Friday, Oct 31, 2014
harsh

Harsha Bhogle

Series against depleted Sri Lanka not ideal test for India
Thu, Oct 30, 2014

A good performance against the depleted Sri Lankan attack must not be hyped, feels Harsha Bhogle.

India, Australia must help set West Indies house in order
Sat, Oct 25, 2014

Dwayne Bravo arrived at the toss at the Dharamsala one-dayer with the entire team in a show of both solidarity and protest.

India, Australia must take the initiative to set West Indies house in order
Fri, Oct 24, 2014

Rest of the world cannot help make WI a better cricket team, but they can help them manage their administration better.

Understanding KP and how to manage mavericks
Fri, Oct 17, 2014

If another Pietersen does come by, I would be interested in seeing how Eng handle him, writes Harsha Bhogle.

India need to find solutions at top and tail of the bowling
Fri, Oct 10, 2014

The new ball is the bigger issue. India get wickets slower than most other top teams, writes Harsha Bhogle.

Mary Kom has shown India is not a single-sport country
Thu, Oct 02, 2014

Harsha Bhogle believes the time is right for India to move strongly towards becoming a multi-sport nation.

ICC flexes its arm, spinners lose theirs
Fri, Sep 26, 2014

If the spinners are still doing all right it is because they have to be cleverer than the batsmen; it is the old survivor’s instinct.

The art of storytelling in cricket needs to be revived
Thu, Sep 18, 2014

Television struggles because there is simply not enough time because of necessary commercial requirements.

British Asians let themselves down by booing Moeen Ali
Thu, Sep 11, 2014

I was in the commentary box and so didn’t hear what was said, but if it was indeed racial, writes Harsha Bhogle.

Do you, Team India, really like playing Tests?
Fri, Sep 05, 2014

After a 3-1 drubbing at the hands of England, questions have been raised about India's Test match performances.

For 2015 World Cup, selectors will have to do a balancing act
Sat, Aug 30, 2014

Ishant Sharma should be one among the three pacers India will be looking to play the 2015 WC.

When England got their act together, India wilted under pressure
Wed, Aug 20, 2014

If this was tennis, score would have been 3-6, 6-0, 6-0, 6-0. England raised their game and won, writes Harsha Bhogle.

Cricket doesn’t need to ‘man up’, it needs to ‘gentleman up’
Thu, Aug 07, 2014

What nonsense this “manning up” is! Apart from everything else, it also suggests we are shallower half of world.

India’s woes multiply, but series wide open
Tue, Aug 05, 2014

India’s fast bowling and slip catching will be tested in the next couple of weeks, writes Harsha Bhogle.

What’s ailing England
Thu, Jul 24, 2014

England should have taken a decisive step ahead four times in Lord's Test, writes Harsha Bhogle.

India tour of England: Finding right balance difficult when there is a dearth of all-rounders
Thu, Jul 17, 2014

India’s last batsman capable of a bit of seam and swing was Sourav Ganguly, writes Harsha Bhogle.

India tour of England: Opportunity for young turks to build reputations
Wed, Jul 09, 2014

5 Tests in 41 days. The expression “Test cricket” will truly find its definition in England, writes Harsha Bhogle.

FIFA World Cup: Didier Deschamps’ France have shades of Ricky Ponting’s Australia
Fri, Jun 27, 2014

Some teams, very well-led teams, though can turn adversity into opportunity.

FIFA World Cup: Why Madrid’s Ronaldo is better than Portugal’s Ronaldo
Sat, Jun 21, 2014

There are stars at this World Cup playing at a level far above that of their current teammates.

Spain: Past their sell by date or good enough for one more final?
Thu, Jun 12, 2014

Spain won the previous edition of the World Cup which was held in South Africa.

IPL 7: India’s got talent
Wed, Jun 04, 2014

It was a challenging year for the IPL. From a cricketing point of view, it grew, writes Harsha Bhogle.

IPL 7: Intentional wide ball — where to draw the line?
Fri, May 30, 2014

In the MI vs RR game, there was a situation where a wide could have ensured qualification for Royals.

BCCI not trying hard enough
Fri, May 23, 2014

Five years ago I had said that fixing was the primary threat IPL needed to be vigilant against, writes Harsha Bhogle.

IPL 7: Not a bad idea to have a look at Sandeep Sharma in Bangladesh
Fri, May 16, 2014

The KXIP seamer has had an impressive run in the ongoing IPL tournament with 14 wickets under his belt.

IPL 7: Bred on T20, will Sanju Samson scale up to long-form cricket?
Fri, May 09, 2014

Samson will have to scale up to test cricket rather than adjust to T20 cricket.

IPL 7: But for IPL, Pravin Tambe and Yuzvendra Chahal would’ve been footnotes
Fri, May 02, 2014

They practice a fascinating art, they have been consigned to relative obscurity and they are lighting up IPL7.

IPL 7: Turning a ‘25 from 12’ No.6 into a No.3 who scores 95 from 43
Fri, Apr 25, 2014

Most teams have tended to play their Maxwell equivalents at numbers 6 or 7, they have made 25 from 10-12 balls.

Cricket must be the talking point this season
Fri, Apr 18, 2014

From a purely cricketing point of view the IPL is actually on the right path. For all that you might read in the papers, there is hardly a cricketer in the world who doesn’t want to be part of it.

Stage obscured by curtains
Wed, Apr 09, 2014

Yuvraj Singh was a treat to watch when he was going, but have we seen the last of him?

In T20 era, once-coveted ‘Test status’ well past sell-by date
Fri, Apr 04, 2014

T20 cricket opens up opportunities for teams who would never have been able to compete in test cricket.

ICC World Twenty20: Spin freaks represent new order in T20 bowling
Fri, Mar 28, 2014

You need more clever bowlers who can look at the batsman’s feet and make late adjustments.

ICC World Twenty20: Can’t remember another world cricket event as open as this one
Fri, Mar 21, 2014

So who is going to win it? I don’t know, I am just going to enjoy the cricket, writes Harsha Bhogle.

ICC World T20: Pitching for next-big-thing
Fri, Mar 14, 2014

Nature of Bangladesh’s wickets will play a key role in deciding champions of ICC World Twenty20.

India is a batting country, so the odd fast bowler may slip through
Sat, Mar 08, 2014

A couple of years ago India had Kohli and Umesh as two bright talents who we thought would go places.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni needs to give up certain responsibilities to stay fresh
Fri, Feb 28, 2014

I’m just surprised that Dhoni isn’t tired oftener given number of roles he plays in Indian team, writes Harsha Bhogle.

MS Dhoni, do you believe you can win abroad?
Fri, Feb 21, 2014

Losing overseas is now an epidemic and epidemics must call for tough measures, writes Harsha Bhogle.