Tuesday, Sep 30, 2014
Pratik-Kanjilal03

Pratik Kanjilal

More Bizarre Than Usual
Sat, Sep 27, 2014

On TV, this was Narendra Modi Week, starting in Mars orbit and ending in NYC.

The Nation is Watching. So What?
Sat, Sep 20, 2014

Kolkata, police entered the campus of Jadavpur University and beat up students protesting for the safety of women.

Book review: Naseeruddin Shah’s autobiography is all about drugs, sex and acting
Wed, Sep 17, 2014

Naseeruddin Shah’s memoir is a blisteringly honest account of his life and the foibles of the creative community.

Inundated
Sat, Sep 13, 2014

All of Kashmir is swarming with intrepid reporters.

EP Unny’s The Making of Fort Kochi is an easy to read history book
Sun, Sep 07, 2014

An ancient Greek text writes about a flourishing trade between Malabar and Europe in the time of Christ.

To Sir With…
Fri, Sep 05, 2014

The prime minister’s speech caps 100 days of the NDA government but how rehearsed was the Q&A?

What’s the Flight Plan?
Sat, Aug 30, 2014

On love jihad and the failure of airline journalism.

Book Review
U R Ananthamurthy: Against the Current
Mon, Aug 25, 2014

Pattabhi Rama Reddy’s rendering of Samskara launched the parallel cinema in Kannada.

Feeding Frenzy
Sat, Aug 23, 2014

The media is on a fairly strict, leak-free diet that puts an edge on hunger.

Labour Pains: The debate around workers and their rights in India
Sun, Aug 17, 2014

It is like India’s clock stopped in the 1960s, and even liberalisation was the echo of a chime from long ago.

Shelflite: Overwhelming Yuddham
Sat, Aug 16, 2014

Book: Odayan: Yuddham Authors: Suhas Sundar and Deepak Sharma Publishers: Pop Culture Publishing Pages: 92 Price: Rs 200 One of the joys of reading Suhas Sundar and Deepak Sharma’s sequel to Odayan, Yuddham, is the Kalaripayattu sequence between the protagonist, the anti-hero Odayan, and the man who hunts him, the assassin Ambuttan. In a revenge […]

Breaking down News: Dial P for Promise
Sat, Aug 16, 2014

When Mr Disintermediation chose to make direct contact with the audience, with no bulletproof glass or TV journalists intervening.

Listen to the Shahar
Sat, Aug 09, 2014

The city is a big, noisy place, and what began as a single-volume anthology has burgeoned into two.

Call of the Wild: The idea of India pervades the writings of Hugh Allen and Jim Corbett
Wed, Sep 17, 2014

Rupa Rainlight has reissued The Lonely Tiger (1960), the solitary book of Hugh Allen, David Davidar’s favourite shikar writer.

Conspiracy Theories
Sat, Jul 26, 2014

From airstrikes to airplane tragedies, newsrooms are inviting experts, if only to thram them.

Raise a Toast
Sat, Jul 19, 2014

When media goofs up, it looks silly but real life blunders can be in deadly earnest.

The Colour of Money: How does a financial system driven by Islamic scholars work?
Wed, Sep 17, 2014

Harris Irfan’s Heaven's Bankers (Constable & Robinson) is the first inside job on the rather opaque world of Islamic, Sharia-compliant finance.

The Gaga Newsreel
Sat, Jul 12, 2014

Housewives wanted stable market prices as always, one of them thought of the kitchens of the poor.

Trading @ Lightspeed
Sat, Jul 05, 2014

High frequency trading should be illegal, believes Michael Lewis. Ironically, it was born out of market regulation

The Surprise Package
Sat, Jul 05, 2014

In which Modi speaks English, Sai Baba is declared Muslim and Tapas Pal becomes world infamous in India.

Truth is History
Sun, Jun 29, 2014

All nationalist projects use selective readings of the past to justify current popular prejudices.

The Android Newscaster
Sat, Jun 28, 2014

There’s nothing exclusively human about humour any more.

Speaking easy
Mon, Jun 23, 2014

Why most Indians are likely to shrug off government attempts to impose Hindi.

It’s a Tough Draw
Sat, Jun 21, 2014

In which the football World Cup threatens to eclipse the biggest stories but is thwarted by the ISIS crisis

Sukumari Bhattacharji: Marxist, Atheist, Sanskritist
Sun, Jun 15, 2014

The woman who used Sanskrit as the key to understanding ancient India rationally and scientifically.

Breaking Down News: The Foreign Hand
Sat, Jun 14, 2014

An IB report about NGOs can bring out the best in print journalism and the worst on the airwaves.

Breaking Down News: Lame Excuses
Sat, Jun 07, 2014

Political parties are yet to understand that personal security has become a zero-tolerance issue.

Stirring Plans
Sat, May 31, 2014

Just a week in office and they start announcing crowd-pleasing decisions.

Speakeasy: History Rewrites Itself
Sun, May 25, 2014

If you want to arrive at an impossibly simplified account of Indianness, just hit rewind.

The New Player in Politics
Fri, May 23, 2014

If gambling were legal, speculation over ministry allocation on TV could have generated huge revenues.

3D TsuNaMo
Sat, May 17, 2014

And elsewhere, all smiles, the Congress will still take no questions.

Once Upon a Monsoon
Sun, May 11, 2014

Remembering Marguerite Duras, a filmmaker who made poetry visible.

Breaking Down News: Epic Stage
Sat, May 10, 2014

Varanasi looks like a Mahabharata set as the battle between Modi and Kejriwal plays out.

The Ghosts in the Water
Sun, Apr 27, 2014

The epitaphs of the Spoon River Anthology pioneered a new way of doing subaltern literature, much before the term was coined.

The Big Story
Fri, Apr 25, 2014

TV just had to cover the huge roadshow in Varanasi as Modi travelled to the collectorate.

Eye Magazine
Speakeasy: When the Money Runs Out
Sat, Apr 12, 2014

As an anthropologist, Graeber looked at material that economists usually do not, such as the history of cultures.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,076 other followers