Leher Kala

On the Loose: Lease of Life
Mon, Mar 05, 2018

It’s crucial to read between the lines of insurance policies

On the Loose: Chic To Shock
Tue, Feb 27, 2018

Awards can gloss over and obfuscate reality

Paradise Lost
Mon, Feb 19, 2018

Sardesai’s impassioned speech, full of loathing for North Indians and what they’re doing to Goa, conjures a picture of an invasion of dodgy khap panchayats, and black SUV driving opportunists.

Blame Game
Mon, Feb 12, 2018

Post Edward Snowden and Julian Assange, there has been a positive shift in attitudes towards whistleblowing, yet it carries a strong negative connotation. Nobody likes a snitch. In India, especially, whistleblowers tend to end up badly.

On the Loose: Fake Jobs
Mon, Feb 05, 2018

(Not) getting paid to do what you love

On the Loose: Tools of Resistance
Wed, Jan 31, 2018

Traditions offer comfort and in a chaotic world, we search for an order that makes sense to us. The problem of questioning our belief systems means completely shedding our prejudices, hard for a society that has always been drowning in superstition.

Off the Leash
Sat, Jan 27, 2018

Eating out with your wet-nosed companion

Only Not Lonely: Every society has its issues
Mon, Jan 22, 2018

In India we are somewhat better equipped to handle loneliness. Maybe because there are so very many of us and the entourage culture of brothers, sisters, cousins, aunts and uncles is still thriving.

On the loose: White noise
Mon, Jan 15, 2018

No doubt, in this age of polarisation the news is extremely stressful. Life is painful enough without cluttering your mind with the world’s problems early in the morning. On an individual level, one can do nothing about them anyway

On the Loose: Side Effects
Mon, Jan 08, 2018

Students don’t need cell phones in schools

Patriot Games: Being Indian, as well as everything else
Tue, Jan 02, 2018

If the benchmark of a good citizen is paying your taxes and following the laws of the land, how and where we choose to spend our private income should be just that, private.

On the loose: Toll tale
Sun, Jan 14, 2018

Doing what’s right can have several interpretations

On the Loose: Cards Apart
Mon, Dec 11, 2017

The romance of greeting cards

On the loose: Burden of Innocence
Mon, Dec 04, 2017

It is, perhaps, human nature to believe the worst about other people. The price of a wrongful conviction goes well beyond one man’s loss of freedom. Labels, especially those brandishing ‘child killer’ or ‘molester’ are impossible to shake off.

On the Loose: Good God
Mon, Nov 27, 2017

There’s no cure for the cancer of stupidity

On the loose: True lies
Tue, Nov 21, 2017

Loosely based on a survivor’s book it tells the story of a father who tries to keep his young son’s spirits up by pretending the concentration camp is just a game.

Misplaced expectation of entitlement – and a total disregard for rules which is uniquely Indian
Mon, Nov 13, 2017

The final nail in Indigo’s proverbial coffin is the video of their ground staff manhandling a passenger, who had disembarked at the Delhi airport. After it became prime time news on TV, Indigo apologised and has taken action against the staff.

On the Loose: Trivial Pursuit
Mon, Nov 06, 2017

The sharp clamour of criticism

On the Loose: Old But Bold
Mon, Oct 30, 2017

Age doesn’t make everyone weary

You Too: The Power of a Hashtag
Mon, Oct 23, 2017

The power of the shared experience — through your harrowing story I see my own — has been profoundly cathartic