Thursday, Dec 18, 2014
SurjitBhalla04

Surjit S Bhalla

The writer is chairman of Oxus Investments, an emerging market advisory firm, and a senior advisor to Zyfin, a leading financial information company.

No proof required: Move from NREGA to cash transfers
Fri, Dec 12, 2014

Because, for too long, the government and economists have only played at helping the poor

Course correction needed
Wed, Dec 10, 2014

It’s time for Modi to be the Modi the Indian electorate voted for.

No Proof Required: Go on, do a Volcker, please
Thu, Nov 27, 2014

If Paul Volcker were RBI governor, he would cut rates aggressively — starting today

No Proof Required: Who is the real target?
Sat, Nov 08, 2014

There is little evidence that inflation targeting helps reduce inflation — but it helps checkmate irresponsible politicians.

A cut in time saves nine
Fri, Nov 07, 2014

Delay in cutting interest rates would imply that the RBI is looking to bet on a horse after it has won the race.

No proof required: PDS or NREGA, corruption must go on
Sat, Nov 01, 2014

No matter what in-the-name-of-the-poor scheme you cook up, the poor get less than 15 per cent

Wanted: dogma-free models of inflation
Tue, Oct 14, 2014

It is incumbent on experts, policymakers to construct models that stand up to the tests of reality

World Bank isn’t telling it like it is
Sat, Oct 11, 2014

It is better to show higher world poverty by raising the poverty line than to distort history by using obsolete and questionable data

Top ten reasons for inflation decline
Wed, Oct 01, 2014

A resurgence in inflation is a low probability event. Given low GDP growth, why is the RBI acting so coy about cutting repo rates?

To Supreme Court, with anger, pain and shame
Tue, Sep 30, 2014

A rose by any other name is still a rose; an illogical act by any other name is still an illogical act.

RBI, we have a problem
Sat, Sep 20, 2014

If supply-side problems are the major ailment, why not cut rates — since monetary policy can affect output without affecting inflation

Where monetary policy is irrelevant
Sat, Sep 13, 2014

It plays no role in the rise and fall of inflation. RBI must junk its inflation expectations survey before it causes more damage to its reputation

The paradox of captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Sun, Sep 07, 2014

Is passionate excess all there is to the criticism that the Indian cricket captain faces today?

Don’t confuse luck with performance
Sat, Sep 06, 2014

The ‘long-term’ economic policies initiated in the first 100 days of the Modi government are, like the invisible hand, nowhere to be seen.

In search of Modi
Sat, Aug 09, 2014

Who would have thought he would fail to communicate his thoughts, his ideas of reform, his vision for a new India?

Will the RBI cut rates? It should
Tue, Aug 05, 2014

If ever there was a compelling case for RBI to cut rates, it is today with CPI and WPI month on month inflation below 5 per cent for last six months.

In the name of India, why?
Thu, Jul 31, 2014

Modi-led BJP is pursuing an illogical and regressive anti-trade-facilitation stance at the WTO.

A ‘principled’ Congress stance at the WTO?
Tue, Jul 29, 2014

If India succeeds in stalling talks, Modi will only be endorsing UPA’s very bad food procurement and economic policies .

No Proof Required: Watch what we do, not what we say
Sat, Jul 19, 2014

2014 will be remembered as the year India comprehensively rejected its old mindset and changed course.

1960s thinking on poverty, only in India
Fri, Jul 18, 2014

In 1968, India’s per capita income was around $100 per person per year.

From hope to reality
Fri, Jul 11, 2014

If the presentation of the budget were better, most experts would not be missing the big ideas for the small trees.

Aadhaar didn’t fit the bill
Thu, Jul 10, 2014

UPA’s version was inadequate. NDA must improve upon it.

A win-win budget, sans populism
Thu, Jul 10, 2014

With Modi backing Aadhaar, government can save Rs 1.6 lakh crore in wasted subsidies and cut tax rates.

Mindless populism — facts and remedies
Sat, Jul 05, 2014

The food security act is a perfect example.

Own goal policies, uniquely Indian
Tue, Jul 01, 2014

For growth to revive, anti-competition and pro rent-seeking systems will need to change, as in the financial markets.

No Proof Required: In defence of Greenpeace
Sat, Jun 14, 2014

Law-abiding NGOs, foreign or domestic, are an asset to society as they enlarge the debate through research and advocacy.

Budget 2014-15: No more excuses
Tue, Jun 10, 2014

The budget could be a joy to behold. For the first time ever, the government will have no excuses for business as usual, sloppiness, inaction and bad behaviour.

No more bandaid tax policy
Sat, Jun 07, 2014

The effective corporate tax rate in India is identical to the stated 30 per cent rate. This has killed corporations and the economy.

Will the new India please arise
Sat, May 31, 2014

One responsibility that comes with an overwhelming electoral mandate is a commitment to structural change in the economy.

Modi happened in Election 2014
Tue, May 20, 2014

This Lok Sabha election was a structural break for India as its voters comprehensively rejected their Nehru-Gandhi past.

No Proof Required: The Gandhis should resign
Sat, May 17, 2014

Election 2014 likely signals the end of the longest running political dynasty in the world.

No proof required: The measure of Modi
Fri, May 16, 2014

The intelligent Indian voter has responded to Modi’s charms. If he had not been the BJP’s PM candidate, the instability feared by all would have become a nightmarish reality.

The slur and troll campaign
Sat, May 10, 2014

The rebuttal of the Gujarat model relies on flawed analysis and obfuscation.

Singh and Congress commit hara-kiri
Thu, May 08, 2014

If opinion polls are right, question that will need answering is, ‘How can Congress go from hero to zero in just five years?’

Just name-calling
Sat, Apr 26, 2014

Next time intellectuals complain about Gujarat, can they provide some evidence?

Gujarat’s other calling card
Sat, Apr 19, 2014

Whether it is female infanticide or mortality, education or various health indicators, Modi’s Gujarat has done quite well.