Harsh Mander

Mander is a human rights worker and writer

Through a caravan, darkly
Sat, Nov 11, 2017

In its journey to the sites of lynchings across states, the Karwan-e-Mohabbat found a stark waning of compassion and solidarity

Usman Ansari, like Mohammad Akhlaq
Wed, Sep 20, 2017

Across the country, chilling replays of Dadri. And a long way to go before love or justice can prevail.

An antidote to hate
Tue, Aug 01, 2017

India has witnessed hate attacks in the past. What is new is the frequency and the normalisation of this lynching, in a growing aggressively majoritarian political and social environment.

Junaid, my son
Sat, Jul 01, 2017

So was he to those who travelled with him on the train that day. Yet they left him to die

Depriving JNU
Sat, Apr 22, 2017

More, not less, public money must be spent on inclusive education that encourages independent thinking

Spring is far behind
Sat, Mar 11, 2017

Government resolve to continue to use pellet guns against protesters in Kashmir is deeply troubling.

Unlike America
Sat, Feb 18, 2017

In India, voices of public protest against hate-mongering targeting Muslims have been far too muted and infrequent

Crisis of cashlessness
Sat, Dec 24, 2016

Demonetisation is hurting rural India, drying up wages, household supplies and food

Hardest hit, most invisible
Tue, Nov 29, 2016

Distress brought about by demonetisation is most for those who struggle each day to find poorly-paid work.

Not NHRC’s finest hour
Wed, Oct 05, 2016

Rather than fighting for those displaced by the Muzaffarnagar riots, it appears to be parroting majoritarian, communal stereotyping.

Muzaffarnagar, three years later
Wed, Sep 07, 2016

Those exiled from their villages have endured two bleak winters in makeshift camps. By the third year, this expulsion from their homelands has become permanent.

People of India have let down Irom Sharmila
Thu, Aug 11, 2016

In a rare interview, Irom Sharmila admitted that what she missed most desperately was simply being with people

A law against children
Fri, Jul 29, 2016

The amended act legalises the bulk of child labour while claiming to do the opposite.

The ghost of Malegaon
Thu, Jun 09, 2016

Hindutva terror is as grave a threat to the Indian people as Islamist terror. Both must entail impartial investigation and fair trials.

Unseeing the drought
Thu, May 05, 2016

The suffering of millions does not create public outrage, much less government accountability.

No jobs in sight
Thu, Apr 07, 2016

There is a mounting employment crisis in India. The current growth model, built on large private investments, cannot address the problem.

Can an Indian spring be far behind?
Fri, Mar 11, 2016

Rohith, Kanhaiya and Umar have a lesson for a divided country — about the paramount value of solidarity.

The invisible drought
Mon, Feb 08, 2016

We have turned our back to the intense food and drinking water distress across states

‘I feel there is no such thing as altruistic violence’
Fri, Jun 07, 2013

This relates to the National Interest article,‘The bleeding heartless’,by Shekhar Gupta (IE,June 1). In the article,it is mentioned that Padma