Shailaja Bajpai

Shailaja Bajpai has been writing about television since 1984. "Far too long," in her own words. But she has also watched it change, grow, grow and grow into what is today... the elephant in the room and any conversation on any subject. In her case, it would be true to say that you have to pay her to watch television!

Telescope: Mosquitoes cross the LoC
Thu, Oct 20, 2016

When Manju became an unsung warrior in a proxy war against the nation

Telescope: The ironic defence of Cyril Almeida
Fri, Oct 14, 2016

Channels outraged over the Pakistani journalist, chose not to reflect within.

Telescope: Prime-time bullies
Thu, Oct 06, 2016

Freedom to hold contrary views seems disallowed in this moment.

Telescope: Going places
Thu, Sep 29, 2016

From Fawad Khan to Kalki Koechlin, journeys to keep an eye on.

Telescope: Weekend war-mongering
Thu, Sep 22, 2016

TV channels tossed violent suggestions as casually as a peanut in the mouth

Telescope: Feel of the nation
Thu, Sep 15, 2016

Regional news channels show what the English channels ignore.

Telescope: Between a bed and a khaat
Thu, Sep 08, 2016

An AAP MLA featured in a sex tape. Rahul’s UP yatra began on a chaotic note.

Of the baba, by the baba
Thu, Sep 01, 2016

Ramdev is a major TV advertiser. He also makes news.

Telescope: Twist in a happy tale
Thu, Aug 25, 2016

OP Jaisha, the marathon runner, claimed that she had received no water from Indian officials along the route of the marathon, leading to her collapse at the finishing line.

Telescope: Missing the thread
Thu, Aug 18, 2016

Prime Minister’s I-Day speech was a spectacle that didn’t hold together.

Telescope: Delhi to Rio
Thu, Aug 11, 2016

In Brazil, majestic horses leapt over hurdles. In India, the holy cow lay low.

The World Came Home: The history of television in India
Sun, Jul 24, 2016

Perhaps, the most tangible way in which India felt the change was through television. Yet, the more the industry has grown, the more it has splintered us

Telescope: Grace and the lack of it
Thu, Jul 21, 2016

Spunky Sania, indecorous Melania and the stiff upper-lipped Brits.

Telescope: Echoes from the Valley
Thu, Jul 14, 2016

On Kashmir, channels pulled in one direction, RSTV restored perspective.

Telescope: Caught off guard
Thu, Jul 07, 2016

Smriti Irani’s downsizing in the Modi ministry took everyone by surprise.

What if the Arnab Goswami of 2014 had met the Narendra Modi in 2016?
Thu, Jun 30, 2016

On Monday, Arnab Goswami was about as hard as melted butter

Yoga and magic
Thu, Jun 23, 2016

Ministers struck awkward poses. If there is maun yoga, let Salman Khan practice it.

Telescope: Desperately seeking viewers
Thu, Jun 16, 2016

As the Kairana story underlined, TV news does not have the patience to verify

Telescope: Absurd, fantastical yet a hit
Thu, Jun 09, 2016

Supernatural serials don’t respect viewer’s scientific temper but they are fun.

More than just Child’s Play
Mon, Jun 06, 2016

What makes Balika Vadhu the longest-running daily soap opera in Hindi on Indian television.

Telescope: Such ado at India Gate
Thu, Jun 02, 2016

Modi government’s celebration of itself made for some bad television.

Telescope: This race for exclusives
Thu, May 26, 2016

TV would be better off travelling to Marathwada, reporting the drought.

Where are the fighting heads?
Thu, May 19, 2016

Some good news from the studios, some of them may have piped down

Telescope: Helicopter tales
Thu, May 12, 2016

Meanwhile on Uttarakhand, the BJP sputtered and stalled.

Telescope: A suggestion for news TV
Thu, May 05, 2016

Suspend your evening debates. Send top anchors to the village

Telescope: They do protest too much
Thu, Apr 28, 2016

Politicians divided by Agusta unite on odd-even

Telescope: Primetime siesta
Thu, Apr 21, 2016

A news channel gets a new name, but what changes on news TV?

Telescope: Between disaster and tragedy
Thu, Apr 14, 2016

TV rushes in with some disaster tourism, some sensitive coverage

Telescope: Anandi to Pratyusha
Thu, Apr 07, 2016

What happens after the lights are switched off?

The Kohli special
Thu, Mar 31, 2016

India has found itself a new hero in Virat Kohli.

Telescope: Brussels, after Paris
Thu, Mar 24, 2016

There aren’t many different ways to show the aftermath of a terror attack.

Telescope: On Women’s Day only
Thu, Mar 17, 2016

It was the usual tokenism. Meanwhile, to see real women, watch Zindagi

Telescope: Hot under the collar
Thu, Mar 10, 2016

After Kanhaiya, there are a lot of flushed faces on TV.

Telescope: From JNU to Patiala House
Thu, Feb 18, 2016

Who is the patriot, and who the anti-national?

Make in India: Bonfire of our vanities?
Mon, Feb 15, 2016

The impact of the fire for those present at the venue, and for those watching it at home cannot be underestimated.

Telecope: The brawl on screen
Thu, Feb 11, 2016

On David Headley’s deposition, news TV was at its most offensive