shailaja

Shailaja Bajpai

Shailaja Bajpai is Director (Academics) at Express Institute of Media Studies (EXIMS). She has been writing about television since 1984. "Far too long," in her own words. But she has also watched it change, grow, grow and grow into what is today... the elephant in the room and any conversation on any subject. In her case, it would be true to say that you have to pay her to watch television! She also supervises the EXIMS, the Express Group's post-graduate journalism programme.

TeleScope: Protest TV
Thu, Aug 27, 2015

The Anna movement inaugurated a new era.

Telescope: Speaking of speeches
Thu, Aug 20, 2015

PM’s oratory is masterful. But a little brevity might help him communicate better

When MPs embarrass their kin
Thu, Aug 13, 2015

Why didn’t LSTV and RSTV (Rajya Sabha TV) telecast the disorderly conduct throughout the session?

Desultory at DD
Thu, Aug 06, 2015

Doordarshan’s ratings reflect the lack of energy and innovation in its programming.

Telescope: Playing catch up
Thu, Jul 30, 2015

This week, TV was overtaken by news.

Telescope: Our daily outrage
Thu, Jul 23, 2015

Participants on general news channels behave like grizzlies with high blood pressure. Business channels are an oasis of calm.

Telescope: In a corner
Thu, Jul 02, 2015

Lalit Modi may have driven a wedge between Modi government, its viewers

What’s Ails TV? The Nation Wants to Know Much More
Sat, Jun 27, 2015

Nalin Mehta’s well-researched book bemoans a lack of vision and blames economic compulsions, but is much too kind to those running the industry .

Food, scams, non-sequiturs
Thu, Jun 25, 2015

While ‘Lalitgate’ flares, prices in Parliament canteen raise heckles.

Frame by Frame: A side of PM never screened before, colleagues on one leg to match him
Mon, Jun 22, 2015

At Rajpath, Modi’s ministerial colleagues were few and far between as senior cabinet members stood on one foot in various state capitals of India and the world.

The other Modi
Thu, Jun 18, 2015

The Sushma Swaraj-Lalit Modi affair holds television captive.

News and circus
Thu, Jun 11, 2015

A channel is rebranded. And there’s no escaping yoga or AAP.

Telescope: The Modi hardsell
Thu, May 28, 2015

If TV polls are correct on public appreciation of the PM’s performance, then why is the BJP preaching to the converted?

Telescope: Here, there, everywhere
Thu, May 21, 2015

Since last year, even when the PM travels, he is just a remote control button away.

Mom, relax
Thu, May 14, 2015

Rahul is live on television and clearly enjoying himself, so what if he sounds a little repetitive.

Telescope: Breathless over Salman
Thu, May 07, 2015

TV news kept its promise to give viewers carpet coverage of the verdict, relegating all else.

Telescope: Quake and competition
Thu, Apr 30, 2015

The news channels’ efforts to convey the depth of human suffering in Nepal were buried by one-upmanship.

Tele Scope: Seen and heard, again and again
Thu, Apr 23, 2015

News TV is relishing Rahul Gandhi’s return and his face-off with the government in Parliament.

Tele scope: Follow the PM Narendra Modi
Thu, Apr 16, 2015

Otherwise, TV news is insular, uninterested in the world.

TeleScope: Beyond cricket
Thu, Apr 09, 2015

Arvind Kejriwal looked sunny. And Partition is revisited from across the border.

TeleScope: Aam Aadmi Party [Live]
Thu, Apr 02, 2015

We watched the party implode. It wasn’t a pretty sight.

TeleScope: All in the game
Wed, Mar 25, 2015

World Cup has taken over TV — if we’re not watching it, news channels are talking about it.

Tele Scope: Hooked to the telly
Thu, Mar 19, 2015

What is it that we gain from listening to the likes of Abhishek Manu Singhvi (Congress) and Sambit Patra (BJP) discussing Sonia Gandhi’s birthmark?

SC declares playing cards to be a physical sport, an inveterate bridge player celebrates
Sun, Mar 15, 2015

To be a card player you need to be more than a sportsperson. You need to be a sport.

Tele scope: Moving eastward
Thu, Mar 05, 2015

In television entertainment, it is goodbye Viranis, hello Shuklas and Mathurs.

Tele scope: Once again
Thu, Feb 26, 2015

Anna Hazare and Arvind Kejriwal rolled back the years with a return to protests, and TVs.

Telescope: ‘Blowing off’ Pakistan
Thu, Feb 19, 2015

From coast to coast, that’s what India appears to have been doing of late.

Tele Scope: When people speak
Thu, Feb 12, 2015

When people speak... parties and news anchors are forced to eat their own words.

Tele Scope: Losing her voice
Thu, Feb 05, 2015

A coy Kiran Bedi makes Arvind Kejriwal sound almost statesmanlike.

Tele scope: The NamObama show
Thu, Jan 29, 2015

It was non-stop. And everyone watched radio.

Tele scope: The Delhi debate
Thu, Jan 22, 2015

Bedi and Kejriwal have still to come face to face, but it’s a face-off

Who’s keeping count?
Thu, Jan 15, 2015

Once the date for the Delhi polls was announced, TV played number cruncher.

TeleSCOPE: Showman of the year
Thu, Jan 01, 2015

In 2014, television was dominated by one person. Will 2015 be different?

Telescope: Those were the days
Thu, Dec 25, 2014

The Bharat Ratna announcement sent news channels on a nostalgia trip

Telescope: And may the loudest win
Thu, Dec 11, 2014

Sangh Parivar stirs up controversy, and free-for-alls on TV.

TV’s bravehearts
Thu, Dec 04, 2014

The Rohtak sisters’ videos provoked much anger — and some questions.