties for violation of norms, the Bill proposes to amend the Aadhaar Act 2016 and replace an ordinance promulgated in March.


Aadhar card status online: How to check aadhar card status online by mobile number and name

Even though some of the provisions in the Aadhaar Act 2016 were struck down by the Supreme Court, Aadhaar still is a constitutionally valid proof across the country in larger interest.

Teltumbde On Aadhaar: All theoretical rights enshrined in Constitution can be reduced to joke

Teltumbde, who was speaking at the launch of the book ‘Dissent on Aadhaar’ edited by economist Reetika Khera, on Saturday said that the danger of a surveillance state that could be created through Aadhaar is compounded when it is a state that is “amoral and so rogue that it creates something out of nothing”.

Lok Sabha passes bill to amend Aadhaar act

The compulsory use of Aadhaar-based KYC for mobile connections and bank accounts was prohibited by the apex court.

The end of digital history

The digital planet’s high points — US, Europe, India — are losing ground to China.


Verdict as first word

The Supreme Court judgment does not provide a consistent framework to ascertain future legitimate uses of Aadhaar.

Message from a verdict

Amending of Aadhaar Act should not be a restoration of state’s power.

Aadhaar verdict: Harbinger of uncertainty

Aadhaar verdict leaves open questions on what is permissible and what is not.

Shaping digital destiny

Apex court’s verdict removes misapprehensions on Aadhaar, will cleanse system of fakes and duplicates, ensure that services reach intended beneficiaries.

Aadhaar Act Videos

Right To Privacy Is A Fundamental Right, Says SC

The nine-judge bench unanimously ruled that privacy is a fundamental right under the Indian Constitution. The bench, headed by Chief Justice of India J S Khehar, comprised of Justices J Chelameswar, S A Bobde, R K Agrawal, R F Nariman, A M Sapre, D Y Chandrachud, S K Kaul and S Abdul Nazeer. To know […]