Christophe Jaffrelot

Christophe Jaffrelot is senior research fellow at CERI-Sciences Po/CNRS, Paris, professor of Indian Politics and Sociology at King's India Institute, London, and non-resident scholar at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.  He offers valuable insights on South Asian politics, particularly the methods and motivations of the Hindu right in India.

The picture after Doklam stand-off
Tue, Sep 12, 2017

Partnership with Japan could be the cornerstone of a coalition to take on China’s economic, military might.

It’s lonely on the ground
Mon, Sep 04, 2017

RTI Act needs to be protected against attempts to dilute it. RTI activists must be made less vulnerable

Reading PM Modi, through his speeches
Tue, Aug 15, 2017

In his Independence Day speeches, Narendra Modi has repeatedly used the words ‘sister’, ‘brother’ and ‘team’. The Prime Minister’s rhetorical technique is inherent in populism, a version of politics that crystallises when a leader tries to relate directly to ‘his’ nation, circumventing institutions in the worst-case scenarios.

Defenders of varna
Fri, Aug 04, 2017

Current forms of ambivalence on caste have a long history

Beyond Rashtrapati Bhawan
Fri, Jul 14, 2017

A Dalit will be president. But decline of BSP, rise of cow politics, has made Dalits more angry, less hopeful.

The Saudi connection
Wed, Jul 05, 2017

It is pointing fingers at Qatar, but on terror linkages, Saudi Arabia has a record of double-speak

The return of kisan politics
Sat, Jun 24, 2017

It is back because of rural-urban disparity. It draws attention to a contradiction in Hindutva worldview.

Corridor of economic uncertainty
Tue, Jun 13, 2017

The Belt and Road Initiative could cost Pakistan its financial independence and turn it into a Chinese protectorate.

Over to the vigilante
Sat, May 13, 2017

Gau rakshaks ‘do the job’ for some state governments. By letting vigilantes harass the minorities openly, they keep majoritarian feelings satisfied

Quota is the wrong answer
Wed, May 03, 2017

Marathas in Maharashtra experience a sense of relative deprivation. Reservation is not the solution

BJP, not Congress-mukt
Thu, Apr 13, 2017

By accepting its ‘notables’, the ruling party is starting to resemble its political rival.

Populism, remixed
Fri, Mar 24, 2017

Narendra Modi’s political style is similar to that of Indira Gandhi — as will be his challenges

Jats in wonderlessland
Fri, Mar 10, 2017

Crisis of Haryana’s dominant castes mirrors India’s challenge: Lack of good jobs.

State and Parivar
Thu, Feb 23, 2017

BJP’s new statism now supplements RSS’s work at ground level. Demonetisation is an example.

Looking after leaping
Fri, Feb 10, 2017

Economic Survey’s hesitations are both refreshing and disturbing

Pakistan, Saudi Arabia and them
Tue, Jan 31, 2017

Raheel Sharif’s taking over as director of a new Saudi Arabia-led alliance against terrorism enables Islamabad to re-establish goodwill with Riyadh

Quota demands will only grow with jobless growth
Tue, Jan 03, 2017

While its demographic dynamism requires the creation of more than eight million jobs a year, India is not doing well on that front.

An era of Caesars
Mon, Dec 26, 2016

The rise of national-populists across the world points to new challenges for democracy

Rooting out graft
Tue, Dec 13, 2016

A strong Lokpal and protection of whistleblowers hold the key to eliminating corruption.

Class over caste in Gujarat
Thu, Dec 01, 2016

Patels, OBCs and Dalits are allying against the BJP government. Land policies are giving diverse groups common economic interests.

An ill-judged conflict
Wed, Nov 23, 2016

Populism based on opposition between an elected legislature and the judiciary does not bode well for a democracy based on rule of law.

BRICS and walls
Sat, Oct 22, 2016

Contradictions are mounting within. India’s diplomacy could explore alternative groupings.

Hindutva’s ‘purification’ drive
Thu, Oct 13, 2016

Calls to ‘nationalise’ Indian Muslims come from a misreading of Indian Islam.

October 2: Notes on a death
Sat, Oct 01, 2016

Nathuram Godse was a product of the political climate created by the Hindu right in the run-up to Partition

Mayawati has two choices
Sat, Sep 10, 2016

In UP polls, BSP could play politics of Dalit-Muslim convergence. And it could ally with Congress

Soldiers and businessmen
Fri, Aug 26, 2016

Pakistan army has a battle to win: The corruption within

Complicity and inequality
Mon, Aug 08, 2016

The plight of Dalits in Gujarat cannot be attributed only to BJP rule. Congress must share the blame.

Client state’s dilemma
Fri, Jul 22, 2016

Pakistan’s dependence on Saudi Arabia stands in the way of the two working against Islamic terrorism.

Being unneighbourly
Mon, Jul 11, 2016

Hostilities between Pakistan and Afghanistan are rising despite both facing a common enemy in the IS.

Solution is the problem
Fri, Jun 24, 2016

Dominant castes resent reservations, backward groups haven’t fully benefited. There is no visible alternative

BJP’s Assam win is proof Hindutva has reached areas where it was marginal
Sat, Jun 11, 2016

An important facet of the BJP’s strategy pertains to its Hindu nationalist discourse

Why the BJP rewrites history
Tue, Jun 07, 2016

The party’s aversion to Nehru draws from its notion of India and Indian citizenship.

Laws prescribing educational qualifications for contesting elections are undemocratic
Tue, May 10, 2016

In Haryana, a new law makes it mandatory for a general male candidate to pass Class X and a general woman candidate to pass Class VIII

India’s jobless growth is undermining its ability to reap the demographic dividend
Fri, Apr 29, 2016

The last quarterly survey by the Labour Bureau showed that India has never created so few jobs, since the survey started in 2009

Ambedkar against nationalism
Thu, Apr 14, 2016

For Ambedkar, human dignity mattered more.

Misremembering an icon
Mon, Apr 11, 2016

Bhagat Singh believed neither in religion nor violence.