Aakash Joshi

aakash.joshi@expressindia.com

Forwarded as Received: Dazed and Confused
Sun, Apr 15, 2018

WhatsApp Uncle on smoking, deleting Facebook and the lack of willpower that cuts across generations.

Forwarded as Received: Same Pinch
Sun, Apr 01, 2018

WhatsApp Uncle on the perils of being head of a family.

He, Too
Sat, Mar 24, 2018

In his memoir, French President Emmanuel Macron ties up his political vision with his personal one, but to no extraordinary effect

In Good Faith: The Hawking paradox
Mon, Mar 19, 2018

How are we to be moral in an indifferent universe of big bangs and black holes? Stephen Hawking has the question, and the answer.

Forwarded As Received: Pub aur Public
Sun, Mar 18, 2018

WhatsApp Uncle talks about not going to pubs and why the young ’uns hate each other.

Road Rash Redux
Sun, Mar 04, 2018

WhatsApp uncle shifts gears on entitlement, says at least his generation worked hard for their ambassadors.

Educate Before You Agitate
Sun, Feb 18, 2018

WhatsApp Uncle on how to pass exams with flying colours, with a little help from the PM.

There is an online voting about Ram Temple’s fate… and WE SHOULD WIN
Sun, Feb 04, 2018

We should not ignore this poll… what does it matter, all this law-shaw? Court said let that Bhansali film release, but Karni Sena warriors are still on the street…Go now! Vote in that online poll deciding the fate of Ram Temple. What, you don’t believe me?

To Karachi, Via Padmaavat
Fri, Jan 26, 2018

An objecting Sena, capitulating governments lead India down a dangerous path

WhatsApp Uncle explains why you shouldn’t mock the motherland and its leaders
Sun, Jan 21, 2018

My family… see… I also have a sense of humour. But chutkula is chutkula, and deshprem is deshprem. 

Air There Everywhere
Sun, Jan 07, 2018

There is clean air all around us in Delhi, if only we look for it and not buy propaganda, says WhatsApp Uncle.

What to expect in 2018: Fake news, privacy, a fundamental contradiction
Thu, Jan 04, 2018

As 2017 ended, Facebook found itself under fire, and the ways in which the giants of social media handle these issues will determine the ways in which the world consumes and processes information in 2018.

A voyeur’s apologia
Sat, Dec 23, 2017

Ideas, clearly, are what your letters deal with. That you counsel an “examined life”, the tough task of speaking truth to power and unravelling the hypocrisies, fallacies, and ethical lacunae of our times is certainly advice well taken.

All This Gender-Shender
Sun, Dec 03, 2017

For the first time in 1,200 years, says WhatsApp Uncle, we have a government that is protecting ladies and their men’s honour.

Just Eat Steak
Sat, Nov 18, 2017

Being radical and rebellious has never been this easy

Enter the duststorm
Sat, Nov 04, 2017

For those who read His Dark Materials as children (and likely re-read it as adults), La Belle Sauvage is another chance to enter a world where a repressive church and state try to control diversity, sexuality and knowledge.

Dystopia, Privatised
Sat, Oct 28, 2017

China’s Social Credit System, India’s Aadhaar show consumerism subverts privacy

Shelf life: Dark places
Sat, Aug 26, 2017

Bite of the Black Dogs, his third novel, is based on operations carried out by the Indian Army at the height of the insurgency in the Kashmir Valley in the 1990s.

A Thana Coloured Saffron
Sat, Aug 19, 2017

UP CM’s encouragement of religious displays in police stations is troubling.

An immoral subsidy
Mon, Aug 07, 2017

India’s urban elites are wilfully blind to their complicities in the exploitation of domestic workers