Monday, Oct 20, 2014
MINI-KAPOOR-02

Mini Kapoor

The Jury is Out: What agenda do book prizes serve?
Sun, Jul 20, 2014

In his comic novel, Lost for Words, the much shortlisted and awarded Edward St Aubyn draws a profile of a jury that cannot but bring to mind parallels with the Man Booker Prize.

Ulysses and the revolutions it set off in literature
Sun, Jul 06, 2014

The publishing history of Ulysses reminds us that what makes Joyce’s book difficult is a facet of what makes it liberating.

What is it about football that enriches us
Sun, Jun 22, 2014

With the football alone, you may not be able to fully comprehend the “moments of grace” in the stadiums of Brazil.

The Unknown Truth
Sat, Jun 21, 2014

A debut novel of great beauty that reveals its brilliance upon each reading

Must read: the edible atlas that celebrates everyday food
Sun, Jun 01, 2014

What a cuisine tells you about its provenance.

How to distil a mandate
Sat, May 31, 2014

We need to talk about what needs to change, and what doesn’t, about our electoral system

That space of hush and chatter
Fri, May 23, 2014

K.D. Singh ran a bookshop that allowed and nurtured the discovery of books.

Top of the mind: Whose Beautiful Game?
Sun, May 18, 2014

This summer in Brazil, keep an eye out for the message from beyond the field of play, in the stands and on the streets.

Top of the Mind: Sherpas and the Summit
Sat, May 03, 2014

The Everest story must be re-assessed to give Sherpas their due — because they are there.

Rehabilitating T20
Wed, Apr 16, 2014

India has to square up to the full breadth of its influence on cricket. IPL 2014 is the place to begin.

More than the sum of its runs
Thu, Jan 09, 2014

For the Test to fulfil its potential for great cricket,teams must be given more time to prepare.

Well Played,Mate
Sat, Dec 21, 2013

Ricky Ponting’s straight-talking account offers a glimpse into the mind of a great sportsperson.

A Perfect Match
Sun, Dec 15, 2013

A new anthology of cricket writings shows how each spectator’s reading of the game gives cricket its special place.

The none of the above party
Wed, Dec 11, 2013

The interesting question is: how will a party born of a protest movement that claimed to be free of party politics and politicians now transact power?

The Bookstores are Not Dead
Sun, Dec 01, 2013

After all,where else can you browse?

Talking across the aisles
Sat, Nov 23, 2013

Legislatures across the world have become arenas of partisan deadlock.

Tipping Point
Sat, Nov 16, 2013

Malcolm Gladwell's latest book is a disjointed rehash of already-learnt life lessons.

Top of the mind: Joining the Dots
Sun, Nov 10, 2013

Guess what? We may be smarter than we had thought.

Top of the mind. How’s That
Sun, Oct 27, 2013

This winter,grab a reminder of cricket’s long arc in the West Indies.

Sachin’s next innings
Fri, Oct 11, 2013

After a great playing career,he still has some dues to pay to cricket.

The power of negative voting
Sat, Sep 28, 2013

'None of the above' could introduce new ways of gaming ballot and bring about surprising outcomes.

A new Iran-America moment
Mon, Sep 23, 2013

The question is: will both leaders step up to it?

Show and Tell
Sat, Sep 07, 2013

There’s more to the story in this debut novel about a dysfunctional family than its eccentric characters.

First Drafts of History
Sun, Aug 18, 2013

What is the secret of detecting world-changing events?

The meaning of Tahrir
Sat, Aug 17, 2013

It is now a reference for a flawed,dangerous but ever popular inclination.

And then there’s IPL
Wed, Jul 31, 2013

The T20 must no more be allowed to remain a self-contained confection

Game Changer
Sun, Jul 21, 2013

James Astill’s new book throws into sharp relief the polarised universe created by the IPL and how it has affected the way India engages with cricket

Rearranging the bookshelf
Sat, Jul 20, 2013

As technology changes,readers are best served by a mix of old and new players

Winning Shots
Sun, Jul 07, 2013

On Wimbledon’s big day,a reminder of an extraordinary golden age

Artist of the Great Divide
Sat, Jul 06, 2013

A new biography connects Saadat Hasan Manto’s life and work to the tumult of Partition

Brazil is not being a bad sport
Sat, Jun 29, 2013

Global sport administrators like FIFA or IOC have little connect with the host country’s lived realities

When Pico Iyer Delivered Letters from Cuba
Sun, Jun 23, 2013

The best travel writing this summer

Power of the Unspoken
Sun, Jun 09, 2013

Amos Oz’s Between Friends,negotiates change,both in its structure and its content

Why cricket should apply to the Olympics
Mon, Jun 03, 2013

The game needs an external measure to recover its equilibrium

Playing Favourites
Sun, May 26, 2013

The reasons for loving a book are many,and change with time.

It’s cricket
Wed, May 22, 2013

T20 must be taken seriously,it cannot be dismissed as a seasonal affliction

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,272 other followers