Thursday, Mar 05, 2015
Pratik-Kanjilal03

Pratik Kanjilal

The writer is Associate Editor.

Breaking Down News: The words this week
Sat, Feb 28, 2015

From Rahul Gandhi’s ‘sabbatical’ to budget news.

A book that judges you: Introducing the world’s first temperamental volume
Sun, Feb 15, 2015

Technology has made it easy to play with books. But what do you do with a volume that decides if it wants to be read or not?

What Makes Us Sapiens?
Sat, Feb 14, 2015

Did plants enslave humans in the agricultural revolution? Yuval Noah Harari uses such contrary theses to undermine the traditional account of human history.

Breaking Down News: The Biggest Breach
Sat, Feb 14, 2015

The muffler has strangled the BJP in Delhi.

Breaking down news: All India Brouhaha
Sat, Feb 07, 2015

With a roast that garnered 8 million YouTube views before it was taken down, will insult comedy have the last laugh?

Mark Zuckerberg’s latest pitch highlights how nature of publishing has changed radically
Sun, Feb 01, 2015

Where exactly is someone like Zuckerberg located in this game? Is he part of the crowd or elevated above it?

Breaking Down News: Open Secret
Sat, Jan 31, 2015

Only friends and allies change, and there is nothing new in geopolitics.

A Short History of Reading: David Davidar’s anthology of Indian stories
Sun, Jan 18, 2015

David Davidar’s anthology of Indian stories is a mix of the predictable and surprising.

James Watson sold his Nobel medal for science but charity can’t retrieve his scientific reputation
Sun, Jan 04, 2015

James Watson, one of the co-discoverers of the structure of DNA, sold his Nobel medal to raise money for science, and for himself. But charity can’t retrieve his scientific reputation.

Breaking Down News: The Year That Was
Sat, Dec 27, 2014

In 2014, the FIFA World Cup triggered the most conversations. Ebola, Robin Williams, the ice bucket challenge and Malaysia Airlines figured prominently

That Old E-Book Smell
Sat, Dec 27, 2014

The anxiety about ink on paper losing ground to pixels on screens had just kicked in.

The Lucknow Boy Returns
Sat, Dec 20, 2014

In the sequel to his autobiography, Vinod Mehta brings the world of the media to life with a refreshing lack of tact

ISRO GSLV launch: Breaking down news, the media coverage and preoccupation
Mon, Dec 22, 2014

Times Now, CNN-IBN, IBN7, NDTV, Headlines Today and Live India followed the event closely, using Doordarshan’s footage from Sriharikota.

Breaking down news: To Be or Not To Be
Sat, Dec 13, 2014

When conversion is in the reverse direction, it’s a homecoming, a wapasi to a prior and authentic state

In Fairy tales at Fifty, Upamanyu Chatterjee serves up characters who are cruel and vile
Sun, Dec 07, 2014

Fairy Tales at Fifty leads with the story of the pauper, Angulimala, a young runaway constantly in need of sexual conquest, which is incomplete if it does not end in murder.

Breaking down News: Bamboos of the Gods
Sat, Dec 06, 2014

Political histrionics and the case for ancient India’s scientific achievements

Breaking down news: Sites of Change
Sat, Nov 29, 2014

Technology is set to alter the human discourse and it’s billed as progress

Leila Seth’s new book talks of the need for speedy justice
Sun, Nov 23, 2014

Justice Leila Seth’s new collection of essays gently reminds that urgency was not a stranger to the UPA.

Breaking Down News: Code Masala
Sat, Nov 22, 2014

The Lutyens channels on Twitter are about fun and games, not news

Robert Serious, Come Quick
Sat, Nov 08, 2014

In the lull before Modi’s Varanasi visit, Vadra struck.

Breaking down news: Hands up
Sat, Nov 01, 2014

Black money has left everyone red in the face

Stacking the Odds: When was the last time the bookies got the Nobel right?
Sun, Oct 26, 2014

The last time the bookies got the Nobel right was in 2006 when Turkish writer Orhan Pamuk won.

Season’s Greetings
Sat, Oct 25, 2014

This Diwali, the PM went up north. Not since George Fernandes has a leader attracted so much attention with a Siachen visit.

Stormy Weather
Sat, Oct 18, 2014

With Hudhud failing to strike as hard as predicted, TV channels scrambled from coast to coast looking for a scoop.

Mirror Image
Sat, Oct 11, 2014

Indo-Pak conflict: Never before have civilians been targeted so aggressively.

Aye captain, nay Captain: In book publishing, piracy is still rampant
Sun, Oct 05, 2014

There’s a variety of devices and channels in the market, but piracy is still rampant, and it is accepted — by everyone other than publishers — as part of the landscape.

Cleanliness is Godliness?
Sat, Oct 04, 2014

From Madison Square Garden to Mandir Marg, Narendra Modi has made a clean sweep.

More Bizarre Than Usual
Sat, Sep 27, 2014

On TV, this was Narendra Modi Week, starting in Mars orbit and ending in NYC.

The Nation is Watching. So What?
Sat, Sep 20, 2014

Kolkata, police entered the campus of Jadavpur University and beat up students protesting for the safety of women.

Book review: Naseeruddin Shah’s autobiography is all about drugs, sex and acting
Wed, Sep 17, 2014

Naseeruddin Shah’s memoir is a blisteringly honest account of his life and the foibles of the creative community.

Inundated
Sat, Sep 13, 2014

All of Kashmir is swarming with intrepid reporters.

EP Unny’s The Making of Fort Kochi is an easy to read history book
Sun, Sep 07, 2014

An ancient Greek text writes about a flourishing trade between Malabar and Europe in the time of Christ.

To Sir With…
Fri, Sep 05, 2014

The prime minister’s speech caps 100 days of the NDA government but how rehearsed was the Q&A?

What’s the Flight Plan?
Sat, Aug 30, 2014

On love jihad and the failure of airline journalism.

Book Review
U R Ananthamurthy: Against the Current
Mon, Aug 25, 2014

Pattabhi Rama Reddy’s rendering of Samskara launched the parallel cinema in Kannada.

Feeding Frenzy
Sat, Aug 23, 2014

The media is on a fairly strict, leak-free diet that puts an edge on hunger.