Bibek Debroy

Bibek Debroy

The writer is chairman, Economic Advisory Council to the PM. Views are personal.

Managing case flows
Thu, Nov 16, 2017

Draft rules in subordinate courts have either not been adopted or are not implemented in the right context.

Where credit is due
Thu, Nov 02, 2017

Despite problems with the methodology of the rankings, India’s 30-spot jump in World Bank’s Doing Business Indicators is remarkable.

Moonwatcher’s logic
Thu, Oct 19, 2017

Linking demonetisation with job losses is simplistic and naive.

When cooks get paid more than engineers
Thu, Oct 05, 2017

Some jobs are more sought after. Educational accomplishments don’t always count when it comes to salaries.

Losing the way with words
Thu, Sep 21, 2017

In the futile English versus mother tongue divide, India seems to be producing students who are comfortable in neither

The Macaulay we don’t know
Thu, Sep 07, 2017

Reading him out of context robs his writings of the lessons they hold for modern-day reformers

Out on several LIMBS
Thu, Aug 24, 2017

A Legal Information Management & Briefing System can help reduce government litigation

Public service and the Pravasi
Thu, Aug 10, 2017

By allowing Overseas Indian Citizens to appear for UPSC exams, government could broaden the pool for recruitment

Reading the tea leaves
Thu, Jul 27, 2017

Off and on, there have been suggestions that tea should be declared India’s national drink. Though that hasn’t happened, since 2011, tea has been Assam’s State Drink. Tea, in the form we know it now, is not quite an indigenous Indian drink, though some form of Camellis sinensis was indeed drunk locally.

ABC of autonomy
Thu, Jul 13, 2017

Questions about the transparency and accountability of autonomous bodies must be answered.

Importance of being simple
Thu, Jul 06, 2017

GST is no mean achievement but concerns over basic structure must be addressed in the here and now

Progress in the making
Thu, Jun 29, 2017

Unlike earlier initiatives, ‘Make In India’ is addressing the constraints to manufacturing sector growth

More than a residual problem
Thu, Jun 15, 2017

Economics is still loaded in favour of farmers burning crop residue. Subsidising farmers to use better technologies may be a solution

Curb your scepticism
Thu, Jun 01, 2017

From providing minute digital records to seeding out fake claims, the targeted public distribution system is visibly reforming

What lies below the district?
Thu, May 18, 2017

Despite all the talk of decentralisation, nothing does. Nobody owns the planning and development functions in panchayat samitis and gram panchayats.

Twelve reasons why
Wed, May 03, 2017

The current outrage over the proposal to tax agricultural income misses the point — often deliberately

Death of the telegram
Thu, Apr 27, 2017

But we still have the Indian Telegraph Act of 1885. It must be replaced, instead of piecemeal amendments

Holidays, yours and mine
Thu, Apr 13, 2017

Judges can avail of leave without doing it collectively

Urban absences
Thu, Mar 30, 2017

A stocktaking of the state of public toilets in the city is a depressing exercise

For all, and one
Thu, Mar 16, 2017

Democracy is about numbers. Yet a democratic government must address each citizen

The shrinking Plan
Thu, Mar 02, 2017

Technology has made the idea of decentralised planning tangible

Happiness, beyond measure
Thu, Feb 16, 2017

People are jumping on to the Gross National Happiness bandwagon, in an attempt to capture something that remains elusive

Taking the measure
Fri, Feb 03, 2017

GDP has shortcomings but finding an alternative indicator is a challenge.

To levy a service charge, or not to
Thu, Jan 19, 2017

And thereby hangs a tale

An unfortunate legacy
Thu, Jan 05, 2017

The colonial category of “criminal tribes” may have been “denotified” but many communities remain unclassified

Smallness at the border
Thu, Dec 22, 2016

In World Bank’s doing business rankings, India doesn’t do as well on trading across borders as it does on other parameters.

Let the numbers speak
Thu, Dec 08, 2016

The discussion on the fall in employment after the November 8 demonetisation relies on anecdotal evidence. It is not backed by data.

Streamline the appointments
Thu, Nov 24, 2016

The judiciary must give up its reluctance to accept performance indicators and impart transparency to the collegium process.

Start from the top
Thu, Nov 10, 2016

To set an example for the judiciary, the Supreme Court must address its own backlog of cases.

Like advanced nations, India must delink classroom teaching from student learning
Thu, Oct 27, 2016

The objective is not to teach to the student, which happens through classroom contact, but to make the student learn, which can happen outside classroom contact too.

The right to copy
Thu, Oct 13, 2016

In this age of copy-and-paste, plagiarism and piracy are rarely regarded as serious issues.

The Sunday Syndrome
Thu, Sep 29, 2016

Shouldn’t the weekly off day be a matter of choice, instead of being dictated by law?

House in shambles
Wed, Sep 14, 2016

Europe was outraged at the condition of slaughterhouses in the 19th century. India still isn’t .

Who has the licence to kill?
Thu, Sep 01, 2016

Unlicensed and illegal slaughterhouses present a municipal governance problem.

An experiment with power
Thu, Aug 18, 2016

Prepaid electricity in Manipur reduces power theft; improves supply.

Tracking the 100 laggards
Thu, Aug 04, 2016

Gazetteers could help us understand why certain districts have remained backward for more than 50 years.