Thursday, Mar 05, 2015
Shailaja-Bajpai01

Shailaja Bajpai

Shailaja Bajpai is Director (Academics) at Express Institute of Media Studies (EXIMS). She has been writing about television since 1984. "Far too long," in her own words. But she has also watched it change, grow, grow and grow into what is today... the elephant in the room and any conversation on any subject. In her case, it would be true to say that you have to pay her to watch television! She also supervises the EXIMS, the Express Group's post-graduate journalism programme.

Tele scope: Moving eastward
Thu, Mar 05, 2015

In television entertainment, it is goodbye Viranis, hello Shuklas and Mathurs.

Tele scope: Once again
Thu, Feb 26, 2015

Anna Hazare and Arvind Kejriwal rolled back the years with a return to protests, and TVs.

Telescope: ‘Blowing off’ Pakistan
Thu, Feb 19, 2015

From coast to coast, that’s what India appears to have been doing of late.

Tele Scope: When people speak
Thu, Feb 12, 2015

When people speak... parties and news anchors are forced to eat their own words.

Tele Scope: Losing her voice
Thu, Feb 05, 2015

A coy Kiran Bedi makes Arvind Kejriwal sound almost statesmanlike.

Tele scope: The NamObama show
Thu, Jan 29, 2015

It was non-stop. And everyone watched radio.

Tele scope: The Delhi debate
Thu, Jan 22, 2015

Bedi and Kejriwal have still to come face to face, but it’s a face-off

Who’s keeping count?
Thu, Jan 15, 2015

Once the date for the Delhi polls was announced, TV played number cruncher.

TeleSCOPE: Showman of the year
Thu, Jan 01, 2015

In 2014, television was dominated by one person. Will 2015 be different?

Telescope: Those were the days
Thu, Dec 25, 2014

The Bharat Ratna announcement sent news channels on a nostalgia trip

Telescope: And may the loudest win
Thu, Dec 11, 2014

Sangh Parivar stirs up controversy, and free-for-alls on TV.

TV’s bravehearts
Thu, Dec 04, 2014

The Rohtak sisters’ videos provoked much anger — and some questions.

Tele scope: Marathon PM
Thu, Nov 27, 2014

His hectic schedule makes it difficult for us to keep up with him — or anyone else

Hijinks in Hisar
Thu, Nov 20, 2014

Noise of the ashram standoff drowned out other news makers, including the prime minister.

Telescope: Modi on the move
Thu, Nov 13, 2014

News channels get dizzy as PM travels.

No aid from anganwadi, malnutrition claims baby just 75 km from financial capital
Mon, Nov 10, 2014

Weighing 5.5 kg, 16-month-old Aliya died following ‘complete neglect’, no vaccination

The award goes to
Thu, Nov 06, 2014

Robert Vadra’s turn as himself was exceptional.

Selfies with the PM
Thu, Oct 30, 2014

And Modi looks different each time we see him.

Polled into exhaustion
Thu, Oct 23, 2014

Partly due to election fatigue, TV news’ coverage of the assembly election results was less than riveting.

Looking it in the eye
Thu, Oct 16, 2014

TV channels competed to provide edgy coverage of Cyclone Hudhud.

On the poll trip
Thu, Oct 09, 2014

From Bhiwani to Bhiwandi, TV channels are riding pillion with political leaders.

Just like a promo
Thu, Oct 02, 2014

That’s how TV news covered the prime minister’s US visit.

Windswept in NYC
Fri, Sep 26, 2014

Modi goes to the US. ‘Bigg Boss’ contestants board a flight to nowhere.

Stumped by bypolls
Thu, Sep 18, 2014

Congress leader Sachin Pilot was looking positively happy after his party cornered three seats in Rajasthan.

Disaster frames
Thu, Sep 11, 2014

And some bad-tempered television over a sting operation.

Modinama on DD
Thu, Sep 04, 2014

Has the public broadcaster said a big ‘thank you’ to the PM?

Reverse swing
Thu, Aug 28, 2014

The recent bypolls brought out the cricketing metaphors.

Live from Mathura
Thu, Aug 21, 2014

Janmashtami was on our screens this week. Will other Hindu festivals follow?

Counting down to the speech
Thu, Aug 14, 2014

Meanwhile, Vidya Balan and the government are trying to toilet train the nation.

Mr Modi goes to temple
Thu, Aug 07, 2014

And a TV show that ventured outside the home draws to an unlamented close.

All in the parivar
Thu, Jul 24, 2014

Most Hindi serials fail to reflect political and social upheavals outside the home.

Framing Mr Vaidik
Thu, Jul 17, 2014

And the Big B is back on the small screen.

Flat like old soda
Thu, Jul 10, 2014

Since the BJP came to power, news channels have lost their fizz.

Telescope: Border crossings
Thu, Jul 03, 2014

Pakistani serials have familiar themes, but greater subtlety.

Playing ball
Thu, Jun 19, 2014

Politics has taken a backseat. It’s time to be a sport.

Power hungry
Thu, Jun 12, 2014

Viewers without electricity were spared the spectacle of the BJP, Congress and AAP in AC studios, blowing hot air.