Wednesday, Jan 28, 2015


The 2014 edition of the Indian Premier League kicks off in UAE and ends in India. Follow this space for the exclusive coverage of the cash-rich tournament.

India’s got talent

India’s got talent

It was a challenging year for the IPL. From a cricketing point of view, it grew, writes Harsha Bhogle.

No evidence that Gurunath Meiyappan fixed games: Mumbai police

The report was been signed by Nandkumar Gopale, inspector, with the property cell of the police.

IPL: Dropped legends cause big splash in auction pool

Yuvraj, Pietersen, Dinesh Kartik, M Vijay, Ross Taylor and Cheteshwar Pujara will be going back into the auction pool.

IPL: Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Kevin Pietersen among top 10 releases
December 16, 2014

The franchises gave their respective teams a toss and beefed up their purse ahead of the auctions.

Ricky Ponting appointed as head coach of Mumbai Indians
December 10, 2014

Former coach John Wright will be working closely with the Mumbai Indians management on talent scouting.

Rahul Dravid to continue as Rajasthan Royals mentor
November 5, 2014

Royals CEO Iyer said Dravid’s presence will give them a big push for IPL-8, scheduled for Apr 8-May 24.

IPL 7: Decided that I won’t pick Sunil Narine from his hand, says Saha
June 4, 2014

Saha revealed how he dealt with Sunil Narine — against whom he got four out of his eight sixes.

IPL 7: India’s got talent

It was a challenging year for the IPL. From a cricketing point of view, it grew, writes Harsha Bhogle.

IPL 7: Chaos, KKR celebration go hand in hand

A technical snag delayed Shah Rukh Khan’s flight and the principal owner was late to arrive.

IPL 7: I knew Mitchell Johnson will bowl a bouncer, says Piyush Chawla
June 3, 2014

In a chat with The Indian Express, Piyush Chawla speaks about the “four and six” that sealed the win.

KXIP’s sharp eye for talent

Saha and Manan Vohra eventually ended up on the losing side but they did make a mark.

IPL 7: Glenn Maxwell told me I was best in the world, says Akshar Patel

Young Akshar Patel had not played a single Indian Premier League game prior to the 2014 season.

IPL 7: KKR on party circuit

IPL 7 winners to be given a ‘royal felicitation’ at the Eden Gardens, Bengal CM to attend.

IPL 7: George Bailey credits Sanjay Bangar, Indian players for team’s success
June 2, 2014

Bailey credited coach Sanjay Bangar and Indian players like Saha, Vohra and Akshar for KXIP’s success in IPL 7.

Picking quality bowlers in auction helped KKR to win: Gautam Gambhir

He added that a strong bowling attack is important in T20 cricket, as it takes a lot of pressure off batting.

IPL 7: It’s good to be the chosen one, says Yusuf Pathan after KKR’s emphatic win

Yusuf credited the KKR owners and captain Gambhir for backing him after lacklustre run at the start of IPL 7.

IPL 7: KKR’s grand felicitation to be held at Eden Gardens

All roads on Tuesday will lead up to Eden Gardens, and entry will be free for fans to join the felicitation.

IPL 7: Gautam Gambhir was the best captain this season, says Wasim Akram

The KKR bowling coach was all praise for Gambhir, who led his team to an emphatic victory in the IPL 7 final.

IPL 7: Winning the IPL final a ‘surreal feeling’ for Robin Uthappa

After winning their second IPL title, KKR batsman Uthappa says the feeling for him is surreal right now.

Express LOL: The funniest #IPLFINAL tweets

While we’re drowning in our sorrows at the IPL being over, let us also rejoice at the brilliance it’s produced on Twitter.

IPL 7: Despite his best, nice guy Wriddhiman Saha finishes second

Saha’s effort couldn’t give Punjab the IPL crown, but he returned from the Chinnaswamy Stadium as a winner.

IPL 7: Hail the Knights

After a gap of one year, KKR are again the proud holders of the IPL trophy.

IPL 7: Shah Rukh Khan on cloud nine after second title

After opting to stay modest throughout the match, Shah Rukh Khan was ecstatic after his team won their second IPL.

IPL 7: No ‘ting’ moment for Preity Zinta in final

The KXIP co-owner wore a disappointed look after her team went down fighting in the final against KKR.

IPL 7: Knights are new Kings

After one-and-a-half months of cricket, KKR won their second IPL final beating KXIP by three wickets.

IPL 7: Manish Pandey was fearless, says Gautam Gambhir

Gambhir said that they always fancied the chance to win as Chinnaswamy is a small ground to defend.

IPL 7: Shah Rukh Khan dedicates title triumph to youngest son AbRam

Shah Rukh Khan attributed the Kolkata Knight Riders’ success to the teamwork.

IPL 7: KKR’s 7th heaven
June 1, 2014

Knight Riders equal CSK as the most successful team in IPL after lifting their second title with three-wicket win.

IPL 7: Rise of the specialists

The 7th edition of the IPL has hardened the mould of format-specific players around whom teams are built.

IPL’s Kings, Knights step onto the biggest stage

KKR clash with first-time finalists KXIP at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Sunday.

IPL 7: My conscious effort was that I play well and help my team win, says Virender Sehwag
May 31, 2014

The 35-year old cracked a brilliant 58-ball 122 on Friday, which helped KXIP post a mammoth 226 against CSK.

IPL 7: Run-outs of Suresh Raina and Brendon McCullum saw CSK lose momentum, says Stephen Fleming

The CSK coach added that Raina could have won the match for them if he had been around for 3-4 more overs.

IPL 7: Mahendra Singh Dhoni tears into experienced international players (read: Brendon McCullum)

McCullum was involved in two run outs including that of Raina — a wicket that turned the game on its head.

IPL 7: The return of a King

After Sehwag turns back clock with 122, KXIP survive a 25-ball 87 by CSK’s Raina to make first IPL final.

IPL 7: ‘Papa, why are you getting out? Friends tease me’

Virender Sehwag reveals promising his son, who was getting bullied at school for his dad’s poor form, a big knock.

IPL 7: Kings give ‘queen’ Preity Zinta a pretty moment

KXIP stormed into their first ever IPL final and co-owner Preity Zinta was ecstatic after the win over CSK.

IPL 7: Seven years, first final

KXIP beat CSK by 24 runs and reach the IPL final for first time in tournament history.