Tuesday, Jul 29, 2014
yubaraj_200

Yubaraj Ghimire

Starting over
Tue, Jul 29, 2014

Swaraj's message was clear: Delhi wants to depart from past practice of missing opportunities.

India agrees to review Nepal friendship treaty
Mon, Jul 28, 2014

The EPG will comprise a parliamentarian, lawyer, civil society leader and economist from each side.

Sushma treads a line different from UPA’s
Sun, Jul 27, 2014

Her predecessor Salman Khurshid had ruffled many feathers in Nepal by having former PMs meet him at his hotel.

Swaraj says Nepal is India’s top priority
Sat, Jul 26, 2014

India looks at building ground for Modi’s visit as Nepal dithers on Power Trading Agreement.

Sushma begins 3-day visit to Nepal
Fri, Jul 25, 2014

Meanwhile, the PMO confirmed that Modi will visit Nepal from August 3 to 5.

When Modi goes to Kathmandu
Tue, Jul 22, 2014

India and Nepal have a new opportunity to collaborate on development and energy security.

The deadlock returns
Tue, Jul 01, 2014

New constitution seems faraway as court and executive protect their own interests, party bosses promote corruption.

Judicial authoritarianism
Mon, Jun 23, 2014

When courts protect the interests of a government, not individual rights.

Kathmandu wonders
Mon, Jun 02, 2014

How supportive will Modi’s government be of the process of change that currently lacks direction and consensus?

What Modi means to Nepal
Sat, May 24, 2014

Given India’s influence, there are worries about a threat to the republican and secular order.

Nepal calls off all Everest expeditions this season
Mon, Apr 28, 2014

The returning expedition groups called 2014 a “black year” in the 61-year history of mountaineering at the Everest.

Treks off, no one will climb Everest from Nepal this year
Sun, Apr 27, 2014

The 15 expedition groups already at the base camp decided to collectively call off treks and return home on Sunday.

A resilient chaos
Mon, Apr 21, 2014

The old system is destroyed. The new Nepal is still to be born.

Sushil Koirala isnew Nepal Prime Minister, says constitution his priority
Mon, Feb 10, 2014

Koirala said he will make every attempt to strengthen Nepal's relations with two immediate neighbours India and China.

Nepal’s Maoist party on verge of split
Fri, Jan 03, 2014

Bhattarai and Shrestha have also been insisting Prachanda own responsibility for the poll outcome.

6 Kolkata tourists die in Nepal road mishap
Thu, Jan 02, 2014

Families of the deceased in Kolkata have been notified,and postmortem of all six were performed.

Six tourists from Kolkata die in Nepal accident
Thu, Jan 02, 2014

The police said all the passengers were from Kolkata and were heading to Kathmandu from Pokhra.

Nepal’s Maoists agree to join assembly,end political crisis
Wed, Dec 25, 2013

The new agreement includes the formation of a parliamentary board to look into alleged poll rigging.

The need to include
Fri, Jan 10, 2014

The legitimacy of the constitutional process might be questioned in the absence of the breakaway Maoist party.

Not their idea of Nepal
Mon, Dec 16, 2013

Why the UN and Western donor states seem unhappy about the electoral outcome.

Defeated,not subdued
Mon, Dec 02, 2013

Despite electoral rout,Maoists are trying to wrest control of governance.

Main oppn asks Nepali Congress to lead govt
Fri, Nov 29, 2013

Senior politician Narayanman Bijukchhe,indicated that the President is in no mood to quit.

Nepali Cong chief Koirala projected as next PM
Tue, Nov 26, 2013

The Maoists have so far refused to be part of the new Constituent Assembly.

Maoist Chief Prachanda wins with slender Margin from ‘second constituency’
Sat, Nov 23, 2013

Prachanda won the seat,defeating his nearest rival Leelanath Shrestha by 923 votes.

The old guard returns
Sat, Nov 23, 2013

Early results and trends show parties contesting on radical and ethnic platforms have lost. However,the losers’ rejection of the results does not bode well for the new Constituent Assembly.

Rattled by crushing defeat,Nepal Maoists demand suspension of vote counting
Thu, Nov 21, 2013

Chief Election Commissioner Neel Kantha Uprety asked all sides to honour the verdict.

Nepal-Maoists boycott poll as counting half way through
Thu, Nov 21, 2013

UCP was the biggest party in the last constituent Assembly with 237 seats.

Caste,animals,uncertainty dominate Nepal polls
Mon, Nov 18, 2013

A few parties have been formed to woo votes on the basis of caste.

A ‘revolutionary’ in Nepal now fears for his life
Fri, Nov 15, 2013

Prachanda said Mohan Baidhya,once his comrade in arm,was hatching an assassination bid on his life.

Protecting the poll
Wed, Nov 13, 2013

That the media and the international community have declared the November 19 election ‘non-negotiable’ is a reason for cheer

Anti-poll groups target public buses in Nepal,many injured
Wed, Nov 13, 2013

THE call for an eight-day nationwide general strike by the anti-poll political groups met with massive resistance as five people sustained injuries and bandh supporters hurled explosives on three buses in the capital and elsewhere. The government made heavy deployment of security forces,which were armed with sweeping powers to arrest anyone suspected to be a […]

New Nepal constitution will have no legitimacy without us: CPN-M
Sun, Oct 27, 2013

If any constitution is delivered without our participation,people will tear it into pieces: Mohan

Intimations of failure
Sun, Oct 06, 2013

With Regmi refusing to quit as chief justice,the November election is likely to be violent and discredited

Head priest of Pashupatinath resigns over ‘offerings’ row
Mon, Sep 23, 2013

Pashupati Area Development Trust sources confirmed his resignation but declined to divulge details as the “issue is being handled by the Minister for Culture.”

Row over ‘raid’ by UP cops in Nepal,India promises to look into allegation
Fri, Sep 20, 2013

The Indian embassy here issued a statement,promising investigation and action if the allegations were found true.

A question of trust
Mon, Sep 02, 2013

In the run-up to polls,there is agreement between SC,EC and the four big parties. But will they uphold the democratic principle?