Thursday, Mar 05, 2015
Harsha

Harsha Bhogle

Once upon a time a chemical engineer and management graduate, now cricket and motivational speaking my calling!

Of Pakistan’s lone bread-winner and English pianists in a rock show
Wed, Mar 04, 2015

At WC, teams have worries; Pak with batting, SA with balance, WI with consistency and Eng, with approach.

World Cup 2015: Saying ‘yes’ defines Ajinkya Rahane the way it did Rahul Dravid
Wed, Feb 25, 2015

In all formats of the international game, Ajinkya Rahane has established himself as a star to reckon with.

World Cup 2015: Surprised by Pakistan’s lack of fizz, energy and decisive action
Wed, Feb 18, 2015

This was by some distance the weakest team I have seen from Pakistan.

World Cup 2015: On Sunday, Pakistan will fear India more than other way round
Thu, Feb 12, 2015

Even with the woeful form they have displayed recently, India will begin favourites, writes Harsha Bhogle.

In his own style, Ajinkya Rahane must complement Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni at World Cup 2015
Thu, Feb 05, 2015

Alongside MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane’s form will be key for the defending champions.

Virat Kohli is better off walking in at 20/1 than 30/2
Wed, Jan 28, 2015

Virat Kohli smashed four centuries in as many Tests in Australia recently.

At this ICC Cricket World Cup, let bat and ball do all the talking
Sun, Feb 01, 2015

Cricket is wonderfully nuanced already without needing to surrender to such unhealthy spice, writes Harsha Bhogle.

India’s overseas bowling is not a worry, it is an emergency
Thu, Jan 15, 2015

Ishant Sharma's bowling at Lord’s was the sole high point for India last year.

2015 World Cup squad: Despite a glaring weakness, best possible India team has been picked
Sun, Feb 01, 2015

The selectors would have liked a few more fast bowling options but the truth is they don’t exist!.

What Dhoni achieved goes way beyond numbers
Thu, Jan 01, 2015

He told young small-town Indians that they could conquer the cricket world

India tour of Australia: India are blowing hot & blowing cold, simultaneously
Tue, Dec 23, 2014

Aaron with the ball and Kohli in the slips are good indicators of why India are where they are.

India tour of Australia: If there is indeed a ‘zone’ in sport, then Virat Kohli is in it
Wed, Dec 17, 2014

The twin hundreds in Adelaide gave birth to a great Test cricketer in Virat Kohli, writes Harsha Bhogle.

India tour of Australia: At Adelaide, not just another regular day in the office
Wed, Dec 10, 2014

You didn’t think you would ever see an Aussie cricketer expose his softer side on a cricket field. But they did it on Tuesday.

Cricket must return to refresh and invigorate us
Fri, Dec 05, 2014

If India have played too little cricket to be prepared, Australia have seen too much sadness to be prepared.

An inconvenient question for all to answer
Wed, Nov 26, 2014

There will be fear but also the awareness that there is a larger purpose to life than sport.

Missing Virender Sehwag
Thu, Nov 20, 2014

At his best, he took you on a joyride, laughing while you held on to your seat, writes Harsha Bhogle.

Sending a jumbo squad has its side-effects too
Thu, Nov 13, 2014

Karn Sharma over the experienced Amit Mishra is a good selection as he is quicker through the air, writes Bhogle.

Book review: Sachin Tendulkar’s autobiography is an engaging portrait of the Little Master
Mon, Nov 10, 2014

It’s not as explosive as his batting, but Tendulkar’s autobiography is an engaging portrait of the Little Master and the sport that became his life

Series against depleted Sri Lanka not ideal test for India
Thu, Oct 30, 2014

A good performance against the depleted Sri Lankan attack must not be hyped, feels Harsha Bhogle.

India, Australia must help set West Indies house in order
Sat, Oct 25, 2014

Dwayne Bravo arrived at the toss at the Dharamsala one-dayer with the entire team in a show of both solidarity and protest.

India, Australia must take the initiative to set West Indies house in order
Fri, Oct 24, 2014

Rest of the world cannot help make WI a better cricket team, but they can help them manage their administration better.

Understanding KP and how to manage mavericks
Fri, Oct 17, 2014

If another Pietersen does come by, I would be interested in seeing how Eng handle him, writes Harsha Bhogle.

India need to find solutions at top and tail of the bowling
Fri, Oct 10, 2014

The new ball is the bigger issue. India get wickets slower than most other top teams, writes Harsha Bhogle.

Mary Kom has shown India is not a single-sport country
Thu, Oct 02, 2014

Harsha Bhogle believes the time is right for India to move strongly towards becoming a multi-sport nation.

ICC flexes its arm, spinners lose theirs
Fri, Sep 26, 2014

If the spinners are still doing all right it is because they have to be cleverer than the batsmen; it is the old survivor’s instinct.

The art of storytelling in cricket needs to be revived
Thu, Sep 18, 2014

Television struggles because there is simply not enough time because of necessary commercial requirements.

British Asians let themselves down by booing Moeen Ali
Thu, Sep 11, 2014

I was in the commentary box and so didn’t hear what was said, but if it was indeed racial, writes Harsha Bhogle.

Do you, Team India, really like playing Tests?
Fri, Sep 05, 2014

After a 3-1 drubbing at the hands of England, questions have been raised about India's Test match performances.

For 2015 World Cup, selectors will have to do a balancing act
Sat, Aug 30, 2014

Ishant Sharma should be one among the three pacers India will be looking to play the 2015 WC.

When England got their act together, India wilted under pressure
Wed, Aug 20, 2014

If this was tennis, score would have been 3-6, 6-0, 6-0, 6-0. England raised their game and won, writes Harsha Bhogle.

Cricket doesn’t need to ‘man up’, it needs to ‘gentleman up’
Thu, Aug 07, 2014

What nonsense this “manning up” is! Apart from everything else, it also suggests we are shallower half of world.

India’s woes multiply, but series wide open
Tue, Aug 05, 2014

India’s fast bowling and slip catching will be tested in the next couple of weeks, writes Harsha Bhogle.

What’s ailing England
Thu, Jul 24, 2014

England should have taken a decisive step ahead four times in Lord's Test, writes Harsha Bhogle.

India tour of England: Finding right balance difficult when there is a dearth of all-rounders
Thu, Jul 17, 2014

India’s last batsman capable of a bit of seam and swing was Sourav Ganguly, writes Harsha Bhogle.

India tour of England: Opportunity for young turks to build reputations
Wed, Jul 09, 2014

5 Tests in 41 days. The expression “Test cricket” will truly find its definition in England, writes Harsha Bhogle.

FIFA World Cup: Didier Deschamps’ France have shades of Ricky Ponting’s Australia
Fri, Jun 27, 2014

Some teams, very well-led teams, though can turn adversity into opportunity.