Syed Ata Hasnain

Profile

The writer, a former corps commander of the Srinagar-based 15 Corps, is currently associated with the Delhi Policy Group and the Vivekananda International Foundation.

Pakistan, storyteller
Mon, Oct 09, 2017

Delhi has much to learn from Islamabad’s diplomatic outreach to the world

Outreach that escaped scrutiny
Sat, Jul 08, 2017

Until the death of Burhan Wani, Kashmir’s new militancy on social media was little understood by the establishment, intelligence agencies and media

Infiltration, best countered
Sat, Jun 17, 2017

Pakistani militants are fervently trying to gain access through Uri. This is a warning bell to step up counter-terror ops, intelligence — and outreach to Kashmiris

On the digital front
Sat, Apr 22, 2017

To restore stability in Kashmir, security forces must provide a counter-narrative to the psychological warfare on social media

In spite of the faultlines
Fri, Feb 24, 2017

In a post-Trump world, India can be an example of plural values.

An old new militancy
Thu, Jul 14, 2016

In the absence of political engagement, a wide space has opened up for radicalisation in the Valley.

NIT Srinagar controversy underlines need to handle sensitive issues with agility, an eye on the future
Tue, Apr 12, 2016

The events at NIT Srinagar are sickeningly familiar

State of transition
Tue, Nov 11, 2014

The J&K situation confounds because it is more ambiguous than any internal conflict the Union of India has faced.

No war, no peace
Wed, Sep 24, 2014

President Xi’s strategy of seeking enhanced friendship in the backdrop of a border standoff looks set to continue.

The chief’s challenge
Fri, Aug 01, 2014

General Suhag has 30 months to push the army modernisation project.

Seize the day
Wed, Jun 18, 2014

How Modi can address the drift and alienation in Kashmir

A precarious poll
Wed, Apr 30, 2014

Kashmir goes to elections, more radicalised than before