Sunday, May 24, 2015
C.-Raja-Mohan

C. Raja Mohan

C. Raja Mohan is consulting editor on foreign affairs for The Indian Express and a distinguished fellow at the Observer Research Foundation, New Delhi. Before his association with The Indian Express began in 2004, Raja Mohan worked for The Hindu as its Washington correspondent and Strategic Affairs Editor. In his academic avatar, Raja Mohan has been professor of South Asian Studies at the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, and the Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. As a think tanker, he worked at the Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses and Centre for Policy Research in New Delhi. He is on the editorial board of various international affairs journals and is affiliated with the Institute of South Asian Studies, Singapore; the Lowy Institute, Sydney; and the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Washington DC. He is the author, most recently, of Samudra Manthan: Sino-Indian Rivalry in the Indo-Pacific.

A new manual for diplomats
Thu, May 21, 2015

Narendra Modi’s greatest momentum has been in foreign policy. But the external opportunities he has successfully created for India could be undermined by potential domestic failures.

The Great Game Folio: Peripheral Diplomacy
Tue, May 19, 2015

Although geography limits New Delhi’s role in East Asia, Modi is betting India can win friends and partners through active engagement.

Modi in China: The Nuclear Dimension
Thu, May 14, 2015

India should judge the possibilities for civil nuclear cooperation with China on the basis of technical merit and economic costs.

OPINION | Chinese takeaway: PM Modi in Mongolia
Tue, May 12, 2015

Modi is trying to move the Sino-Indian relationship out of the stasis that it finds itself in.

Beyond the boundary
Mon, May 11, 2015

Modi is abandoning the old approach to China. But he needs to get the Delhi establishment to play ball.

Beyond the Boundary: Modi’s new agenda in Bangladesh
Fri, May 08, 2015

Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit next month must focus on making the border regions a zone of peace, stability and economic cooperation.

The Great Game Folio: Mukherjee in Russia
Tue, May 05, 2015

President Pranab Mukherjee's decision to join WWII commemorative ceremonies in Russia important to India for manifold reasons.

Nepal Earthquake
Chinese takeaway: Nepal Challenge
Tue, Apr 28, 2015

If there was a moment to lend substance to the claim that the neighbourhood ranks first in India’s foreign policy, it is now and in Nepal.

More modestly, with Kabul
Mon, Apr 27, 2015

During Ashraf Ghani’s visit, Delhi must signal support informed by an appreciation of Afghanistan’s strategic dilemmas.

The great Game Folio: China in Bandung
Tue, Apr 21, 2015

A fortnightly column on the high politics of the Af-Pak region, the fulcrum of global power play in India’s neighbourhood.

Reimagining the triangle
Mon, Apr 20, 2015

Chinese president’s visit to Pakistan could be an opportunity to transform New Delhi’s relationship with Islamabad and Beijing.

The great Game Folio
Tue, Apr 14, 2015

As they face similar threats from religious extremism and terrorism, India and Canada can significantly expand their intelligence-sharing on a bilateral basis.

Modi and the middle powers
Thu, Apr 09, 2015

Paris, Berlin and Ottawa can each contribute substantially to the realisation of India’s new national goals.

Chinese Takeaway: Yemen evacuation
Tue, Apr 07, 2015

Beijing and Delhi have regularly tasked their armed forces with evacuation operations in different parts of the world.

Look again at the Middle East
Thu, Apr 02, 2015

A nuclear agreement could end the long confrontation between Iran and the West — and also open up diplomatic space for India.

The great game folio: Pakistan in Yemen
Tue, Mar 31, 2015

A fortnightly column on the high politics of the Af-Pak region, the fulcrum of global power play in India’s neighbourhood

India and the civil war in Yemen
Sat, Mar 28, 2015

India has begun to mobilise naval and air resources to rescue the nearly 3700 citizens said to be living in Yemen.

Chinese Takeaway: Border Paradox
Tue, Mar 24, 2015

China has long seen Myanmar and Pakistan as gateways to the Indian Ocean.

Redoing India-China sums
Mon, Mar 23, 2015

Both countries must use economic cooperation to de-emphasise disputes.

The great Game Folio: How to Intervene
Tue, Mar 17, 2015

During his two day visit to Sri Lanka, PM Modi presented India as an engaged but not too intrusive a neighbour.

Narendra Modi and the Ocean: Maritime power and responsibility
Thu, Mar 12, 2015

It is not easy to recall the last time when an Indian Prime Minister articulated India’s objectives and policy for the Indian Ocean.

Modi’s Sagar Mala
Wed, Mar 11, 2015

Whatever its name, Delhi needs a more purposeful engagement in Indian Ocean.

Silk Road Focus: Chinese Takeaway
Tue, Mar 10, 2015

While most of India’s immediate neighbours are eager to join the Silk Road orchestra, New Delhi has chosen to stay out of the symphony for now.

Nawaz Sharif in Saudi Arabia: Pakistan’s Leverage in the Gulf
Mon, Mar 09, 2015

Sharif owes big to Saudi Arabia, which sheltered him at the darkest moment of his political career.

The great Game Folio: Kashmir gambit
Wed, Mar 04, 2015

All of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s predecessors, from Jawaharlal Nehru to Manmohan Singh, have had to deal with this external dimension to Kashmir.

Opinion: Northwest turbulence
Tue, Mar 03, 2015

A new regional dynamic is shaping India’s relations with Pakistan and Afghanistan. Delhi needs a new strategy for this critical sub-region.

Chinese Takeaway: Railway Lessons
Wed, Feb 25, 2015

By the turn of the 20th century, the subcontinent had nearly 15,000 km of railway track, in comparison to just 600 km in China.

The great Game Folio: Defence Diplomacy
Sat, Feb 21, 2015

Addressing the gathering, Xi underlined the importance of military diplomacy in achieving Beijing’s larger national goals.

Afghan Arena: Exit America, Enter China
Wed, Feb 18, 2015

The first round of the forum saw China announce some major commitments to promote regional cooperation.

Modi’s cricket diplomacy: Renewing political contact with Pakistan
Fri, Feb 13, 2015

Foreign secretary S. Jaishankar should explore a new framework of engagement with Pakistan.

The Second World War: Time to Mark India’s Contributions
Fri, Feb 06, 2015

Indian national movement was deeply divided on how to deal with the World War-II and the rapidly shifting alliances among the great powers.

Chinesetakeaway: Sushma in Beijing
Wed, Feb 04, 2015

Swaraj signalled India’s determination to intensify the engagement with China on a pragmatic basis.

The great Game Folio: Modi’s China Problem
Fri, Jan 30, 2015

Delhi must recognise that its relations with both America and China have potential and must be developed with greater purpose and vigour.

The art of the deal
Thu, Jan 29, 2015

Modi has signalled a transformation of India’s diplomatic culture.

Day 3: India, US ready to talk to — not at — each other
Wed, Jan 28, 2015

Obama cautioned his hosts against the emerging threats to its cultural and religious pluralism.

What day Two means: They link power, politics and business
Tue, Jan 27, 2015

India and America now find their shared political values more in tune with their strategic interests.