Shailaja Bajpai

Shailaja Bajpai has been writing about television since 1984. "Far too long," in her own words. But she has also watched it change, grow, grow and grow into what is today... the elephant in the room and any conversation on any subject. In her case, it would be true to say that you have to pay her to watch television!

Patriotism games
Thu, Jun 22, 2017

India lost to Pakistan on the cricket field. But that’s not all

Telescope: Partial Views
Thu, Jun 15, 2017

Less coverage of issues like farmers’ protests makes these seem unimportant

Telescope: An odd week
Thu, Jun 08, 2017

Between rockets, raids, plastic eggs, some channels even questioned the govt

Back to Ayodhya
Thu, Jun 01, 2017

A Babri test for the BJP — and news TV

IPL, the only game in town
Thu, May 25, 2017

Because there is little else that qualifies as family entertainment on TV

Telescope: A stop-over in Turkey
Thu, May 18, 2017

Moments of respite from Hindi soaps and American shows.

On the run
Thu, May 11, 2017

But with Republic TV, only the Opposition is being chased.

Telescope: The belligerent box
Thu, May 04, 2017

News TV has ratcheted up the anti-Pakistan rhetoric

Telescope: Political fodder
Thu, Apr 20, 2017

News channels seem bullish about the cow

Great Indian whitewash
Thu, Apr 13, 2017

From ads to daily soaps, TV promotes white or, at best, ‘wheatish’ skin

From Yogi to Arvind
Thu, Apr 06, 2017

Most TV channels don’t realise there’s more to the world than Indian politics.

Telescope: Dancing with the Yogi
Thu, Mar 23, 2017

TV went delirious chasing Uttar Pradesh’s new chief minister

Telescope: Dear Modi, from Trump
Thu, Mar 16, 2017

Indian news TV is doing a terrific job. The coverage to India’s PM? Tremendous

Telescope: The final build-up
Thu, Mar 09, 2017

News channels will regale you with numerical figures, confuse you with psephologists figuring out their data and try to figure out how to best rile the politicians.

Telescope: Twisted discourse
Thu, Mar 02, 2017

TV got worked up over Gurmehar Kaur for all the wrong reasons

Telescope: The anything-for-votes show
Wed, Feb 22, 2017

The UP assembly election is getting louder and shriller.

Telescope: Why so serious?
Thu, Feb 16, 2017

There is little or no lampooning of the political class on Indian television

Telescope: Heir unapparent
Thu, Feb 09, 2017

Battle for Jayalalithaa’s legacy is made for TV.

Telescope: Little flourish or poetry
Fri, Feb 03, 2017

Budget presentation is FM’s finest hour in Parliament. Not so much on TV.

Doordarshan’s hits and misses
Fri, Jan 27, 2017

DD news has a diverse range, but is weak in coverage of politics

A Dog’s Purpose
Sun, Jan 22, 2017

When was the last time you had a real grown-up conversation with your pet? That’s because our pets need the baby talk as much as we do.

A bit of emotional atyachaar
Thu, Jan 19, 2017

In the SP, the wheels of fortune turned with dramatic effect

Telescope: Filth on the streets
Thu, Jan 12, 2017

From alleged waste water on ‘Bigg Boss’, to Delhi’s garbage — a refuse lot on TV

Power and glitter
Thu, Jan 05, 2017

The plots of Hindi TV serials seem as sensible as some TV news headlines

Telescope: Back from the poles
Thu, Dec 29, 2016

News anchors cried themselves hoarse for most of the year, but TV got back to the business of informing in the wake of demonetisation

Telescope: Not achhe din
Thu, Dec 22, 2016

... for the government. Or former cricketers turned commentators.

Telescope: The grieving
Thu, Dec 08, 2016

Jayalalithaa’s death overshadowed all else.

Telescope: Where the gods dazzle
Thu, Dec 01, 2016

For a pop culture expression of resurgent Hinduism, turn to Hindi channels.

Telescope: A battle on two fronts
Thu, Nov 24, 2016

Along with demonetisation, PM’s absence from Parliament is now an issue.

Telescope: Day and night
Thu, Nov 17, 2016

Evening debates applaud PM’s money move, daytime reports capture queues.

Telescope: The telegenic Mr Trump
Thu, Nov 10, 2016

He is a TV natural, speaking in a way the average person can identify with.

Telescope: Shades of grey
Thu, Nov 03, 2016

Delhi’s air cast a gloomy pall. Bhopal’s ‘encounter’ deepened the haze.

Telescope: News without noise
Thu, Oct 27, 2016

What general news channels could learn from business news anchors

Telescope: Mosquitoes cross the LoC
Thu, Oct 20, 2016

When Manju became an unsung warrior in a proxy war against the nation

Telescope: The ironic defence of Cyril Almeida
Fri, Oct 14, 2016

Channels outraged over the Pakistani journalist, chose not to reflect within.

Telescope: Prime-time bullies
Thu, Oct 06, 2016

Freedom to hold contrary views seems disallowed in this moment.