Monday, Apr 27, 2015
Tavleen Singh

Tavleen Singh

Fifth Column: Lies and more lies
Sun, Apr 26, 2015

Rahul Gandhi's lies are serious and so must be analysed seriously.

Fifth Column: Clarity on Kashmir
Sun, Apr 19, 2015

Nobody seriously believes that there will be another redrawing of India’s borders.

Fifth column: A five-star hullabaloo
Sun, Apr 12, 2015

When Modi promised to eliminate laws that came in the way of the justice system moving faster.

Fifth Column: Meaningless hysterics
Sun, Apr 05, 2015

There have been no massacres of Christians, Muslims, Sikhs or Dalits since Narendra Modi took office.

Fifth Column: A time to lead
Sun, Mar 29, 2015

Singapore has become a model for China and most Southeast Asian countries. The beacon of change was Lee Kuan Yew.

Fifth Column: A bunch of hypocrites
Sun, Mar 22, 2015

I understood again why India gave Narendra Modi a full mandate.

Fifth Column: Continuity is not change
Sun, Mar 15, 2015

Do we need continuity in our appalling infrastructure standards?

Fifth column: India defamed?
Sun, Mar 08, 2015

India’s Daughter holds up a mirror to Indian society and it does this with compassion and sensitivity.

Fifth column: Not Jantar Mantar again
Sun, Mar 01, 2015

The land law is not the only bad piece of legislation that the last government bestowed upon us.

Fifth Column: Crusaders in a time warp
Sun, Feb 22, 2015

It is true that in elections past, the RSS helped the BJP win, but it is not true of the last general election.

Fifth Column: Well done, Kejriwal
Sun, Feb 15, 2015

It served as a warning to Prime Minister Narendra Modi that he has not delivered on ‘parivartan’.

Fifth Column: Dreaming of good days
Sun, Feb 08, 2015

As if all that the new government has done in the past few months is settle easily into the ugly mould.

Fifth Column: Truth at last
Sun, Feb 01, 2015

Jayanthi Natarajan has admitted that she was forced to close Vedanta’s project on orders of Rahul Gandhi.

Fifth Column: Shameful legacies
Sun, Jan 25, 2015

The Republic Day parade became a hollow display of weaponry and silly tableaux.

Fifth Column: Stealth is bad
Sun, Jan 18, 2015

It is the sort of city that we cannot dream of in India until we accept that it is not so much ‘vikas’

Fifth Column: Je suis Charlie Hebdo
Sun, Jan 11, 2015

There are lessons for us from the Charlie Hebdo massacre.

Fifth column: A misconception
Sun, Jan 04, 2015

"The first political leader to have noticed the urgent need for ‘parivartan’ was Modi, I support him."

Fifth column: Either, or
Sun, Dec 28, 2014

there will be no improvement as long as the PM’s own agenda for reform and change remains subsumed by RSS.

Fifth column: Jihadi horror
Sun, Dec 21, 2014

The horror is doubly horrific for us who live in India.

Fifth column: Stop Hindutva now
Sun, Dec 14, 2014

Why is the Prime Minister not publicly rebuking them for dragging Hindutva into his mandate in the ugliest way?

Fifth column: Not either or
Sun, Dec 07, 2014

There can be no ‘make in India’ at all if we do this.

Fifth column: Hope and audacity
Sun, Nov 30, 2014

Ministers, high officials, clerks and peons now report for duty on time and are no longer to be seen taking long lunch breaks to soak in winter sunshine in Delhi’s parks.

Fifth column: Right about-turn
Sun, Nov 23, 2014

In a country in which every political party is Leftist, the lament is puzzling.

Fifth Column: Old idols in a new world
Sun, Nov 16, 2014

So what is this legacy that everyone is fighting over in the week of Nehru’s 125th birth anniversary?

Fifth Column: The doomsday club
Sun, Nov 09, 2014

The point I am making is that there exists in Delhi today a doomsday club that does not miss any chance to predict that India is finished.

Fifth column: Cultural renewal
Sun, Nov 02, 2014

Inevitable, since mass education is such a mess that most children leave school without learning to read a storybook.

Fifth column: Real change please
Sun, Oct 26, 2014

The Prime Minister has repeated often that he believes the government has “no business to be in business”, but his ministers are not listening.

Fifth Column: Do we hear a death knell?
Sun, Oct 19, 2014

Democratic feudalism has reduced our smaller states to fiefdoms over which a handful of families lay claim.

Fifth Column: Modi’s first real test
Sun, Oct 12, 2014

The Congress dream has always been only to “alleviate” poverty.

Public hygiene and politics
Sun, Oct 05, 2014

Most children who die in India before they get to their fifth birthday die of preventable diseases like diarrhoea and malaria.

The visit, the arrival
Thu, Oct 02, 2014

In the US, Modi changed India’s image, and his own.

Indians of New York
Tue, Sep 30, 2014

For the diaspora, Modi can make miracles happen.

Fifth column: With due respect
Sun, Sep 28, 2014

Could the honourable judges not have paid attention to the inextinguishable fires that burn underground.

Fifth Column: Wasting a mandate?
Sun, Sep 21, 2014

While the Prime Minister talks about “minimum government”, his ministers seem not to have understood what this means.

Fifth column: Parivartan needed urgently
Sun, Sep 14, 2014

Social welfare system created by Nehruvian socialist India is supposed to help our weakest citizens. It does the opposite.

Fifth column: Love jihad vs real jihad
Sun, Sep 07, 2014

It is time to stop being politically correct, and draw some red lines before it is too late.